We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid both, Magmatrek and Paulo if you can” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stromboli Volcano

Stromboli Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
$4,533.80*
and up
Sicily's Volcanoes Helicopter Tour from Taormina
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Stromboli
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Budapest
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Avoid both, Magmatrek and Paulo if you can”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

3-4 groups with 20 people each trek up, roughly in 1/2 hour intervals. I guess, earlier groups have a bit more comfortable trek up (though groups obviously cannot catch up each other). I was in the last group, and needed to wait 45 minutes to be included in an English speaking group, though Magmatrek promotes that their guides speak languages. I did my emailing and booking in English but my request for English speaking guide was a surprise for the staff on the spot because my name appeared for them French.

Magmatrek says on its page they promote natural and earth sciences etc, but Paulo made no attempt to do anything else than rush. He didn’t deliver a safety briefing either and when asking what he would advise, he said only follow me! Magmatrek speaks about 3 skilled guides on their page. This undoubtedly sells their services. Paulo is not amongst them. He just rushed and kept repeating empty phrases, like we are not running, just tell when to stop, but then he rushed and wouldn’t stop. The first half of the trek is full of higher steps; stepping stones go in short zigzags (as you can see it on the map too). It was not possible to communicate with him for a long while, because 20 people can go only one-by-one and in zigzag, covered by bushes. He made no effort to make himself visible or waiting till the whole group will be in a hearing distance. He didn’t demonstrate basic techniques to keep the group together and consolidate big step tall people’s progress with shorter individuals with smaller steps, like me. The minimum result is that a frustration builds up, because tall people want to progress, shorter people, like me, run like a dog till can.

Several earlier reviews raised the same, that guides wouldn’t stop and rush. I don’t know why nothing happens. My view is that you must be fit not only for the trekking, but also for a speed to compensate later departure and follow an inconsiderate guide who cannot control his own speed and wouldn’t stop for 1-2 minutes to adjust differences between group members. This is not guiding and not services. I practically couldn’t tell what Magmatrek service is about. I didn’t receive a reply for my customer claim in the last 2 weeks either.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Lenke_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    774
    170
    56
    16
    24
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lifetime experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stromboli is one of the Eolian Islands, an island complex of volcanic origin, on the NW of Sicily. We visited Stromboli, on 13-15 June 2013, while touring Sicily and we really didn't know what to expect. The Stromboli volcano is active and it erupts every 10-20 minutes, the eruptions conspicuous only from the sea on the W or from the top. There are 3-4 trekking companies that organize the climb to the 920m Stromboli top. Magmatrek is the top choice, as they have interesting, experienced guides, fluent in a variety of languages, but they are usually booked so make a reservation at least a day ahead. The cost is 25 euro per person and the groups start around 17.00 in the afternoon, the climb takes around 3 hours and the descent about 1,5 hour. The guide will tell you what you'll need for the climb, trekking shoes, a torch, warm clothes (the temperature on the top was about 10 degrees C and it was windy, while on the beach it was 25, degrees!), 1,5lt of water , a second T-Shirt.Trekking shoes are important and we rented from Quota900, a cute shop in the village for 6 euro each. The climb was demanding, especially the first 400 meters but is absolutely worth every drop of sweat as the view of the volcanic eruptions once you reach the top is amazing! About 21.30 we started the decent on the steep black slope, which seemed like a "reverse moonwalk", shoes diving deep in the black volcanic sand, filled completely by volcanic sand, the torches moving strangely in the absolute darkness. Unforgettable!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Karina_S2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Icaro Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We hiked the Stromboli volcano on June 15, 2013 and absolutely loved it.

I was a little nervous about hiking this but my husband really wanted to while we were going to be in Italy celebrating our 10th anniversary.

Our tour guide was Icaro and he was great. He took his time and had a nice steady pace for getting up the mountain.

This hike is definitely not easy and if you have problems with your knees or your heart this hike is not for you.

There is soft sand, rocks, steep hills to get up the volcano, but once you are up there the views are amazing and the eruptions are incredible. There's nothing like it in the world.

We started our hike at 5:40 and ended at midnight, so be prepared with lots of food and water. You will absolutely need it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Boat trips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Well - Stromboli is a unique attraction to go to, and we went there by boat from Lipari . (On all of the Aeolian Islands you have to run a gauntlet of people selling boat trips, scooter hire, trips to beaches etc.) My advice is to chose a smaller boat (12-20), if you can find a salesman who you can trust. We didn't want to hike up to the top - so chose a trip to include Panarea, Stromboli (village & beach) , sunset by Strombolicchio, (a weird Gothic chunk of rock with lighthouse) and the volcanic slopes & fresh lava by night.- seen from the sea (40 Euros each)

Panarea is supposed to be quite flash, and there was a big yacht in port (Giorgio Armani) , but it was worth a visit , but not to hang about.

Expect black sand everywhere

We are still struggling over the safety warnings on Stromboli - where they rightly fear both volcanic eruptions and Tsunami's (Maremoto) . You'll be glad to note that in the event of the onrush of sea you have to head for high ground - in this case the volcano,( which has been erupting gently for thousands of years). Chose the way you want to perish ! We could see lots of flash photographers up at the summit, but were glad not to have made the climb in the dark.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stromboli island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stromboli is a volcano island in south Italy. You can reach the island by ferry or hydrofoil. Going from Napoli is 10 hours by ferry (there is also night ferry) , 4.5 h. by hydrofoil.. Coming from Sicily is much closer. The island is quite authentic, white buildings, narrow roads, not cars etc. nice to stroll around and also going to the beach. But, the highlight is the trek to the volcano mountain.
The volcano is active non-stop 24 h. a day, 3 craters, erupting every 20 minutes. The best time to see it is at night. In order to do so you have to register to a guided trek that leaves around 17:00 and return around 23:00. there are several companies that render guidance services, all of them charge 24 EUR for a trek, maximum 20 people in a group. YOU MUST have: climbing shoes (can be rented in a renting store near the church for 6 EUR a pair). It's most recommended to take a climbing stick (2 EUR). you should have drinking water, extra shirt (to change your wet shirt once you're on the top of the mountain at night) and a warm top (it's cold in the top...). THere are several companies organizing these treks. We didn't like 'MagmaTrek' - they are not friendly ! We did love 'stromboli adventures', just adjacent to 'MagmaTrek' (near the church) - they're professional just like MagmaTrek but much nicer and friendlier then them. The climbing is not easy, 900 meters steep with rocks and stones, and the going down - deep magma sands... But, it's rewording ! when in the top - you can see the miracle of nature, magnificent eruptions from all 3 craters !! Don't miss it !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank yjacobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stromboli Volcano also viewed

 
Stromboli, Aeolian Islands
Stromboli, Aeolian Islands
 

Been to Stromboli Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing