We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and wonderful service”
Review of Buonvento

Buonvento
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 9/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in Sulmona
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 22, 2019

We dined last week here on the last night of our stay in Sulmona. We had three young children and the staff was so efficient and accommodating of their needs. We also drank amazing Montepulciano wine and had delicious beef dishes as well as pasta. The decor inside is beautiful and so artistically pleasing. We will dine again when we return.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank laurenh940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 459 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2019

We ate here May 31st. Interesting small, artsy place popular with locals and families. The service and price were great. Carpaccio with arugula was very good, simpler than what we've had elsewhere. The chitarra pasta with ricotta and guanciale was good but over-sauced. The very simple grilled lamb was excellent, as was the side dish of cicoria with hot pepper.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019

We revisited Buonvento in the last few days and were again bowled over by the quality of the food, the eclectic and welcoming atmosphere and overall ambiance.

This is truly a gem of a restaurant, tucked away in a beautiful corner of Piazza Plebiscito, just steps from Sulmona's impressive Piazza Garibaldi

If possible the food was even better than on our last visits.
There is a new chef added to the kitchen staff which could explain the up-tick.
Although not on the menu the chef made us "Pasta cacio e pepe," it was out of this world!
We also ordered "Spezzatino di maiale con carciofi" and "Capocollo di maiale in padella"...excellent!!!

5 stars!!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SanFranciscoMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019 via mobile

We came for lunch and were beyond impressed by the “tasting” menu our guide Fabrizio of Italia Sweet Italia tours arranged. Each item was amazing and locally sourced, as were the 4 wines we tasted. The service was great and the decor very cozy. I highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank kfaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Hard to beat the Sulmona area for attention to food preparation. The menu changes daily based on availability of food products. Our lamb was beautifully grilled and larger portion than other eateries. Service and atmosphere were top notch. Convenient location near centre. Open more than other venues. Excellent language skills and attentive service from the waitress.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buonvento also viewed

Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
 
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
 
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to Buonvento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing