We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super average”
Review of Hotel Tirreno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tirreno
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Spotorno
Reviewed May 29, 2013

There was nothing particularily bad about the hotel, but nothing outstanding either, except the location, which is right on the beach, so really good.

My view is that the hotel is overpriced for what you are actually getting. Also the part of the hotel we stayed in (1st floor with sea view balcony) is in need of some modernisation. Bathroom is very small & shower was very uncomfortable.

My absolute showstopper were the beds. Firstly they had some sort of water proof sheet on them which is dreadful. Makes you sweat & was really noisy. Bed & pillows were like rocks, so not a very comfortable sleep.

The other disappointment for me was the food at the beach restauarant. It wasn't bad, but was quite average, which for me is not great as I love good food.

I would not say not to stay there, as the beach is lovely, but just to be aware that it is super average.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 212 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Good modern hotel with own beach in attractive resort with interesting shops and a good number of restaurants. Bedrooms have sea view balconies and are well equipped. Restaurant offers good regional food. Half board package is good value. A excellent stop off point near the motorway north west of Genoa.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_B186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

City of Spotorno in Liguria is quite small and we wouldn't expecting such a pearl on the seaside.
Having Breackfast in the terrace restaurant was lovely, looking at the beautiful landscape.
Definitely worth every $

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We took two rooms on March 11, 2012. Our rooms were spotlessly clean as were the toilets. The staff were very helpful and pleasant to deal with and the breakfast was great served in a beautiful room overlooking the water.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Our family has been visiting Spotorno from England for the past 40 years. It is a lovely resort - some may say old-fashioned, but that is its charm for us. Spotorno is a very Italian resort and, as usual, we didn't come across any Brits for the week we were there.

This was the first time we had taken grandchildren aged 8 and 12, so we decided to stay on the beach, at the Tirreno. It was something of an experience making the booking as we have little Italian and the hotel has little English, but that added to the experience for us.

We arranged with the hotel to have a car awaiting us at Genoa Airport, and to take us back at the end of the stay. This makes for a seamless transition. The autostrade drive is a pleasant one with views to the sea all the way. The view of Spotorno from on high on leaving the autostrade is a magnificent one.

The hotel staff were endlessly helpful while we were there, always going out of their way to help. Irene and Mara in Reception were particularly helpful, both when we booked, but also during the stay.

The hotel is quite small, and that is good. Our rooms - two, with sea views, adjoining each other, were comfortable if not luxurious. The children appreciated the Sky satellite channel and Spongebob in Italian is something that will haunt me for a long while.

Breakfast is served at the beach level and is a normal continental affair. We were on full board, and lunch was served in the same dining room - there was an open area outside as well. Dinner was served in the main dining room on the road level.

Food was Italian, and the 12 year old was heard to say "haven't these people heard of tofu?" - not the best of places for a 12 year old vegetarian who is very fussy even of his own taste for food. Nevertheless, the children certainly didn't starve while there!

Our package at the hotel included 4 beds on the beach and umbrellas. Although we were there in high season, things were never crowded at the beach.

The location of the hotel is excellent, and I made it an early morning routine to walk to the neighbouring town of Noli, along the coast road, or the other way to the headland at the other end of the bay.

In August Spotorno is vibrant, with loads of things going on, and a spirited passagiata. A short walk from the hotel this time we found a semi permanent funfair, which requires a number of visits!

The weather, which was beautiful for most of the year, was not kind in the week we were there, then it became good again when we left. This is the luck of the draw, unfortunately. Only one full day was rained off, but it was nevertheless disappointing.

I'm sure we will visit Spotorno again, and when we do, we will stay at Tirreno for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights here.First day we had a great room with sea view ....its was fantastic to wake up in the morning with the noise of the waves sea in your ears...On the terace i had a sunbed also...very clean all
The second day we had another room smaller than the first...but it was ok too.The breakfast ...ok ....the most important to me it was the coffe ..:))
Thanks to the old lady from the reception that gave us the room ....a very nice person!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbaFrederika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La stanza angolare a pianoterra sulla strada no! Meglio al primo piano. Meglio ancora vista mare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M4Jforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spotorno hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Acqua Novella
0.2 mi away
Hotel delle Palme
Hotel delle Palme
#15 of 20 in Spotorno
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zunino
Hotel Zunino
#6 of 20 in Spotorno
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ligure
Hotel Ligure
#7 of 20 in Spotorno
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterranee
Hotel Mediterranee
#5 of 20 in Spotorno
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Imperiale Hotel
Villa Imperiale Hotel
#14 of 20 in Spotorno
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tirreno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirreno

Address: Via Aurelia 2, 17028 Spotorno, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Spotorno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Spotorno
Price Range: $105 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tirreno 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tirreno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing