We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the loviest weeks in Italy”
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Armonk, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the loviest weeks in Italy”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Can't say enough about this hotel and its staff. So friendly and helpful. My husband and I dined like kings on recommendations from staff(Federica). Lovely hotel, quiet and very elegant.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank drinda1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    115
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
193
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We took the hotel's six night package that included free parking in the adjacent garage. Our room was large and had a balcony overlooking a pretty formal rose garden; the bed was huge and very comfortable - and had good reading lamps ( often hard to find in hotel rooms) and we had a splendid marble bathroom The whole hotel is beautifully kept -the walls are handpainted by two local brothers and the spacious, elegant lounge is filled woth flowers. As others have noted, there is an excellent breakfast buffet and the service all round is efficient and very friendly.

Spoleto is the perfect centre for touring this beautiful part of Umbria - enough art treasures, hill top towns and stunning scenery to keep us busy for the six days. The hotel's recommendations of restaurants were helpful and we particularly liked La Lanterna -extremely good value family cooking, well patronised by the locals.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croatia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

In our 7 trips to Italy we have stayed at many different hotels and in many places. This is the best! All the staff treat you as an individual person, but that is just the bonus. The room, the breakfast, and the overall comfort were top quality. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montepulciano, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We booked this hotel for a single night while we toured Spoleto. We had been looking for a budget hotel (since all we were doing was sleeping there). However, we stumbled upon this hotel on the Internet and were very pleased. They were very accomodating and friendly to our small children. Because we have 5 children and only two adults, we are always very high maintenance at hotels. Guiseppe at the front desk was marvelous. The breakfast buffet the next morning was simple but the cakes and tarts were clearly made that day and were absolutely delicious.

The rooms were in perfect shape, the mattresses were great and the bathrooms were clean. In addition, the location was great; within a 1-block walk you were up in the medieval city of Spoleto, yet this hotel was exactly on the outskirts and thus very easy to navigate our large (for Italy) car to.

We won't be looking for a different hotel to stay in if we're in the Spoleto part of Umbria again, possibly later this summer. We've found a great one!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chevalnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night. We had requested a suite of four and when we arrived were shown to our room. The minute we opened the room door it smelled so much of cigarette that we left immediately and requested another room.
We were given a much smaller room, and 3 of us slept in one bed while they opened a small sofa bad for my son.
It's hard to describe the room since some parts of it were new and clean and some were old and seemed dirty. I guess they are not done remodeling.
The public area was pretty with a nice fireplace, an indoor small garden and a great breakfast.
The staff was very polite and apologized for the room problem, although they knew about the smell in advance since they told us that they had left the window open for the whole day for the smell to go away.
I think if we were to visit Spoleto again I would look for another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alkimadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Luca, General Manager at Hotel San Luca, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
We are very sorry for the inconveniences that occurred to these guests, in fact sometimes happens that the client of the previous night asks for a non-smoking room because he thinks the room is better than a smoking one, and then he smokes in, creating these kind of problems to the owners...that understand the matter only when the chambermaids enter in the room in the morning to prepare for the following guest. Unfortunately there is in the world this kind of unpleasant people.

The other room we gave, that seemed strange, is 28 square mts, certainly not like the suite and not quite suitable for 4 people, but still a large room compared to Italian standards. This room is all hand painted and sure unusual, but I can assure it's not dirty at all, I think the lady saw the bathroom was perfectly clean as well as the room.
There is a traditional decoration in, probably there has been a misunderstanding about it.

I'm happy she appreciated our efforts to repair the matter: our job sometimes is very hard! Believe that none of us smoked in the large suite we were really proud to give...
Federica Zuccari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

The warm and professional hositality of Fedrerica, Carlos and family make a wonderful stay at this charming hotel. Rooms are spacious,comfortable and spotless. The staff distrectly keep them well serviced throughout the day. The relaxing common areas feature refined antiques and comfortable armchairs by the crackling fire. Indulge in the scrumptious homemade cakes, the highlight of the generous buffet breaffast. You'll wear off their effects as you explore this beautiful village seeped with amazing history.
This was by far our best hotel stay in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tesk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Run into this hotel while finding our way around Spoleto. We were very lucky, the impecable service reflects the fact that the place is run by the family who owns it. The restored historic bulding is charming, the interiors are done in very refined taste including the comfortable rooms. Located within easy walk to good restaurants shops etc (Ask for suggestions at front desk)
We couldn't find any thing wrong with this place !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmtz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
0.6 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#8 of 30 in Spoleto
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#6 of 30 in Spoleto
553 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Fattoria
La Fattoria
#7 of 30 in Spoleto
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Property: Hotel San Luca
Address: Via Interna delle Mura 21, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Spoleto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing