We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very very slow”

A La Table du Sommelier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A unique place that lays its foundations in the Roman era Archeological digs in Saint-Vincent have brought to light a big Roman thermal bath, situated under the Church. Since the building is located near a Roman road, it is assumed that it was a “Mansio”. The building is dated at the end of the 2nd century and the beginning of the 3rd century on a site which was already inhabited during the Late Bronze Age. The Roman building occupied a larger area than the present Church (which was built at the end of the First century). The “Mansione” had a rectangular shape organized around a court yard, and it included an inning hall, baths, rooms, and stables for horses, barns and depots for vehicles. Our restaurant is situated in the ancient “Mansio”, specifically in a big stable for horses. The room has four ribbed brick vaults growing from one central column, built by Piedmontese masters in 1864 on the Roman findings. In the important historical building you’ll enjoy a unique atmosphere, enhanced by food and wine. The combination is a perfect union o flavors and perfumes. You will have the possibility to admire and savor our meats selection, grilled in the majestic fireplace in the center of the room. Moreover you will savor and enjoy Aosta Valley traditional dishes, chosen by our Chef. Our sommelier Sylvie will present you wines from our rich cave and she will be glad to suggest the perfect wine to accompany your choice of meal.
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

Nice people but absolutely not organized everything is slow . And there were only 12 guest so I can not imagine what happens when more

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Olivier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 294 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2019

We found this place searching for somewhere special to go for a birthday celebration, and couldn't have done better. We had a lovely meal, served by the delightful Sylvie and her family and staff. All the food was lovely, though the quail was slightly overcooked and dry but all the other items were spot-on. The surroundings were indeed like a (wine) cave in a (brick) cave, quite stylish in many ways but warm and friendly and the place is tucked away just off the main street, but well worth the small diversion. Book.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Just out of the restaurant! Everything was amazing from the restaurant, the food and most of all the service! A family restaurant at its best!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Scram2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Book the place in advance if you come for busy WE. Nice place, refreshing.... looking like a cave made on bricks. People very friendly including the sommelier. Nice to have meat grilled in the fire place. Not sophisticated cuisine but vegetables are good and vine is really good. In summary good place, simple food but good meat and wine.... worth a try! offer B&B apparently.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

Very good restaurant specialized in grilled meat over live fire. Family run place that serves with a smile and a big heart. This is one of the best I visited in Valle d’Aosta in several years coming here.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank BoybytheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A La Table du Sommelier also viewed

Saint-Vincent, Valle d'Aosta
 
Saint-Vincent, Valle d'Aosta
Saint-Vincent, Valle d'Aosta
 
Saint-Vincent, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to A La Table du Sommelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing