We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
128
62
19
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
62
19
12
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 225 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I agreed this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The atmosphere, style and ambience created a magical stay. The room was lovely, the views are unbelievable and the food we had was delicious. A relaxing pool set among a garden dotted with prices of antiquity. A wonderful paradise

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The is a great place to stay. Excellent rooms in an old mansion surrounded by lovely gardens with magnificent views of the town, castle and surrounding hills. Roberto our host was having some staffing difficulties with a new cook and loss of waiting staff. Nevertheless he worked very hard over long hours to make our stay enjoyable. He stated he loves his work and it shows.
We enjoyed our evening meals and the breakfast although was beautifully fresh and acceptable.
We especially enjoyed Marco's, the new cook, trout pasta. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms and premises spotless.
The only downside for the hotel is the distance from the town about a 20 min walk uphill on the way back. This didn't worry us even as older guests as we like walking but it would be difficult with luggage. With a car this place is perfect as a base for exploring the area. One of our most enjoyable stays.

Room Tip: The view from our room no 7 was magnificent.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henryadams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We hav booked this hotel on booking.com for one night in mid November. Location is simply fantastic with breathtaking views of Spoleto highlights (the Rocca and the bridge) and very nice gardens. Unfortunately our superior room (Altair) was at the end of a very steep staircase one floor lower than reception and was extremely cold (the front man receptionist switched on the heating in front of us) and it was snowing outside. Bathroom was ridiculously narrow and the shower cabin was a sort of vertical coffin. Furniture looked very tired with some evidences of a past glory. Television was very small (I think 15'') and all the directory and information prints looked very shabby. Breakfast has been minimal (no cheese no cold cuts no eggs etc), very limited choice of sweets and coffee quality just passable. The public rooms at the reception floor look great with nice antiques, but this is not enough to accept the unexisting service. Maybe in the past it was a great hotel,but in future it needs a big refurbishment as well as tremendous efforts to provide real hotel services.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mywayforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a fabulous villa conveniently located just outside Spoletto. The views are wonderful! The home is elegant and you feel like you are staying with friends rather than in a "hotel". The breakfasts were adequate though not noteworthy. We didn't eat any other meals in the villa but found the restaurants in Spoleto excellent. We had our own car and would not recommend this area if you do not plan to drive yourself. The only disappointment we had was at check-out...we had been charged 2 euro for a small bucket of ice (!) and the woman at the desk couldn't get our credit card to work though we used it before and after throughout our travels through Italy with no other problem whatsoever. Nonetheless, we had to pay cash for our stay which we had not expected to do nor planned for! We would definitely visit Spoletto again and would definitely stay at the Villa Milani.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smetropol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The location of Villa Milani offers the most stunning views over Spoleto and the Umbrian countryside. We stayed there in October, so we could not fully take advantage of everything this romantic, quintessential Italian place has to offer: the lovely garden and beautiful pool...The staff at the reception and breakfast room was always helpful, gracious and eager to please.
After checking in, we discovered a problem in our room. Countless apologies were offered and we were promptly relocated. To make amends, they even treated us to some wine "on the house".

There are a few things however they could improve on: the dinner offered is rather expensive, the portions small. Why not offer half board with a typical three course menu that guests can sign up the day before? There are of course good dining options in Spoleto, but the drive up the hill especially in the dark can be daunting...
The signs to get to Villa Milani initially are rather small, a little too discreet maybe?

To fully experience everything this place has to offer, one certainly needs a car.
But if you are looking for a quiet, romantic spot with Italian flair, Villa Milani is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: Choose a room with access to the garden.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews