We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Seafood Experience”
Review of il Borgo

il Borgo
Ranked #20 of 196 Restaurants in Termoli
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: It's a small restaurant where we serve only fresh fish and try to make our customers feel at ease. We offer free wireless internet and accept the four-legged friends that in case of need, we can feed and quench. Our customers are free to consume what they want, even just a dessert (home-made) or a starter ... our watchwords? Relax and friendliness! :)
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

What a fabulous restaurant ... we wanted to enjoy some local seafood and our hotel had recommended il Borgo - we decided to give it a try and we were so glad we did. The owner was charming, and so welcoming and friendly, and really added to the overall enjoyment of our evening.

In the end we just followed his recommendations .... the mixed seafood platter to start (4 cold seafood dishes, followed by 4 warm seafood dishes), the seafood spaghetti in fish sauce, and the grilled platter! We shared each dish and it was a wonderful way to enjoy it together.

The food was just exceptional - the kind of meal you dream of when planning your Italy holiday but don’t always get. Great local food you cant recreate at home, Italian authenticity and warm Italian hospitality.

We will definitely come back!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank tjran44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 267 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2018

We sought out this restaurant after reading about it in Tripadvisor and arrived early so managed to get a table without booking. We have the mixed antipasti which included two plates of varied appetizers which ranged from pretty good to blindingly delicious. We weren't too keen on the house white that the waitress served so she changed it to something less fruity without any fuss. I wish I could remember the name of the pasta dish we had because it was sublime (there are pictures of it on this site). I think it was cavatelli served with seafood in the lightest, most delicious broth I have had with a pasta. The smallest occasional nibs of what turned out to be fresh red pepper added a burst of flavour and texture every now and again. It was a wonderfully executed dish. We were less enamoured of the desserts. The usually fluffy lemon sorbet that doesn't really appeal to me and pineapple "mousse" which was more like a curd with what tasted like tinned pineapple in it. Notwithstanding the dessert I would definitely return to this restaurant (and go get a gelato elsewhere for dessert).

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Car0v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015

We arrived early in the evening after having scouted the other restaurants in Termoli, but what grabbed us about il Borgo was the unpretentiousness and humble atmosphere that the place had. We sat down and were greeted by our waitress (Tonya) who told us what was on the menu. Even though we speak some Italian, she catered to our needs and spoke slower or simpler when needed. We ended up ordering the set menu, which is 35 Euros per person, which comes with a bottle of wine, and 4 (!!!) dishes. We had no idea what to expect, other than the fact that it'll all be freshly caught fish.
The wine was perfectly paired with all the dishes we had, quite clearly due to the chef's sommelier status. We loved the wine.
All the dishes were served one after the other, we probably only had no food in front of us for a total of 20 minutes of our 3 h stay, and the food was amazing - we've very rarely tasted fish that was fresher, tastier and better cooked.
There was a table in vicinity to us with two children, and they catered perfectly for them, making two special dishes for the children even though they weren’t on the menu. We were very touched by that gesture.
When it started raining, the transfer to the inside of the restaurant was done very smoothly.
The service is impeccable, and the owner/chef himself walked around talking to people and telling them about the region, the food and Termoli itself.
Overall, we would like to say thank you (grazie) once again to the owner and Tonya, who made our stay absolutely lovely! We will be coming back again.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank SvetAndAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

In december, I wentt to italy with a bunch of friend. We took the plane to Pescara, and visited the surroundings. One evening we decided to go in Termoli, a nice town next to the coast. We chose Il Borgo, cause it was in a central position, and cause of the score here on Trip Advisor. While the city was quite empty, the restaurant was warm and cozy, as his owner, Pino. The prices are honest, the food is good and tasty, just fresh fish. I would reccomend this place for everyone, from couples to families, and groups like us. You won't regret it.

Date of visit: December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Maarten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I've been looking for a place to eat in termoli, and casually found this restaurant.
Eating was good and tasty, following the city's traditions but innovating too.
We surely enjoyed the owner's welcome and his knowledge of wines and territory.

Date of visit: June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Littlecheril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il Borgo also viewed

Termoli, Province of Campobasso
Termoli, Province of Campobasso
 
Termoli, Province of Campobasso
Termoli, Province of Campobasso
 
Termoli, Province of Campobasso
Termoli, Province of Campobasso
 

Been to il Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing