We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
128
62
19
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
62
19
12
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 225 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2015

incredible location and views. Staff were excellent. The Villa, its gardens and stunning views from the pool. The town of Spoleto was also stunning. Free wifi. a minor issue was that our room was at the front of house above the reception area which was quite noisy at times, but we would not let this deter us from visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SingaporeExpaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2015

We recently spent 6 nights here, in a lovely spacious room (the Altair) with its own little terrace, leading to the garden. Plenty of places to sit and look at the splendid view. The location of this small and personal hotel is beautiful, and the Manager, Roberto, the most helpful and friendly man. He couldn't have done more for us. As my partner is diabetic, we bought some sausages and eggs for breakfast, and Roberto was delighted to prepare them for him. Nothing was too much trouble.
The living and dining rooms are lovely to spend some time in (as we did during the rain!), and are in immaculate condition. We felt very much at home.
From previous reviews there were a few complaints of the small bathroom that comes with the 'Altair' room, however, we didn't find this a problem at all. There was even a little table to put bits and pieces on. The little fridge in the room was lovely and cold - so no horrid luke warm drinks on a warm day! Some of the hotel is in a mild state of disrepair, but when you stay in old Italian splendour, for such a reasonable rate, it wouldn't be fair to complain. I would come again and again. I hope Roberto remains the manager, as he adds to the Italian charm. Highly recommend. Genuine Italian hospitality.

Room Tip: If you want a terrace, choose the 'Altair' or 'Daneb', or slightly away from the building, the 'Fenice'.
  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yolandanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2015

Check out a new you tube clip to see how fantastic this place really is. Roberto the manager is truly the heart and sole of this beautiful building from a romantic period in Italian history - Bella Figura. Roberto looked after us so well, with keenness, grace and charm. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Local advice re: parking, days out, good restaurants - look out for Il Tartufo. High end food for reasonable prices. We went twice!
The villa has beautiful grounds, terraces overlooking old Spoleto, the bridge and the valley. There is also a pool (sadly we missed out on this as it was cold and wet not the pool - the weather), another reason for us to return.
Thank you Roberto.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2014

After a hot, somewhat stressful day in Spoleto (much climbing, sights closed in the afternoon and fighting a head cold), we drove the few miles to Villa Milani. The location is fabulous--near Spoleto, high on a hill with a beautiful view of the Town, aqueduct and hills. The Villa has old world charm with with impressive moldings, a huge fireplace, china displays, chandeliers and french doors throughout. Our room had its own terrace that gave easy access to the gardens--a perfect dining or reading spot. The room itself was a bit disappointing. I realize that it is old but some fresh paint and new bed coverings would have made a big difference. The bathroom is minuscule but my husband and I did not mind. Do be prepared for steps as you haul your bags to and from your room. Unfortunately we did not have someone who could explain about the Villa when we arrived but rather just showed us the room. Afterwards, the manager was on site and was most helpful. We had dinner at the Villa because we were too tired to go back to Spoleto. Dinner was reasonable and satisfactory (not gourmet). Breakfasts were adequate. Most importantly, on a a Sunday evening when the Villa does not serve dinner, the manager and staff kindly put together a light supper for us (as we had eaten a huge Sunday dinner in Spoleto at mid day). When we had to leave early for Rome, he set up breakfast before it was scheduled to begin. The manager was really kind and very helpful.

The pool is lovely but it was a bit too cold to swim. Mostly you will love the setting and the grounds. After sightseeing, it is relaxing and peaceful to return to the Villa for a nap, a date with a good book and a glass of wine.

Room Tip: Choose one of the two rooms with a terrace. These rooms are quiet and have easy access to the gardens.
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank passport2europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2014

We returned to the villa in September 10 years after a group of us hired the whole place around our wedding. Some fabulous stuff remains like the pool, views and stunning beauty. Some things have declined though - the service is just not the same. We had no car and we had to wait 90 minutes to get a taxi from the station. not the villas fault but surely they can get a driver?.Despite us telling him we were back after 10 years and with friends we had hired the villa for nearly a week, the guy who checked us in promptly put us in the worst room (underneath reception)The towels were rags. For breakfast we thought it would be great sit outside but no tables set, despite the weather and view. It could be great again, it's just a bit off..we wonder did it change ownership. It's still fabulous, as is Spoleto. One tip, in the tourist office, they give free pedal scooters out for free during the day. Get them, they're great for exploring a beautiful but hilly town

Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank andrewv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews