We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveler rating
218
61
14
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
218
61
14
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pleasant stay half an hour same building high standard aosta valley facilities region village staircase bathtub turin casino spa cervinia modernity timing castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 313 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2017

I read several reviews that compared this hotel to the Grand Budapest Hotel, and they are correct - but I want to be very clear to say that this comparison is only to the Budapest during its glory days, not after it fell on hard times.

The Billia is one of the most stunning hotels that we have stayed in. It reminded me very much of the Winter Palace in Luxor. It has been remodeled to a very high standard both in the common areas and the rooms themselves. They spared no expense, and it shows.

The food in the restaurant is excellent, as well.

My partner went for a brief walkabout the hotel and was surprised at how complicated it was to navigate around the hotel. He was also a bit shocked that there was a cover charge to enter the casino. Beyond that everything was wonderful.

If we have one regret, it is that we only had one night and didn't get a chance to enjoy the pool and spa area which looked like one of the best that I've ever seen. The view of the Alps wasn't bad either!

Room tip: If you like historic hotels, make sure you book in the older wing.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yellowdog04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Billia, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Dear Guest,
we were honoured to receive your comments about the location, the Hotel and the food served on our restaurants.
We hope you will be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We were welcomed with a free drink of anything we chose. A large whisky with ginger ale was no problem. The room and facilities were great - though maybe a bit too hi-tech with the light switches. We were pleased to find that St Vincent town with shops and cafes was only a short walk away. Only disappointment was that there was very little local information, suggestions directions of other places to visit. We would certainly go back.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Billia, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2016

Dear Guest,
We were hugely disappointed to note that our staff has not given you enough informations about the wonderful Saint-Vincent tourist experiences.
We work hard to make each and every guest's stay special and this kind of information is basic.
We hope you will be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We had taken advantage of an online 2 nights for 1 offer on a junior suite, but when we arrived, we had had a massive upgrade to a wing apartment complete with welcome fizz and snacks. The suite was truly amazing, spacious, clean, classy, cutting edge technology - perfect - which pretty much describes the rest of the hotel. The building itself is beautiful and the modern extension actually really suits it. We had an gorgeous view of the mountains and over to the castle opposite, although the hotel is not as remote as it looks online, that did not disadvantage it at all.
The indoor and outdoor spa and pool facilities are beautiful and we were set a lovely table under a tree for lunch by the pool.
The dining room is gorgeous as is the breakfast room, breakfast was good, dinner was ok, but not as good as it thought it was. Service overall was good, we had a couple of glitches - we wanted to take a glass of wine from the bar up to our balcony and it became a whole room service drama, almost certainly our fault for not being clear and there was a bit of a wait to check out as there was nobody at reception who could do it.
Even without the generous upgrade I am pretty sure we would have had an amazing time at this beautiful hotel.
We did not visit the casino and I wonder if in season the hotel is less relaxed and calm, but we have no evidence to suggest that.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Billia, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2016

Thank you for leaving us your kind feedback following your recent stay at Grand Hôtel Billia.
We are happy to read that you experienced a stunning upgrade, enjoyed the apartment, the view, our spa and, of course, our staff.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

The Hotel is very well decorated. Service is perfect. Room is spacious, with wellequiped bathrooms. You can reach the slopes in Cervinia in about 30 minutes. Breakfast is ok. The Hotel also have three very good Restaurants for fine dining.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Uffe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Billia, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind note on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read your positive comments regarding the Hôtel, the rooms and the Restaurants.
we look forward to welcoming you to the Grand Hôtel Billia again soon and we remind you that if you book directly from our web site you will receive the best rates and deals available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

We stopped at this hotel for a libation and a little look around. Inside, the depths of the hotel seemed to retain most of the old character (and the mustiness) with a grand staircase and amazing view to the rear. We were made to feel very uncomfortable looking around the lobby with surreptitious looks from [the manager?] zipping back and forth around the area. It's such a shame that the additions that were made to this once grand place, while no doubt intended to bring it into this century, were poorly designed and integrated into this grand lady. The trees on the property were it's best feature! We ordered drinks on the patio, while very expensive, came with a reasonably pleasant server and nice assortment of appetizers. An attempt to get information at the front desk about local tours or hiring a driver was met with unhelpfulness and attitude. We would not stay here.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank NJWMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Public R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Billia, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Thank you for leaving us your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Grand Hôtel Billia.
We have been honoured to receive many comments from guests about the location, the friendliness and genuine warmth of every member of our team and about the great renovation work, which bears the signature of the renowned architect Piero Lissoni, so we are sorry to note you did not have this same impressions on this occasion...
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews