We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel centrally located with excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sulmona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Shropshire UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel centrally located with excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in May and had a wonderful stay. Sulmona is lovely as is the surrounding area. The hotel is modern but traditional with lots of artwork decorating the walls. The staff were excellent, always friendly and welcoming and efficient. Great food and wine and excellent service in the restaurant even when they were really busy on one evening. Most staff speak good english too. The room was spacious and clean with king-sized bed and good wi-fi reception in the room as well as the public areas. It was close to the centre making a nice stroll before dinner - excellent for photography. Lovely views of the valley and mountains from the dining room. Lots of choice for breakfast. Ask for a mountain view if you like the mountains. The hotel has a Spa which we didn't use.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santacroce-Hotels, Direttore at Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Jakilu,
It was a great pleasure having you as our guests, it’s so nice to know that our efforts in making all of our guests stay a pleasant and memorable one, the feedback received on your behalf was extremely satisfying for us. We hope to enjoy your company once again and make your time with us a happy one.

Best Regards
Hotel Ovidius
Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    106
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
53
151
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a very positive experience in this hotel. The hotel itself is conveniently positioned a few minutes walk from the centre of Sulmona. It is a modern and clean hotel. The room sizes were fine and at last, a king-sized bed. The air conditioning worked very well. We were lucky to get a view over the valley surrounded by mountains and precariously perched hilltop towns. The rest of the hotel was clean and modern. The only thing that was a shame was the Spa you have to pay for. It would have been good to have a few free facilities.

I was part of a tour group and not everyone was excited by the menu but I thought the food was good and I’m sure if you paid for the restaurant meals they would be of high quality. The buffet breakfast was a standard continental style. If you don’t like pasta…well, you are in the wrong country…
The staff were very friendly as is the region in general. They worked very hard and even put up with my somewhat dodgy Italian. Unlike some hotels, I felt welcome and therefore felt very comfortable.
I would be quite happy to stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santacroce-Hotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Brian,
we would like to thank for the time you have dedicated in providing a feedback regarding our Hotel.
We take so much pride in our work that when is appreciated it’s such a joy for all of us and it allows us to better ourselves. It was wonderful having you and all the group with us.
With regard to our SPA, it is really important for us to clarify that we have recently inaugurated it and that we make always huge investments in order to give our guests more services without increasing our official rates.
In fact, the entrance of our SPA, which is 25,00 euros per person, is exclusively reserved to our guests and a booking is required in order to guarantee a professional and efficient service, but above all the privacy. Also, the SPA provides a relaxation area where we offer herb tea, juices, fruits and a bottle of sparkling wine.

Thank you once again for all the wonderful compliments paid to our Hotel and staff. We hope to have you as our guest on your next vacation here in Abruzzo.

Best Regards,
Hotel Ovidius
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in September. Clean, comfortable room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good free internet connection. Easy walking to the center of town where there were many restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drj17011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here as part of a tour with Pager & Moy ( Now Travelsphere) and expected a 4 star hotel as advertised. This in my opinion was only 3 star although clean and pleasant and staff were reasonable helpful in most areas. We had a problem on arrival as bedrooms starting one were downstairs from the reception that we referred to as the ' basement' and asked to be moved as our Grandson was on floor 3. They told us no staff available until the next day. They then told us the next day they could move us to another room in the ' basement'. Pointless!
The breakfast was SPARSE and one day they even run out of butter for toast etc.
We found the evening meal at a cost of 20 euros per person to be very overated and poor quality apart from one evening when they served Escalope. The local white wine was pleasant but the red wine a little on the bitter side.

Room Tip: Ensure your room is on floors 2 or 3 only and NOT 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrygrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santacroce-Hotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mr Terry Grove,

first of all we would like to thank for the time you have dedicated in providing a feedback regarding our Hotel.
We were happy to hear that your stay at our Hotel was altogether pleasant and the compliments paid towards our staff were gratifying and well received for the work .
On behalf of myself and the entire staff, we apologize for not meeting your expectations.
With regard to your remarks about the room given to you, it is really important for us to clarify that the rooms on the first floor are not in the “basement”, in fact they have a wonderful view of the mountains and the “Peligna” Valley; and they also have our SPA below them which is at ground level; therefore they are not underground.
We would also like to clarify that we try to please all of our guests ensuring an abundant assortment of sweet and salty, also gluten free, made daily fresh foods (cookies, cakes, pastries, breads, juices, eggs, cheese, fruits, yogurt, etc…) unfortunately that morning we ran out of butter due to the overwhelming consumption of the same that was replenished immediately.

We hope to have you as our guest in the near future and, if you consider it worthwhile, it would be greatly appreciated if you would kindly contact us.

Best Regards,
Hotel Ovidius
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We particularly enjoyed the lobby bar (generous pours, tasty wines and an excellent selection of degestivos) and patio. Parking is also secure and convenient. Everybody at the front desk is wonderful and speaks quite good English. We were in one of two big groups, and the breakfast server seemed overwhelmed. Relax and enjoy being in this lovely small Italian city. Don't miss the passeggiata. Yes, the pace and decor are different. Your breakfast cornetto isn't trying to be a croissant, aren't you lucky to be traveling?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merilyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santacroce-Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Merilyu,

We would like to thank you for the time dedicated in providing a feedback regarding our Hotel.
We take much pride in our work, that when it is appreciated, it is such a joy for all of us and it also allows us to better ourselves.
It was wonderful having you and all the group with us and we would like to have you again someday soon.
Thank you once again for the compliments on our Hotel, staff and wonderful little town.

Best Regards,
Hotel Ovidius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel Ovidius
Sulmona is a pleasant, interesting small town with some grand buildings and a remarkably large Piazza. Country can be seen at the end of most roads.
The Hotel is well placed and the short walk into town is through a pleasant shady tree lined park / avenue essential in high temperatures.
The Hotel was good in many ways. It is clean and friendly. Everything worked well and air conditioning was quiet. The rooms were spacious and quiet. The décor is bland and the carpets unpleasantly jazzy for my taste! The breakfast was the usual please-all event. I daresay most people would be happy with it, but personally, I never want a lot but I would like what I do want to be better (croissants crisp and not leathery, fruit salad fresh and coffee not mass produced). Dinner suffered from the same thing really. There was always plenty of it but it was all pretty ordinary, disappointing. I was with a friend on a Page & Moy tour comprising 17 in all. We were there for 4 nights. Re-food, I think most people were happy …or maybe resigned to what seems to be, these days, predictable shortcomings.

Room Tip: Front or back, the rooms are quiet despite a busy road outside at the front. My friend had a back ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmatcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santacroce-Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear jmatcham,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the many compliments paid towards our hotel and staff, also, for the different comments regarding the breakfast and dinner that were disappointing to you, as it allows us to notice our, ”faux pas”, and attend to them in order to not repeat them in the future.
Just to set the record straight, our breakfast croissants are freshly made every morning by our baker the fruit salad is also freshly made every morning and our coffee is from one of the most finest coffee machines to be found in most restaurants, hotels and bars throughout the country. Regarding dinner, if there were things that were not to your liking, a simple request could have made all the difference and it would have allowed us to fully please you.

Thank you once again for your comment.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hi, we stayed at this hotel as part of the Lazio & Abruzzo tour with Page & Moy. It was really nice. Staff are very nice and the rooms are good. The food was OK, but I kind of expected more for a 4* hotel. First & second courses fine, but main course lacked a bit of imagination. The breakfast was very nice for a usual continental style. Scrambled eggs were a nice addition. Sulmona itself is quite lively as there are a lot of young people around, but it did lack anywhere with a bit of music and dancing etc in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DougMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santacroce-Hotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear MKTraveller55,

Thank you for your compliments paid towards our hotel and staff.
We were sorry to hear that the food was not up to your expectations. We always try our best, especially when we have groups coming in, to satisfy everyones tastes from breakfast to dinner. We hope we get a second chance to show how we can fully please your taste buds, even through a simple request on your behalf would have helped us to do so.

Thank you once again
Hotel Ovidius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sulmona
16.0 mi away
Aqua Montis Spa & Wellness Resort
21.4 mi away
Sport Village Hotel & Spa
Sport Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Castel di Sangro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rojan
Hotel Rojan
#1 of 5 in Sulmona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Resort Regis
Resort Regis
#1 of 1 in Turrivalignani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santacroce Meeting
18.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 27 in Pescasseroli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa

Property: Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa
Address: Via Circ. Occidentale, 177, 67039, Sulmona, Italy
Location: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of L'Aquila > Sulmona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sulmona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sulmona
#3 Family Hotel in Sulmona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santacroce Ovidius located a few paces away from San Panfilo's Cathedral and Sulmona old town, hometown of the high poet Ovidio Nasone, is only 30 minutes away from the best ski resorts in Abruzzo (Roccaraso) from the exciting seaside resorts and the wonderful parks: the national Park of Abruzzo, Majella and Gran Sasso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santacroce Ovidius & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ovidius Hotel Sulmona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing