We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC hotel AMAZING staff DELICIOUS food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dei Duchi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dei Duchi
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC hotel AMAZING staff DELICIOUS food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I travel a lot for work and I've stayed in many hotels within Italy and around the world but none of them left their mark as Hotel Dei Duchi Spoleto did. I am very satisfied with everything the hotel had to offer from the rooms to the food. The service is great and the staff is extremely polite and supportive. The internet is fast and the location is ideal. The hotel is located in the "centro storico" or the old town center beside importanto historical monuments such as an ancient Roman theater. I could actually see the ancient Roman ruins from by balcony! The views are spectacular and again the location is ideal for either site seeing or shopping! Compared to other hotels it isn't too pricey either. Definitely worth every euro!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    196
    40
    12
    2
See reviews for
96
233
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

If you need to find a "home away from home" in Spoleto, then this is where you want to lay down your hat. This hotel is perfectly located for those who want to visit this historic gem on foot. Roman ruins, picturesque walkways, modern shops and friendly locals are just steps away. At this hotel, the staff at the reception desk are ALWAYS ready to assist you and to guide you if you need information about Spoleto. The waiters and waitresses in the dininghall are professional, caring and efficient at ALL meals. They are ALWAYS ready to cater to your needs with sincere and warm smiles. Breakfast contains a wonderful array of foods that cater to any person's dietary needs. Rooms are meticulously cleaned every day leaving a fresh scent of the Umbrian hills. The postcard views from the dininghall and the rooms are breathtaking from every angle. I thank the hotel staff for making me feel at home during my stay here and I look forward to returning very soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

The hotel is well placed to spend time in Spoleto, situated next to the post office and a few minutes walk to the tourist office,and main squares of the town, with excellent views over the Umbrian hill side. Helpful staff, clean accommodation, spacious rooms. Very good choice for breakfast of fresh fruit, cereals, ham, boiled eggs, fresh rolls, pastries etc. Lovely stay, but we preferred to eat out for lunch and evening meal.

Room Tip: The rooms are tiled so if you have someone above walking around late at night or early morning with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel which is just outside the walls of old Spoleto. The accommodation was good and location fantastic. My only complaint was that the food here is sub-standard. The breakfast was less than we had experienced at similar hotels in France and Italy in our travels. We also had two dinners at the hotel and were not impressed. I would go downtown next time to eat dinner. Finally if you want a good wi-fi connection in your room this hotel is not for you, there is however a good free computer with a cable connection in the foyer. Having said all that, I would stay there again but know these issues.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnSSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

In all my years of visiting, working in and vacationing in Spoleto, Italy, this is one of my favorite hotels, hands down! We now use this hotel for our annual Umbrian Serenades choral/cultural program that takes place in late July every summer. The staff is incredible - they go way beyond our expectations and are genuinely engaged and passionate about their work - from the cleaning staff, to the front desk and wait staff. We have rarely had any issues while staying there, and if something does occur, it is dealt with immediately and resolved. Regarding the rooms and comfort, etc. - they are large for European standards, well-appointed, extremely clean and comfortable. Some rooms have balconies with exquisite views of either the Spoleto hillsides or the incredible Roman Forum ruins! The location is centrally located in the historic center close to everything you need. The breakfast spread is abundant, fresh and well-balanced, and the morning wait staff is phenomenal - bringing whichever hot beverage of choice in a quick and cheerful manner. I can't say enough about Hotel dei Duchi and recommend it to any who are visiting the mystical, magical town of Spoleto in their time in Bella Italia!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Since my first review of this wonderful hotel I have gone back and stayed twice, took another group of 26 people; I cannot speak any higher of this outstanding 4 star hotel in the historic center of Spoleto. The professionalism and attention to detail of the staff is unlike any other. Our program participants had a wonderful 12 night stay at Hotel dei Duchi and I cannot imagine staying at any other hotel. The spacious rooms, bathrooms, hallways, beautiful terrace, garden, lobby, exquisite food at the hotel restaurant, and breakfast buffet - simply outstanding! Please feel free to contact me personally for more specific questions.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFaustini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Dei Duchi for 5 nights in July 2011 during the Festival. We were very impressed with practically everything about this hotel: the perfect location, the great views, a comfortable and spotlessly clean room with a large bathroom, delicious food, friendly and competent service. The staff accommodated us with every request we made even for softer pillows! We had a lovely time walking around and exploring Spoleto. The Box Office for the Festival was a few steps away and the hotel had arranged for discounts for their guests. We saw some fabulous shows particularly the performances by Aszure Barton and Artists.

Thanks to all the staff for making our stay very memorable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#6 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Dragoni
Palazzo Dragoni
#7 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#13 of 30 in Spoleto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dei Duchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dei Duchi

Property: Hotel Dei Duchi
Address: Viale Giacomo Matteotti 4, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#5 Family Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dei Duchi 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dei Duchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Duchi Hotel
Dei Duchi Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing