We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Spotorno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were very impressed with the staff, services and food - all were superb! Our room was clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We liked the pool and the amazing views from both the room and the room where breakfast was served. Only criticism is the car parking - there were very few spaces available all week and we had to leave the car keys with the staff in case they had to move our car. Apart from that though, an excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Family rooms have no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 413 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

After booking by telephone we were given a beautiful room with a fantastic sea view for 210 euro breakfast inclusive. On arrival we had to leave our car keys as there was nowhere to park.We checked in and were shown to a room where we could change for the beach our room wasn't ready but it was 9.00 so we didn't expect it to be.No-one informed us which beach or how to get there as the hotel is situated on a hill,so we returned to reception to ask,The beach is directly underneath the hotel accessible by the outdoor lift. On arrival we told them we were staying in the hotel immagining there would be a discount ..not so 24 euro for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella the standard price everyone pays.The beach is clean and there is a restaurant and bar. We decided to have lunch and ordered the insalata di mare( seafood salad) and received a lot of lettuce with tuna fish,we quiried this as 13.00 euro each seemed a little extravagant but they had given us the wrong salad and it was replaced with the seafood one which was delicious but a very small portion.
After this negative experience we decided to eat out and stopped at the Sirio on the sea front in Spotorno we had the most delicious ravioli all 7 of them for 13.00 euro !Do they do this on purpose so you order more? we paid the bill without leaving a tip!
Breakfast was self service coffee from the machine and at .900 only 4 croissants left of one type however there was a good variety of other things
We checked out for a total of 266 euro for bed breakfast, lunch and the beach for us it was a one night treat anymore would be far too expensive.
The next day we drove 2 km towards Bergeggi and found an isolated beach for 22 euro and a wonderful salad served in a cave for 6.50 euro much better just be prepared to walk up and down the steps.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCOOBYDOO076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Very nice and clean rooms, and very friendly personnel

Room Tip: Very nice view from the last two floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mukksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We spent 17 days driving and touring through France and decided to go stop by this small Italian village and stopped here at the BW Acqua Novella- it was the best surprise of our trip...we stayed two extra nights as the room and service was just that great!

We were lucky as we were upgraded to a superior room with a sea view - our room and balcony was huge, dinner and breakfast was delicious and very reasonable.

Our room was very clean and nicely decorated, appeared to be recently refurbished, our room had satellite TV.

The drive up windy driveway was a bit of a challenge but worth it!, the Hotel had a elevator down to the beach which was pristine!l

We would love to return!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travnfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Rooms: nice rooms, very clean and confortable bed. Small bathrooms and showers for standard rooms.
Hotel: very nice and clean, nice swimming-pool.
Parking: there are no sufficient spaces for the client's cars. Therefore the hotel suggest to put cars in "2nd position" and give them the keys. This is not a good solutions. Frequently you are blocked and cannot go out with your cars because 3-4 cars are blocking the way out. You need to call the reception and ask them to move all those cars... If you have an urgency also during the night this may be very dangerous... The hotel should buy the piece of land downstairs and create a real parking area....

The principal reason to chose this hotel is the direct accesss to the beach. Spotorno town is 5min by car from the hotel.
The beach is nice (small rocks) and water very clean.The beach is private (as everywhere in Italy and the hotel has a special convention with the "lido" and sunbeds are included. However, they always give the worst places to the hotel clients (last row). Sunbeds are one next each other, there is no room even for your feet between your neighboor and yourself. The shadow of the umbrella goes on your neighboor as everything is too close and small....business business business ...but no confort AT ALL. The beach is full of sunbeds and umbrellas and everybody is one on each other every where...this is not pleasant at all compare to other more "reasonable" lidos of the area.
The food at the restaurant is good but very expensive. 13euro each dish (for a dish o pasta is excessive).
The access from the hotel to the beach is very dangerous, you need to cross over the guardrail and there is a big road to cross with no access for pedestrians. The hotel should review these important points with the lido and find solutions to give a real 4stars service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amy_travel_judge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed here due to the location to Savona where we were picking up a cruise the next day. Top hotel, great view and clean with great staff. Breakfast in the morning includes their home made yoghurt, not often you see that these days. We had a room with a balcony over the sea and the view is very impressive and my wife loved being able to go to sleep with the sound of the waves crashing on the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biddazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We've stayed in this hotel for a weekend in mid-September 2009. We were looking for a 4-star hotel a bit away from a busy city center and with nice sea view.

Location of hotel is perfect: it stands about 30 meters high from a sea level and gives excellent panoramic view. Also, as we wanted, it stands a bit away from the city center. But, we would prefer to have a city center a bit closer.

Hotel provides access to a private beach, but nowhere stated that it does not give you right to use sunbeds and umbrellas at your departure day. As for us, we've paid 300 euros for a weekend (2-night) stay and had an access to the beach for one day only.

Hotel has a private parking on site, but when we arrived (Friday late evening) there was no empty slot for us. Outside, there are a lot of white parking areas, so we found a place without any problem. But, if you will arrive Saturday or Sunday during day time, when whole Savona and Genova goes to the beach, you might not find an empty slot for you.

We were really disappointed about the room we've stayed. It was small (we were ready for it, based on other reviews), balcony is tiny and shower is tiny also. No room decorations at all - room looked like 2* (or even 1*) hotel room. I expect a bit more for a 4* hotel room for 150 euro per night. Positive sides of the room - flat-screen TV and Air-conditioning (we didn't use it as it was end of the season).

Breakfast is very basic. Once again, I expect a bit more for 4* hotel. Hotel staff? I can not say they were friendly. I can not say they were unfriendly. Maybe they were tired after the season?

Summary. Nice views over the bay, hotel (especially rooms) certainly not 4* and this makes this hotel overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor_Bernex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spotorno
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tirreno
Hotel Tirreno
#10 of 20 in Spotorno
211 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zunino
Hotel Zunino
#6 of 20 in Spotorno
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel delle Palme
Hotel delle Palme
#11 of 20 in Spotorno
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Esperia
Hotel Esperia
#18 of 20 in Spotorno
173 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mare Hotel Savona
Mare Hotel Savona
#1 of 12 in Savona
871 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterranee
Hotel Mediterranee
#5 of 20 in Spotorno
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella

Address: Via Acqua Novella 1, 17028 Spotorno, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Acqua Novella)
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Spotorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Spotorno
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Spotorno
#4 Family Hotel in Spotorno
Price Range: $85 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most peaceful area of Spotorno in front of the Bergeggi Island, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Acqua Novella offers a unique position overlooking the beautiful coastline between Bergeggi and Capo Noli . In this oasis of peace and relax, you can spend unforgettable holidays or comfortable business stayings. The hotel has 74 rooms with all amenities, Wi - Fi, SKY TV, a rich and healthy breakfast, restaurant, equipped meeting room, fitness room, massage, outdoor pool, beach and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spotorno
Spotorno Best Western
Best Western Hotel Spotorno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing