We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place for dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Squalo

Lo Squalo
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Tirrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Nice place for a dinner with or without children. The food and service were very good and if you go there late, expect to wait as it is popular with tourists and locals. We were told to have the tiramisu and it is definitely worth it at 6 euros.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DLHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    125
    42
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for family dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Delicious fishes and frutti di mare, great wine, Very interesting desserts. A liittle to long waiting for risotto.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KSagala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The food is delicious, and the owner speaks fluent english and is very friendly. A spot you shouldnt miss out on if in town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KLStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Tirrenia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great people, great food. I have never had a bad experience in Lo Squalo. In a touristy beachside town where good food can be hard to find, Lo Squalo is always fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missyeah26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ockenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
230 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“A solid 2.5, rounded to 3...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The restaurant was decent. The food was so-so, the service was so-so, and the ambiance was so-so.

The food: I travelled here with two business associates. One of us ordered the tuna filet, one ordered pizza, and another ordered shrimp. The tuna filet was over-cooked on the outside. Decent, but not the best tuna I've ever had. The pizza was spicy, and although he ordered a "hot" pizza, he didn't expect a mouth-burning pizza. The spiciness detracted from the taste. The shrimp were good, although she stated that there was a lot of work to get to the meat. Overall, the food was so-so. I wouldn't go back for the food.

Sidenote: The beer was very good. Home-brewed, and yummy. We tried the unfiltered light first, which was very good. We then tried the home-brewed honey beer. It was good also, but when we got the bill, we realized that the 0.75cl bottle was €18!! It wasn't THAT good. Stick with the €8 unfiltered light. It was the best part of the night.

The service was so-so. When the restaurant wasn't too busy, the service was good; but as the restaurant got busier, the two servers struggled with all the tables.

The ambiance was good; but again, as the restaurant got busier, there was a loud, obnoxious banging coming from the kitchen (which is RIGHT next to the eating area). It would come and go, and became a distraction from our experience.

Overall, I'd give this restaurant a 2.5, but I'll give them the benefit of the doubt, and award them 3 stars. Don't go out of your way to go here, but if you're in the area, perhaps worth a visit. Maybe. I'm still looking for that "write home about" restaurant in Tirrenia, and this wasn't it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Squalo also viewed

 

Been to Lo Squalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing