We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel . Great located.”
Review of Hotel Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Charleston
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Extremely good value and helpful staff. We got a wonderful room for our family ( 3 adults ) quiet location. Very Close to city centre.the garage is located next door. Spoleto a gorgeous town. Eh had a lovely night and day in spoleto.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daphna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 572 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had one night at this pleasant hotel. The staff were attentive and helpful and the hotel is in the old town within very easy walking distance of the sights. Breakfast on the terrace was a bonus as the hotel is on a quiet square.
We had forgotten to book the private garage but they managed to squeeze us in but my advice is - don't forget to book.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlandmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Despite a late reservation for this hotel, I got a very good price and the quality was more than I expected! Comfortable room and bed, spacious bathroom (with bathtub, which is not a given generally), obviously renovated recently. Clean altogether, and generous breakfast included on the terrace in the morning. The personnel was most helpful with tourist information and everything else. Plus, the pictures on the site reflect exactly what you're going to get.
The only thing: it gets noisy at night if your room is on the side of the alley, where the restaurants nearby have their garbage containers... But with the A/C working well and quietly in the rooms, you can always shut the window.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the facade of the hotel for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Easy walking to all of central Spoleto. Decent breakfast. Our room , a junior suite, was roomy, with a large bed and good sized shower room. The hall and lift areas are looking a bit faded but this doesn't detract from the overall good feeling. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Very useful to have garaging next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston H, Proprietario at Hotel Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

1000 thanks for your words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped off in Spoleto for one night in the Hotel Charleston. Despite the festival on & the hotel being busy the welcome was very friendly. We had tried to request a car parking space through lastminute.com but the request hadn't reached the hotel & the garage was full - however the owner found a space, parked for us & arranged charges (which was half the cost of the garage) which was appreciated.

The room was comfortable & clean - and the shutters blocked out virtually all light which gave a good night's sleep. Breakfast was good quality & served on the terrace which made a nice start to the day. Spoleto isn't that big, but the location is good - minutes walk from restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston H, Proprietario at Hotel Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thanks I hope you will return soon to visit us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked (and paid for) a superior room but were given what appeared to be a basic room, with tired furnishings and a tiny bathroom. The common areas need some refurbishment and the housekeeping is somewhat sloppy (bags of laundry left near the lifts/stairs where guests leaving the breakfast room might trip over it). The evening staff were pleasant but the initial welcome left something to be desired. All in all a very average hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Centrally located intimate hotel in lovely well updated and upgraded 16th C building. All modern amenities, abundant hot water and good water pressure:) Very personable and helpful staff. Great place for those who appreciate low key and discrete environment.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWorldIsMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston H, Proprietario at Hotel Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#2 of 29 in Spoleto
446 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#16 of 29 in Spoleto
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#1 of 29 in Spoleto
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Clarici
Hotel Clarici
#9 of 29 in Spoleto
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 29 in Spoleto
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#10 of 29 in Spoleto
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charleston

Address: Piazza Collicola 10, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Charleston Hotel is run by a team of professional staff who make your satisfaction a priority. Guests are greeted by a warm ambience with a relaxing setting. Housed in a 17th-century building, the Charleston Hotel provides the perfect blend of original architecture and modern comforts. Features include complimentary wireless Internet access, a beautiful terrace, and a library. Character oozes from the wooden beams painted with noble family stems, a lobby piano, and the antique fireplace which provides a cozy glow in the winter months. Combine this with a sauna and a lounge bar, and you have the perfect place to come back to after a day of exploring Spoleto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing