We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful base for a great walking holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa la Rocca

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa la Rocca Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Casa la Rocca
Double bedroom
Kitchen area
Looking out from the double bedroom
Twin room
Shower room
The pizza oven on a summer evening
Casa La Rocca in June
Sun loungers on the apartment patio
Val di Gizio from the apartment
Rocca Calascio - best view in Abruzzo
Chamois in the Maiella National Park
Oranges from Sicilia
Local produce on a roadside stall
Sulmona market
Lago di Barrea - swimming amongst the mountains
Pettorano sul Gizio
Sagittario valley
The Gargano peninsular
Campo Imperatore
Gran Sasso National Park
Winter above Scanno
Adriatic waves at Vasto
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
williamsW...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A peaceful base for a great walking holiday”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Hil and Stuart at Casa La Rocca made me most very welcome. I arrived at lunchtime on the Sunday forgetting that there were no local shops open to buy food for the evening meal (the local supermarket was closing at 1300 as I drove into its carpark!). Previous tenants had left some tins, pasts and so on in the apartment and Hil very kindly gave me some basics from her own fridge to tide me over. Thanks very much Hil.
The apartment is superbly fitted out for self catering with all necessary pots, utensils etc, and the large double bed was comfortable. There is a peaceful patio associated with the apartment with table, chairs and grand view that was great for outside eating and relaxing. Also lots of maps and information leaflets on the area in the apartment helped. I wanted for nothing in the apartment - thanks.
Stuart wrote the “Walking in Abruzzo” Cicerone Guide and gave some very useful advice for the walks I had chosen. The weather was mixed so I did spent a couple of days staying comfortably in the apartment reading and sleeping - a great way to recharge the batteries. However, most if the time the weather was great and the walking and views stupendous (the late fresh snow fall to 1500m adding to the dramatic scenery).
Most I enjoyed a ‘sundowner’ beer or glass of wine sitting outside at the side of the villa in the pleasant, peaceful company of Stuart and Hil. Their homemade wine is wonderful!
The two bits of advise I give are: 1) having a car was for me essential to access the walks I wanted to do and to get provisions - the wee diesel Fiat Panda I rented was ideal, and 2) on driving to the Casa La Rocca from Sulmona I suggest taking the road Via Cavate from near the Confetti Pelino muzeum and factory, then take the left fork onto Via Torta. If you take the SP53 Via Cavate then the squeeze through Case Iommi with any car wider than a tiny Fiat would be near impossible!

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed and peaceful
Liked least: Couldn't easily walk to a bar or restaurant in the evening for drink or meal
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karst2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Arriving to a 2nd home”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We planned our holliday carefully, we enjoy walking in the Abruzzen very much and liked to stay in a place that gave us the opurtunity to visit several national parks, old cities and villages, privacy when we wished so and a day at the beach to recover from hiking and read a book. We found our place in Casa la Rocca. Surrounded by the view of the national parks and and nearby beauttyfull hikes. When we arrived whe had a very warm welkom from Stuart and the 2 dogs Max and Florance. (my wife is afraid of dogs but became good friends with them after a short while). Unfortunately Hillary was in England and we met her later. The appartment was proper and private with our own terras, everything needed was available. During our stay we had all the help we needed when asked for to make some beautufull walks and visits in the area. Actually the only unpleasant thing for us was to leave. Thanks again Stuart and Hillary for a perfect stay.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayGee377
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect - a home from home”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Casa La Rocca is a perfect, comfortable little apartment, and well equipped. Has it's own terrace and own outside area. Hilary and Stuart were very welcoming and relaxed and offered advice and suggestions for the walking I was planning on doing for the 3 days I was there. Stuart even lent me one of his rucksacks and his map, and Hilary brought me fresh vegetables from their garden!

It's very peaceful but yet still only a 5 min drive from Sulmona and any facilities you may need, supermarket/restaurant etc. It's located between the Majella, Abruzzo and Sirente Villino National Parks so makes it an ideal base if you are trying to visit all three but from only one base. The southern edge of the Gran Sasso National Park is also less than an hours drive away.

A wonderful short stay and as a solo traveller felt safe in the knowledge that Hilary and Stuart would only have been a telephone call away if I needed them. Thank you!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pim_and_C...
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
“A place to be”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Last June we stayed in Casa la Rocca for 2 weeks.
We had a wonderful time: cycling in beautiful surroundings, enjoying mountains, typical Abruzzo villages and Sulmona in the near neighbourhood. The apartment was very comfortable and Casa la Rocca offered every opportunity to relax and unwind. We would often climb up to the roof to watch the sun set.
We experienced Hilary and Stuart's kindness and hospitality with the greatest of pleasure.

We hope to come back one day...

Pim & Carina, the Netherlands

Date of stay: June 2014
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D x
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Green Heart of Italy”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We recently revisited Casa La Rocca and again enjoyed new walking routes in the local hills whilst admiring the abundant profusion of wild flowers and late snow. La Rocca is an ideal base for the entire Abruzzo area with ready access for the required day visits to the excellent coastal beaches. Once again many thanks to Stuart and Hilary for their advice and suggestions. This remote area is a must for early season walking combined with good Spring weather.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a wonderfully secluded and peaceful place to stay! The accommodation is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The kitchen and bathroom are well equipped with everyday materials. The apartment faces almost due south and the french doors from the kitchen and one of the bedrooms open on to the terrace which is bordered by a garden area and some trees (which in the hotter months provide some welcome shade). Beyond this there is simply farmland and countryside. You really can't feel much closer to nature than this and still enjoy the comforts of your own home! When we were there some long-eared owls had nested in one of the trees and for a couple of days we watched them learning to fly.
Hilary and Stuart are such a hospitable and knowledgeable couple. They are a mine of information about the area and are helpful in every way possible. Stuart booked us a restaurant one evening and they gave us lots of ideas of places to visit, although we spent most days using Stuart's book of walks and local maps. We had discovered the day before we arrived that we had long lost relatives in the area and Hilary went to great lengths researching the family name and possible locations where they lived.
This place is for people who love the countryside and the great outdoors. Don't go there if you want nightlife or to be lazing by the pool all day. The spectacular countryside of Abruzzo is jaw-dropping. When we were there we walked across hillsides carpeted in wild flowers with snow capped mountains hanging on the horizon. There are still bears and wolves in the area, though these are rarely seen. On the days we walked we rarely saw more than a couple of other people, and even the villages clinging to the cliff faces seemed deserted. There are few tourists here, and those we saw were Italian. Not much English is spoken, so take a phrase book. We also took our Sat Nav (GPS) with us. This was useful every day, and proved invaluable when we missed the exit to the airport from the motorway on the way home and found ourselves driving through the centre of Rome!
We will be back.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion and countryside
Liked least: There is nothing we did not like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce k
Warwick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

i cannot recommend highly enough Casa la Roca. The apartment is very clean and private with everything one would need. The hospitality shown by Hilary and Stuart was beyond compare. This was our seventh vacation in Italy, always staying in villas/apartments and by far the best. Abruzzo is affordable and beautiful! We hope to return to Casa la Roca again next year.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The region and hospitality of Hilary and Stuart
Liked least: we disliked nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing