We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Logge di Silvignano
Ranked #17 of 49 Spoleto B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We rented an apartment a week in early May which was still cool and the beginning of their season. However, it was a gorgeous place, handsomely restored up in the mountains. Even though it is off the beaten track, it was not far to hikes, Spoleto, Assisi, Spello, etc. Relaxing on the beautiful grounds is a nice break from the bustle too. THe Italian owners are very friendly and gracious, accommodating our needs and being very helpful in their suggestions of local sights, restaurants, maps and other resources. I highly recommend this setting.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isla302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 81 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here in September 2012 for a wedding that was nearby. We could not fault the accomodation or the hosts. Diana and Alberto were the perfect hosts - so helpful with tips and guides for the surrounding area. Having a kitchen in the apartment allowed us to cook fresh pasta (delicious) that was from a shop down the road. The town was very old wordly and traditional, which just added to the charm of the place. If you want a genuine and unique italian experience living in a village, than this place is great. Pool at the villa is lovely with views down the valley. I would recommend that you have your own car if you stay here, it helps with getting down the hills to shops and exploring the surrounding regions. Highly recommended and would love to return with our children next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmiller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm not sure where to start. We had a very unfortunate experience here. We chose to stay in the Loggiato apartment which was up one floor because of the loggia and the views. We understood there was a flight of steps and asked if we could have help getting our luggage up to the apartment since we are in our 70's and, traveling for a month, had lots of luggage. The owners assured us it was not a problem. Except the owners were not there when we arrived, having a family reunion in Rome. Well, my husband did not feel right asking a young women to carry the heavy suitcases up, what turned out to be a very narrow winding spiral staircase. I was really afraid he would hurt himself, but we managed. The young women spoke no English and tried to give us a few instructions and directions. This would have been okay if the location had not been so far up into the hills, on a very narrow, winding, dark road. She left at 5:30pm and we were in the accommodations alone and wondering what to do about finding a place to eat. It was so dark that we hated to drive anywhere at night. We did find a place with carryout pizza, but the road to get there was not one we wanted to drive again at night. Therefore, we had all our evening meals in the apartment.

The apartment itself was clean except for a little mold in the shower which seems to be common this year in almost all our accommodations. (Is it the hot summer?) However, the living room was very dark and the lighting such that you could not even read in there. Reading was the only thing to do at night since there was not a working TV. We don't usually want to sit in front of a TV on vacation but we spent a lot of time there after dark. The set itself looked like something from the 60's and they told us that they had not converted to digital yet, so even though it was listed on their website as having TV, there was none. The wifi was very limited to certain areas of the porch or hallway. Glad the weather was good so we could go outside to use it.

Our worst problem though was the bug bites we got. We are not sure what they were, we never saw any signs of bedbugs but we woke up on the second day with bites all over our torsos and arms. The owner was horrified of course, as were we. She changed the sheets and sprayed the room but I'm not sure if it did any good. They thought that the bugs came from the Fig trees outside the apartment. Since the summer was so hot, there were lots of strange bugs around, they said. Since there was no one else there, they moved us to another apartment, but by then it was our last night, thank goodness. There was no mention of any kind of discount on the rooms, which would have been nice. Needless to say we were both miserable with large welts that itched horribly. More than two weeks later, we still have signs of the bites. When we went to a pharmacy in Rome for help, their first comment was "Madonna MIa". No one had seen anything like it. An antihistamine and steroid cream have helped, along with a lot of time.

On the plus side, the owners were gracious and helpful in recommending towns to visit and places to eat. She even dried a load of our laundry that I had washed, because the weather was so damp that she said it would take forever to dry. That was a very nice touch.

I know this has been a long review, but I think it is very important to tell of our experience since I depend on these reviews a lot to make my decisions on where to stay.

Room Tip: The Archi apartment ( the one we moved to) was much brighter than the Loggiata because of the large...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank descantsopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niglio, Owner at Le Logge di Silvignano, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guests, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Le Logge. At the same time we have to express our surprise about your comments, that look widely inconsistent with all the appreciation you expressed us during your stay.
You enquired for a Suite without steps INSIDE, we offered you a ground floor accomodation face to the garden, and the first floor Suite that you chose while knowing it had a flight of steps.Our Collaborator Barbara offered help for taking up the luggages, but you refused; we understand you are a gentleman, but Barbara was there for the purpose of helping you. We were not there, but you knew it in advance ( we wrote it when you confirmed the reservation); also considering that our check in time is between 5 pm and 7 pm, but we satisfied your request for an earlier check in at 10 am; Barbara our Collaborator was there to welcome you, and provided you an english written map of the area around showing all shops and restaurants, the closest one at 1 km distance with a good road. As promised, we arrived before 7 pm. We saw the lights on in your Suite and thought we should not bother you, Barbara let us know you are and elderly travelling couple and we guessed you might be tired for the day.When we met you the morning after, we provided detailled information, and you thanked us much for the " warm welcome", for the good breakfast assortment and the home made pie you found in the room.
Your review looks inconsistent with all the above. Also, each one of the three rooms in your Suite has 4 up to 6 wall lights and additional stand lights, and two bed side light in the sleeping room.We are surprised you found the place dark.
We are sorry for the small bugs, this kind of problems can happen also walking in the countryside. Anyway, we changed your bedlinen the night itself ( the 4th of your stay), and the morning after moved you to a different Suite for the last night (you expressed your appreciation for this second Suite too!) , and were happy to hear from you that you consider our beds the most comfortable among all you had during your stay in Italy.
Nevertheless, we are sorry to know you were not happy of your stay, and thank you again forr staying with us and wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in Silvignano in 2011. A friend of ours was staying long-term at Le Logge while she was writing a book, and we were passing through Italy in the midst of a worldwide trip. We reserved a room sight unseen based on her recommendation, and we could not have been happier. We stayed in the Tower Room, which had ample room for our family of 5 to spread out, with great facilities and nice decor.

Not much can be said that hasn't already been said in previous reviews: Alberto and Diana were warm, gracious, welcoming, and professional hosts, probably the best we encountered on our trip through 16 countries. The spread of food that welcomed us was a nice, unexpected touch. The accommodations are beautiful, a nice update to a building that's hundreds of years old. The location can't be beat, right in the middle of a small hillside village, with great views of olive orchards throughout the valley, plenty of room to spread out on the grounds, and easy access to the Italian countryside.

We made trips to surrounding towns and castles, went on hikes, foraged for wild asparagus, enjoyed olive oil from the nearby orchards, and had the time of our lives. The shops and restaurants in Campanello right down the back the hill were plenty for us (and delicious!), but it's also a quick jaunt into Spoleto if you need the amenities of a somewhat larger town.

We tend to like to try new places whenever we travel, but if we ever return to Umbria, we will undoubtedly find ourselves back at Le Logge. Thanks Alberto and Diana!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whatthepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the emails to book the room to the flexibility they offered us on the last day with a late checkout on a rainy day, Diana and Alberto made our Spoleto/Umbria stay easy and special. Alberto picked us up at the Spoleto train station since we arrived on Sunday and the car rental was not open. Diana warmly greeted us outside as he drove up. The little touches make a big difference, and they offer many of them. The unrushed briefing with a drink and snacks out on their back deck (if you go in September, you can have all the figs you want!), the apple cake in your room, which we ate all the way through Northern Italy, the helpful information and knowledge they can provide about trips and plans, and a very nice evening social time a few days later where we learned a bit more about each other and our travels throughout the world. They are there as wonderful hosts, without being obtrusive.
We stayed in La Piazzeta, the apartment overlooking the little square in Silvignano. Everything we needed was there and it is very comfortable and nicely furnished and sparkingly clean.
The pool, terrace and deck are really quite peaceful. You are sharing the Logge with other guests but you reallly don't see them much and everything seems very private, which is nice.
The laundry facility was great since we were on a 3 week Italy trip.
We would love to go back and stay at this special place.
Ciao, Alberto and Diana
Ken and Daryl

Room Tip: My only comment would be to be aware that you will not have a valley view from La Piazzeta. But you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLS1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We can only repeat what other people have already said. The accommodation and location is beautiful and Diana and Alberto go out of their way to try and make their guests stay perfect. Their knowledge of the area and its history is remarkable and they leave you to come and go as you please but are always there if you need advice. A car is really a necessity to vist the many places of interest (too many!) and Silvignano may not be to your taste if you don't like silence but we found it the perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We travelled to Umbria for a wedding with our 3 young boys and stayed at Le Logge di Silvignano for 3 nights. Diana and Alberto were amazing hosts and their property is absolutely beautiful. Our boys loved the pool and the spacious grounds and were made to feel at home. Diana's apple cake was also a big hit. We were very sad to leave and would visit Umbria again just to stay with Diana and Alberto.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrellJAnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
7 mi away
Ferretti
Ferretti
#2 of 2 in Monteluco
57 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Vecchio Forno
6.7 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 29 in Spoleto
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Albergo Paradiso
Albergo Paradiso
#1 of 2 in Monteluco
102 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#6 of 29 in Spoleto
573 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 29 in Spoleto
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Logge di Silvignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Logge di Silvignano

Address: Localita Silvignano 14, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Spoleto
Price Range: $143 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Logge di Silvignano 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic House Le Logge di Silvignano is one of the most significant examples of Medieval architecture in the Spoleto County. Built from the X to the XV Century it is listed by the Italian Ministry for the Arts and Envinronment. Le Logge di Silvignano, our home, is for us Diana and Alberto a "love affair", the carrying out of our common life project. The House offers a wide garden with swimming pool overlooking the Umbrian Valley,The 5000 sqm Garden is divided in two parts. The one on the House front was once the old "hortus", now with two centuries-old fig trees, in the shade of which you can sit and read in summertime. The main part of the garden is surrounded by big oak, elms and olive trees, the swimming pool in the centre, and over 200 plants among lavender, rosemary, thyme, myrtle, abelia, cartegus, broom and pomegranate, and more than 50 different kind of rose. The Pool is located in the most panoramic but reserved part of the garden, sunny from sunrise to sunset, equipped with sunbeds, umbrellas, and areas in the shade. Le Logge di Silvignano consist of 3 Apartments and a Villa and a Tower House. We personally cared for and supervised the restoration of the buildings, preserving their characteristics, the spaces and the original athmosphere. The architectural details have been enhanced, the antique floor cotto tiles have been reclaimed Some of the furnitures are antique, some are made by local artisans. Bed linen and linen curtains are wowen on the antique Montefalco looms, art ceramics are from Deruta and Torgiano, and family paintings and furnitures are "blended" toghether. We tried to match all of this with the standards of comfort, elegance and privacy we would expect in our ideal holiday, wishing our guests share it with us.Internet Wireless Connection. The House can be rented in full, and can host up to 20 people The Apartments are from 55 to 75 sqm space, independent entrance, with a comfortable living space, one or two bedrooms, kitchen and bathroom with shower. Some with fireplace or terrace overlooking the valley and the village. They can host 2 to 4 persons. The House of Ulysses Lovely comfortable Villa with independent entrance, with wide terrace overlooking the valley. Two bedrooms, spacious living spaces, a panoramic small loggia with dining room, kitchen, two bathrooms one with shower, one with bathtub/shower. Can host 4 people. The Tower: The most ancient portion of the House, a X century sightseeing military tower. Ideal accommodation for a family of 4/5 persons or two couples, who like to save their privacy though sharing one only independent house. It is infact divided into two separate but communicating apartments, each one with one bedroom, bathrooms with shower, kitchen, living spaces. One with fire place, the other with roof terrace. Can host 4 or 5 persons, in total 120sqm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Logge di Silvignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing