We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maiella Mountain

Ranked #5 of 44 things to do in Sulmona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
LaSalle, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

got to drive around it quite a bit. was an amazing sight to see. would definitely go for a drive around it to see some other small villages as well

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best drive in the mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We drove from San Valentino to ROCCARASO on the mountain road,at times we look down and could see the tops of the clouds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLOTTE
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hiking and views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Good hiking if you can find the trails and the vistas are beautiful. The distances are not great when searching for a hike since the numbers of roads in the mountains are not many. We appeared to go around the mountains on the same road with a few spurs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TARHEEL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a beautiful way to spend Easter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place was excellent for Easter morning Christ is risen and the atmosphere left nothing to be desired . It was festive to say the least . The tradition of la madonna che scappa is keep up and the piazza was packed like an egg. We found a good place albeit far and were able to see the statue of St peter knocking on a church door and our lady answering it after 3 knocks and then our lady running to meet Our Lord who rose from the dead. this was admist petards and close up people with tears in their eyes tears of joy . It was a moving scene you have to be there to appreciate. After this we moved through the narrrow streets which were full of small shops selling special easter sweets which were presented in the most colourful and decorative manner they have to be seen as it is hard to imagine I have one as souvenir with the famous coccinella for good luck i now cherish it . What a memory definitely unforgettable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank clepisani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hike to the Summit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Loved everything, but mostly enjoyed our guides from Abruzzo Passion, active holidays provider in Abruzzo. The views, the flowers, the sparkling fresh air, everything superb.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alesha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maiella Mountain also viewed

Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
 
Villaggio Sant'Antonio, Pescocostanzo
 

Been to Maiella Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing