We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but elevated price”
Review of Hotel Capo d'Uomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Capo d'Uomo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Talamone
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel but elevated price”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a perfect location, in the center of Talamone and on a rock above the sea. It has a very nice romantic view. The rooms are very essential, pretty small but very clean. The access to the sea is assured by two steep but accessible stairs. The breakfast is very rich and very tasty. The judgment is overall positive, and we enjoyed the stay, however, the price of the room is too high for what it offered (primarily breakfast and a nice location) and for a three star hotel like this.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraCH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    88
    26
    18
    5
See reviews for
34
156
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We would stay again in heart beat, very clean, balconies have gorgeous views of Mediteranian sea. Diego and Daniel made sure everything was to our satisfaction. Breakfast with cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastries, and cappuccino out on their lawn doesn't get any better-and it's included in the price. Rooms are small (2 singles or 1 double) and guaint but perfect for what we were looking for. Capo d'Uomo is walking distance from the small laid back fishing village of Talamone. Only 3 restaurants in town-did have some good meals though. Main Street is great location to sit and sip wine or beer and watch the towns activities. We shall return!!!

Room Tip: We had a room with balcony on main floor- worked for us since there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

based on the website and the positive reviews we have booked a suite at this hotel for five nights. We left after one night. The story is as follows:
The suite has only one french window, and is basically a long corridor. It smelled terribly of mould. As our smaller child is only 2, we have requeste a cot which arrived but was so dirty that you would not want to touch it let alone have your kid sleep in it.
Therefore, we asked to be moved into two rooms in the main building- they were bot incredibly small (please see attached foto of "bathroom/WC") and the heating did not work in one of them. We did not ask for the cot to be moved for obviuos reasons but it would not have fitted anyhow because of the lack of space.
All this would have been fine for a 100 EURO-s ( the hotel, and the entire region was basically empty). BUT THEY CHARGED 210 EURO for the suite, and 224 for the two rooms. (for comparison, we have stayed in a luxurious suite in Viareggio's best hotel for 290 euros after moving out from here.
After one night, we indicate we were leaving. Thhey told us to wait as we have already paid 300 euros as deposit and one night is 224 so they need cash to give it back. After 20 minutes, they said "the good news is we do not owe them anything", but as we were supposed to stay 5 nights, they do not give any money back. No comment......

This is all a shame as
- the location of the hotel is absolutely stunning, a real rarity in Italy
- the garden, the outside is nicely, free parking convenient
- Talamone is a pleasant fishing village
- reception and cleaning staff nice
-breakfast was ample even though the hotel was basically empty.

But we will not return for the above reasons.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This place is a little off the beaten path, but the price and grounds make it worth it. The town is really cool, the views are amazing, the staff is very helpful and the rooms are comfortable. Breakfast outside, walk into town, drive to the main island, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpuso2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We booked two rooms wiht sea view and balcony. Rooms were small, but very clean wiht all modernconvenience and comforts.
Hotel Campo d' Uomo is perfectly located on top of Talamone reefs in nice garden. Service at the reception desk (Sara and MaraStaff are very friendly) and at breakfast was excellent.
Wonderful breakfast (cheeses, ham, prosciutto and Tuscan salame, fruits ets...) were served in luxuriant garden.
The hotel has large private parking.
Beaches (public and "private") are rocky. You can find sandy beach in Maremma park (Marina di Aberese, 15 min. by car) and at Feniglia. We prefer small "private" hotel beach for swimming.
Talamone is beautiful small fishermen's village with the breeze of sea. Restaurants are situated about a five minute walk form the hotel. We liked restaurant "La Buca" and very nice osteria-pizzeria "Gobbo del Mare" (Via Tallamonese,60).
Maremma, Talamone and Hotel Campo D'Uomo is a great place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jumax67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter County IN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

The hotel Campo D' uomo was a wonderful place to stop after traveling in Tuscany for five days. The service at the reception desk was was excellent. If you needed anything they would do what it took to make you happy. The parking free parking was a plus. The hotel was very easy to get to compared to some of the places that we drove to in Tuscany. The rooms were small but, the balcony with beautiful views make up for that.
The beach is rocky, we rented chairs on the public beach one day for 10,00 euroes per person. The next day we used the hotels private stairway and found an area that we could use for a picnic lunch, swimming and enjoying the sun.
The small village of Talamone was one of the most beautiful places that we have ever been to. There are nice little cafes on the waterfront. All of the restaurants are about a five minute walk form the hotel. One of our favorites was the La Buca. Roberto, our waiter was the best we encountered in Italy. The food was exceptional!!
Talemone and The Hotel Campo D'Uomo was a great place to relax and enjoy one of the quieter areas in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talamone
2.2 mi away
Hotel Fontermosa
Hotel Fontermosa
#1 of 21 in Orbetello
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia di Talamone
Hotel Baia di Talamone
#2 of 3 in Talamone
105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Corte dei Butteri
Corte dei Butteri
#2 of 2 in Fonteblanda
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Park Hotel Residence
Park Hotel Residence
#6 of 21 in Orbetello
279 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
699 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capo d'Uomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capo d'Uomo

Property: Hotel Capo d'Uomo
Address: Via Cala di Forno 7, 58015 Talamone, Orbetello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Orbetello > Talamone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Talamone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capo d'Uomo 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capo d’ Uomo Hotel lies straight on the cliffs of Talamone and Cala Regina, in a lovely, colourful garden setting. Its terraces look onto the Sienese fortress and the Argentario promontory to the horizon. The view is absolutely fantastic and will help make your stay unforgettable.The hotel offers its guest a cosy and comfortable atmosphere. Its 24 rooms, among which 2 junior suites, are on three floors, equipped with all comforts: private toilet, direct telephone line, TV set.Continental or English breakfast, two accesses to the beach and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Capo d'Uomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capo d Uomo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing