We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as a place to relax in or as a base to visit beautiful Umbria”
Review of Pianciano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spoleto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pianciano
Ranked #17 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Spoleto
Reviewed September 4, 2008

It was every bit as good as the website suggests. Lovely villa, restored in sympathy with surroundings. Very helpful and friendly hosts. The kids loved collecting eggs from the hens each morning and we loved the terrace, the view, the house, and pretty much everything about the place.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Purtontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2008

This is a great place to stay and every bit as good as the photos suggest.

The house is well appointed with everything one could reasonably need without disturbing the rustic feel of the property.

Aziz and Eva, who take care of the house and guests, were charming and helpful whilst unobtrusive. Their son Kuba was a great playmate for ours despite our son being 4 years younger. The dogs were gentle and charming too and there are also horses, ducks, a goose and hens on the farm.

The owners are based in Rome but often return for the weekend. Claudia is a doctor and was very helpful in recommending how to deal with a medical problem.

Access from Spoletto is simple. There are good supermarkets in Spoletto, a range of good restauants closer to the house and a great fresh pasta maker nearby too.

The property is over 500m up with lovely views down and across a valley. It is west facing so gets evening sun.

The retired members of our party had no problems with the stairs or access and the house is only a couple of hundred meters from a paved road so no long bumpy ride!

The unheated pool is smallish (ca15m long) but has good wc, shower and changing facilities. It is located across the valley at the main family house, a 10 minute walk away.

We had a great time, enjoyed the local history, culture, food and scenery and certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerEnglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

The place is even more beautiful than in pictures (and those are nice photos!) - it is a real paradise! The hosts met us with warm pasta and took care that we have everything we need. You should really try the stone pizza oven one night and grill their perfect quality meat. The nature is superb around the villas, and the villas are very stylish and well-equiped. We stayed with small babies, and it was perfect because the villas are fresh inside while is it warm outdoors. In one word, the place is absolutely recommended and I am looking forward to return with my family too!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dovile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

I have booked several properties through OwnersDirect before. I like the lack of middleman, the amount of pictures so you can see what you're getting etc. So I expected to arrive and find that things weren't quite as good as they seemed. Maybe a bit smaller, a bit grubbier, etc, as they usually are.

Pianciano is the real thing. Stone-built, gorgeous heavy wooden furniture, decent size social spaces, and the kind of furnishings you might buy to live with. It's not luxurious, just incredibly homely. There were no hidden costs, no short-cuts, no crappy tin cutlery! Also, one of my pet hates is that properties claim to be big enough for six, but it's all fold-out tables, 6 scrotty mugs, sofa-beds and living room- cum- kitchen-dinette. Pianciano is the opposite- really spacious. And that's before you even start talking about the views, the local hilltop towns, the scrumptious food, local wines, the Roman remains, the flowers, the gorgeous dogs (I hate dogs! But I liked these ones...)

We didn't get good weather. We were all ill. The pool was empty because it was too cold to fill it. And YET... it's a perfect, perfect spot. I can only imagine what it would be like to stay there in June or September. (I doubt if I'd be able to leave without breaking my heart!)

In summary, GO! You will not find a more beautiful, welcoming, spacious place anywhere! It's not the cheapest, but I would say it's one of the best value places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SarahJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

We have stayed twice in Il Pianciano and will absolutely be returning for a 3rd and hopefully 4th visit. With its beautiful views in all directions you get a great feeling of being in the countryside yet only a few minutes from the main motorway and all the main attractions of the area it really is the best of both worlds, and will suit those who want to get away from it all as well as those who want to tour around.
The houses are rustic and very charming and equipped with everything you need including a hammock for lazing around with a good book and a glass of wine.
The hosts could not be more welcoming and some one is always there to help or answer any questions. Very friendly but never intrusive.
There are two wonderful restaurants within a 2 minute drive from the house. Neither are expensive and lovely atmospheres in both.
Il Pianciano for us is a wonderful place for our family to visit. We will definitely be going back and would highly recommend it to any one looking for somewhere special to stay in Italy.

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank Raingoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

The valley of Pianciano is beautiful, the home building is confortable and cosy, with an elegant and classy interior design and furnishing. The area is also gifted by a wonderful panorama. The owners, Claudia e Francesco, are very kind and hospitable.
It's been a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Alemita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank JWRustenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
7 mi away
Albergo Paradiso
Albergo Paradiso
#1 of 2 in Monteluco
101 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Vecchio Forno
7.1 mi away
Ferretti
Ferretti
#2 of 2 in Monteluco
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#2 of 29 in Spoleto
443 reviews
4.4 mi away
Boni Cerri Hotel
Boni Cerri Hotel
#15 of 29 in Spoleto
53 reviews
7 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#1 of 29 in Spoleto
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pianciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pianciano

Address: Loc. Silvignano, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Spoleto
Price Range: $59 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient hamlet with spectacular view on countless olive trees and historical mansion. Incredibly peaceful location, in a large estate, 11km from Spoleto. Closed to Assisi, Perugia, Montefalco. Accurately restored and furnished villas.Wifi. Swimming pool, private garden, steambath. Unobtrusive custodians on spot. Possible to rent from a romantic "room with a view" to the entire hamlet (max 20). Self catering, dinner on request, wooden oven pizza on request. Cooking lessons. Tour guide, Wildlife guide. Farm products. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing