We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fabulous breakfast, great host - Roberto.”
Review of Palazzo Dragoni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Dragoni
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Lithia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, fabulous breakfast, great host - Roberto.”
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Hotel is ideal location in the center of the historic city center activity. If driving, be sure and get directions from Roberto on how to get through the historic center to the hotel. Roberto is very helpful and friendly. Nice large bathrooms. Fabulous breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violinsection2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    38
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
97
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

I must admit that I'm difficult to impress...however, when we walked into our room #8 at the Palazzo Dragoni, saw the canopy bed, went over to the small balcony, and took in the view...I was stunned! Even after much research, viewing hundreds of hotel photos, and reading review after review; it seems I am always disappointed (to some extent) by the hotel we have chosen. And I have chosen many while visiting Italy. Not this time! We got just what we wanted...jaw dropping views, gorgeous decor, great bathroom (also with a view), very large room with seating area, very comfortable bed, deluxe breakfast area with excellent food (ah...a perfect egg omelette each morning), delightful and gracious service, and the perfect location for getting around Spoleto! The room directly above Room 8, is also very nice...but with floor to ceiling windows so you can actually lay in bed and take in the view! If you're going to visit Spoleto, and you want the perfect hotel experience, by all means try the Palazzo Dragoni...you won't regret it. (Sorry if this sounds like a commercial...) Oh...one last thing, I am amazed that Spoleto doesn't get more raves on TA. It has so much to offer a visitor...we love it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoltoBeneItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Palozzo Dragoni is our favorite hotel on the planet. You get the feeling that you are at home with royalty. Breakfast is a banquet, both delicious and a work of art. The owner and his family are gracious and make you feel so welcome that you feel like you live there and are not just passing through. We'll come back again and again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eiseled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We live in Italy and we're getting difficult to impress. Yes you could say we're a bit blasé. However after one week in Tuscany (crowds can kill the magic- MG it's touristy) we stopped in Umbria on our way back home and we fell in love with Spoleto . I think that our hotel had to do a lot with this. The Palazzo Dragoni is wonderful. First of all it's very old and yes it's a bit dingy in the rooms but you don't really notice because of it's charm, the view and the location. Moreover we had excellent service, excellent breakfast (for Italy) and above all, peace and quiet. We strolled Spoleto and we hiked the trails nearby and we told ourselves we had to come back later in the fall. It's the best stop over we ever had.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frog50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We were delighted with the whole experience of staying as guests of the Diotallevi family. The hotel is located in a quiet street near the top of the old town close to several excellent restaurants. Room 8 is spacious and elegant with a balcony with views over the valley and the Duomo. The four poster was blissfully comfortable and there was lots of storage and plentiful hot water. A fridge with ice maker & complimentary mineral water. Breakfast was a wonderful start to the day - in addition to ham, cheese and good bread, there were sliced fruits- melon,strawberries.kiwi pineapple etc and fresh cake and tarts baked and served with obvious pleasure by Ereminia - all this in a salon with stunning views.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anji99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Good location near the cathedral, wonderful views from the room. We got a very nice large room, but bed was a bit on the hard side. Good breakfast. One oddity: I noticed a wireless router on the corridor outside our room so asked for a password to use it - this was late evening and the only man on duty spoke not much more English than I do Italian (unfortunately) but he was absolutely certain that the hotel had no internet connection. I guess nobody had told him about it. Apart from this, we found it a good base to explore Spoleto, which is an interesting city.

  • Liked — views from the windows
  • Disliked — could not use the installed wifi
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

Hotel Palazzo Dragoni. We stayed there on 4/25. Absolutely beautiful view from this hotel. If you are driving be aware that it is difficult to find—very glad that we had our Garmin Nuvi as we missed a few turns. Be sure to printout the directions from hotel website. If you don’t want to drive narrow windy streets, you might want to park at the bottom of town and take a cab up.

We had the room with the three arched windows on the back side of the hotel that you see on the website. View was breathtaking. Furniture through out hotel is antique. Well maintained and quite clean. Good breakfast buffet. Close walking distance to duomo and fort not too far away. Very far from the downtown area. And certainly not walkable with luggage.

Hotel across the street La Signorina(?) had excellent food. Would have been a delight to sit out on patio if weather a bit warmer.

  • Liked — Beautiful views, proximity to duomo
  • Disliked — Difficult to drive to
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
0.5 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#5 of 30 in Spoleto
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#11 of 30 in Spoleto
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Dragoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Dragoni

Property: Palazzo Dragoni
Address: Via del Duomo 13, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Dragoni 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Palazzo Dragoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing