We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!!!”
Review of Hotel Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Charleston
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“WONDERFUL!!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was fantastic: very clean, simply appointed, unfussy, and "modern" - which is rare in Italy. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were totally, 100% pleased here and we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEDJ300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    224
    81
    25
    15
See reviews for
101
285
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hotel Charleston is 5 stars. Great location, great staff and owner, the service was top notch and they all went out of their way to make our stay special. Convenient parking, espresso or drinks under the arbor..........great dinner and lunch suggestions from the owner, non-touristy and exceptional. The room was very nice and clean. We referred friends there and they too had a wonderful experience. We shall return, I hope often.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Extremely good value and helpful staff. Good Room configuration for our family and quiet location. Would visit again. Close to city centre. Late 11 am check out helpful. Garage located next door. Spoleto a gorgeous town.

Room Tip: Our room selected was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, as part of our Italian honeymoon. My husband and I are both really into art, so were thrilled that we were in town during the festival (Festival of Two Worlds). The hotel was near the Museum of Modern Art, which was one of the centres of the festival, so we felt very close to the action.

Room was on the third floor (there's an elevator, good for heavy luggage), very modern furnishings, air conditioned, good size closet, comfortable bed, large window overlooking the neighbourhood. Bathroom was a bit tight (kind of narrow...would be better if they get rid of the bidet! Still don't get those...), but clean and had a little table for us to spread out our toiletries.

The reception area looks a bit dated - kind of a mish mash of furniture - but the outdoor patio where breakfast was served was lovely...covered with a canopy of leaves, overlooking the quiet square in front of the museum. Breakfast was nice - coffee, juices, croissants and rolls, eggs, yoghurt, some fresh fruit, cereal, nutella/spreads.

Reception was exceptionally helpful and friendly. They set us up with horseback riding lessons at a nearby town, recommended restaurants, and helped us find the ticket office for the festival. At the end of our stay, gave us olive oil from the owner's family's farm!

We LOVED this town. The winding streets (all very uphill or downhill though, bring comfortable shoes!), the little shops, probably the best food of our whole Italy trip, and great art everywhere - sculptures all over the city.

Room Tip: We heard another guest complain that her room was very dark/didn't have a window - ours did and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vandergil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very comfortable bed and pillows, large room with lots of light, very friendly and helpful staff, easy location to walk all around and see the sights, very good value for your money, nice patio to sit outside and enjoy the peace and quiet, good breakfast buffet with cappucinos, don't miss Pentagramme for dinner. We would definitely return on another visit!

Room Tip: Splurge on the junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waalwijk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were with a group of seven and had an excellent stay in this hotel. Thanks to the friendly staff that advised us to visit restaurant Apollinare in the center. We went there every day and it was superior!!.,
When we go back to Spoleto, we all want to go again to Charleston and to Apollinare.
A very good combination for every tourist.

Room Tip: Three double rooms and one single room. It didn't matter. They were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in an old building on a piazza near the centre of town. Despite being on the piazza it was not at all noisy as there doesn't seem to be much traffic, although I think my husband was bothered by people carousing at one stage. We had a corner room with windows on two sides so it was very bright, and it very spacious compared with some others we stayed in in Italy, and beautifully furnished with parquet floors and bay windows with fancy curtains. They also have parking for which I think you have to pay extra. Staff were helpful as usual.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLT725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
0.0 mi away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#14 of 30 in Spoleto
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#7 of 30 in Spoleto
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charleston

Property: Hotel Charleston
Address: Piazza Collicola 10, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Spoleto
#8 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Charleston 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Charleston Hotel is run by a team of professional staff who make your satisfaction a priority. Guests are greeted by a warm ambience with a relaxing setting. Housed in a 17th-century building, the Charleston Hotel provides the perfect blend of original architecture and modern comforts. Features include complimentary wireless Internet access, a beautiful terrace, and a library. Character oozes from the wooden beams painted with noble family stems, a lobby piano, and the antique fireplace which provides a cozy glow in the winter months. Combine this with a sauna and a lounge bar, and you have the perfect place to come back to after a day of exploring Spoleto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Hotel Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing