We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Home Cooked Food”

Hostaria dell' Arco
Ranked #7 of 85 Restaurants in Sulmona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $33
Cuisines: Soups
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed August 7, 2019

The Restaurant has only one opening and if you blink you miss it. This was a little hidden gem and the food was exquisite. You have to try the Antipasta, it was amazing. I could have solely lived on that. Family run business and all the staff were really friendly and couldn't help you enough. Definitely worth a visit. My only criticism is the speed of the food coming out. We did wait over an hour, but is was very busy that day. If you have children with you make sure you bring something to utilise their time as they did get very bored (and hungry).

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MariaP1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 760 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2019

Located just near the Porta San’Antonio, you will get a true sense of the local food of Sulmona. Most notably, you can choose from a buffet offering a variety of local dishes ranging from various treatments of zucchini, aubergines, red peppers, mushrooms and minced veal balls, as appetisers. For our primi piatti, we had the pecorino and spinach-filled ravioli served with a tomato ragu and for our secondi piatti, we had the roasted lamb such was essentially lamb cutlets. This was accompanied by a 2018 Villa Gemma Collins Teatine Igt Bianca from Masciarelli from Chieti, which was light and fresh and went well with our meal. The service was good and the restaurant was essentially full of locals. A great start to our visit to Sulmona!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2019 via mobile

Without doubt the best antipasto buffet I’ve ever had. An Italian American friend with me said that the flavors were those of her childhood. We followed,that with delicious pasta. Great for vegetarians.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Nancy02825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

What a nice restaurant, recommended to us by the Hotel Rojan. It is down a street heading to one of the ports of the old city, so you have to look for it by the arch. We were happy to see many local people enjoying the food (and going to the kitchen door entrance to say hello to the staff). The antipasto buffet included TWENTY different items, each beautifully prepared and very tasty. We enjoyed our dinner very much!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank NanNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

Visit in Sulmona this was recommended by our B&B host it was our favorite meal in Sulmona. We had salad and Spaghetti with cherry tomato and rocket it was so fresh and delicious my husband had the pork chop and potatoes very very good. Wine and sparkling water $33 euro you cant go wrong - highly recommend

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Jettsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria dell' Arco also viewed

Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
 
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
 
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila
 

Been to Hostaria dell' Arco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing