We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely building with a central courtyard. Furnished with a great deal of character. Rooms spacious, simply and elegantly decorated. Bed excellent, clean.

Breakfast spread was very good by Italian standard: good selection of breads, cake, savoury, cereal and fruits.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Nice and short (though uphill walk into town). Beware that finding it with a SatNav could be difficult as it is down end of a one-way street and to get to it you have to double back.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben-Saud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    101
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
183
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have recently returned from another wonderful stay at the Hotel San Luca; it's now beginning to feel like home!! This time I stayed for 6 nights and had a beautiful room with a balcony, facing into the courtyard. The bathroom was large, covered in grey marble. The room had a mini-bar, safe, TV. lot's of shelves for clothing, and a very comfortable bed. I love this hotel because it's beautiful and very elegant. Breakfast is lovely and has a large variety of fruit, yogourt, cheeses, meats, and cakes that are baked on the premises; it was never a bother for the kitchen to make me toast in the morning. The owners and staff were most accommodating. They helped organize last minute excursions for me, including an English speaking tour guide to take me to Assisi for the day. I am so grateful for the assistance I got in booking these outings!! Their dinner recommendations were perfect, based on what I was in the mood to eat each day.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone having the good fortune to stay in Spoleto!! Bring comfortable shoes for walking up steep paths to the town's centre.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the courtyard, second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kperlmutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

By any and all standards, a winner. From the gracious welcome by the owner to the clean and comfortable room to the charm of its lobby furnishings and courtyard, everything about this lovely, small hotel is geared to making its guests at home. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the amenities were more than attractive: lots of closet space, shelves, a safe, minibar, television and a large bathroom. Restaurant recommendations by the owner were outstanding. Highly recommended to anyone contemplating a stay in wonderful Spoleto! It's a bit difficult to find if you are driving because the actual location is inside the city wall. But look for the signs as you approach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel is very well maintained with good sized quiet rooms and a beautiful internal courtyard. The buffet breakfast was excellent and coffee or tea were brought to your table. All the staff were friendly. and helpful. Secure, convenient parking is available at an extra cost. The hotel is at the lower side of the walled town, hence any trip on foot is initially uphill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
334 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Located a short walk from the city center, ut along a quieter street. This offered better sleep quality than some other hotels on this trip. The owners, Carlo and his wife, were very nice and accommodating. Rooms were comfortable, clean with nice bathrooms. There was a nice gardin courtyard where we could play cards and drink some local wines. Breakfast was good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

After the disaster of Valle Rosa Country Hotel, Spoleto (see review), this hotel is certainly up there. It is family run and is typically Italian, clean, spacious, friendly and most staff had English. I'm very pleased that we extended from 1 night fall back to 4 nights. This hotel has everything I desire in comfort, cleanliness, efficiency etc. I recommend for families, for couples and they even handled a bus tour with aplomb. The only drawback is a steep 20 minute climb up medieval lanes to City centre. I'm nearly 69 and made it with only 1 stop which happened to be a bar with cold beer!

Room Tip: Choose superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in hotel San Luca, Spoleto, for the third time (6nights) and we enjoyed it immensely. We had a lovely, well equipped large room with a fantastic terrace next to the rose garden and a hydromassage tub in the bathroom. The breakfast was great and we had it in the beautiful courtyard. The whole hotel has a homely feel to it. We were warmly welcomed by Carlo and Federica and all staff, who went out of their way to help us in all possible ways. And to top it all up, there is the hotel cat Agato for the cat lovers amongst us ! We are definitely going back next year. We love Spoleto and love staying in Hotel San Luca !

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but my favourites are the rooms with a terrace. Slightly more expensive, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValideSultane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
0.6 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#5 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#7 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.5 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Macchia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Property: Hotel San Luca
Address: Via Interna delle Mura 21, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Spoleto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing