We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent and original food, very good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Toscano

Ristorante Il Toscano
Reserve with
Ristorante Il Toscano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 63 Restaurants in Tirrenia
Price range: $22 - $76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Il Toscano Restaurant ....the best restaurant on Tuscany's western coast, where you can find the real and typical Tuscan cuisine and Italian specialties.....where you can try our famous plate: "Sacchettini cheese and pears".... A very delicious pasta! Where you can organize what you like! ...for example....an anniversary dinner? A birthday party? A friends dinner!.....or simply ....a romantic tete-a-tete supper by candlelight?.....Come with us!! Our warm atmosphere will transform your events very special! Organize, moreover, cultural shows, live evenings music, collections and food tasting!! Our menu is translated into English, German, French and Russian. We speak English! You're welcome......we wait for you !!! Giovanni e Catia Leonardi
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent and original food, very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

I've been at this restaurant many times during my many stays at Tirrenia. The service is very friendly and attentive. The menu is original, and I loved everything I ate here. The only minus for me are the prices, which in my view are a bit on the high side, but putting that in perspective, not higher than compatible quality restaurants in Italy.

Helpful?
Thank gluon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    191
    79
    31
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Bistromathics at work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Good food, nice place. The billing was a bit strange, though. In addition to an unannounced "cover charge" of 1.50€ per person, the
price for the food itself was 0.50€ higher on the bill than on the menu for each item. This is completely inacceptable.

For some reason this review is deemed to be too short, so I have to add some random senseless text...

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geckolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GIOVANNI58, Proprietario at Ristorante Il Toscano, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Bistromatic , I am very amazed at what you wrote. the price of 1.50 € is clearly stated in the beginning of the paper menu (this is a cost in all the Italian restaurants, many can be 2:00 to 2:50 - even € 3.00 per person)
For the other fact that has moved, I have personally checked the correspondence between the prices of the menus and prices of the count, but I found no difference ....... maybe you misread?
I hope you can come back to prove our honesty.
Honestly, I send my best regards and waiting for you soon in my restaurant.
John L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant and must try pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

We went here are 4 times in a week. We both loved the pizzas, they have a very thin base and are not greasy - the'Ellen' was particularly good as was the Mexicana which has no cheese but was delicious and no so filling. The one with speck is also good. The rest of the food looked good but I have to say that we are real pizza fans. One last word has to be that the owner and staff were very attentive and this really made a difference to the whole experience. Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank RJH1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best restaurant in Tirrenia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Il Toscana still lives up to its very high standard. Revisited out of season in March 2012 the food was vibrantly fine. The bread basket contained ‘normal’ Tuscan no-salt bread, but also some extremely thin slices of warm, crisp, salty and delicately olive oil tasting bread. To a fine cold Pinot Grigio one could live of that alone. On the walls are calm, subdued and odd photos, which were taken by the proprietors son - we were told. We tasted lobster, pasta and pizza, which were all exquisite. The thin and crisp pizzas are particularly worth to try, as these are so unusual and delicate.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KLRasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Service, Great Food and Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Two colleagues and I visited Il Toscano at the suggestion of the concierge at our hotel (Hotel Continental) on a Thursday evening in February 2012. We were surprised to find the restaurant virtually empty as the night before had been particularly busy at a neighboring restaurant. We were promptly greeted by a warm, friendly face (not unusual in this part of the country) who I believe was the owner. The atmosphere was warm and inviting, with some interesting art work on the walls. After taking our drink order, he offered us some complimentary bruschetta and some interesting toasted bread strips. Our meal order was promptly taken, with two of us choosing steak and another choosing a pasta. All of our entree's arrived at the same time, which is always appreciated by American's, I think, but often unusual in Italy, especially if ordering a mixture of first and second plates. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and I believe my other colleague enjoyed his pasta (spaghetti with seafood). We rounded out the meal with a dessert and of course, we had wine! The prices were about one would expect to find in a ristorante/pizzeria in Italy. Pizzas were around €7.50/each, a liter of vino della casa about €4. Our steaks were €16 and €19, respectively and I believe the pasta dish was around €10. My meal cost €29 which included steak, wine, water and a dessert. But you can certainly enjoy a nice meal for €15, maybe less depending on what you order. Overall, we were very impressed with Il Toscano and appreciate the great service we received. Every time I go back to Tuscany, I'm met with warm, friendly people and I'm reminded once again why I fell in love with Italy. Some reviews mention the gas station in front of the restaurant but once we were in, we didn't even notice it was there. Of course, it was February and a bit chilly so we were inside staying warm!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MilitaryMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Toscano also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Il Toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing