We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location within the gates of old Spoleto”
Review of Aurora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aurora Hotel
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Spoleto
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Small 3 star hotel immediately off the piazza, within the gates, on your left. It is situated in an old building, recessed from the street and has a little garden at the front. However, Spoleto is being rebuilt (we counted 9 building sites from the "Rock") so the view from the room was not what it probably usually is.
The hotel is clean and the staff friendly however you need to be good on foot to reach the room (several flights of stairs, no room on the ground floor and no elevator).
We asked for two single beds and they gave us a family room (one double bed and one single bed) so we had a huge room and nice bathroom.
For 3 Euros you get a ticket to the underground parking. Be sure to drive up to the hotel and leave your luggage first as the entrance to the parkhouse is outside the city walls.
Breakfast includes a nice selection of pastries but also cheese and sausages. Coffee is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichalM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 180 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

I wrote a review about this hotel four years ago. I've been back several times and decided to submit an updated review. The Aurora is in a wonderful position in Spoleto - at the top of the old town. Its a hotel for the budget conscious and my (or Ireland's) finances haven't improved in the last few years. Myself and the cousin got a great price deal for our four nights stay (€260 in total). Our (fairly big) room had two double beds and was clean, comfortable, quiet and safe. Staff were all pleasant. Breakfast was grand. Hope to go back to this hotel on many more occasions. Thank you all in Hotel Aurora for another pleasant stay. G

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean and quiet. Situated in the heart of old Spoleto just off a great little piazza. Within walking distance of the marvelous cathedral and the aqueduct. We waited a long time for a taxi at the train station but after a call to the hotel one arrived shortly.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnniefromelgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

This is a terrific hotel (once we actually found it). Try to get there during the day--the drive at night is difficult. The hotel is lovely--a typical medieval hotel. Located right in the center of the historic distrct, it's close to all the sights. Staff is friendly and efficient and our room was large and comfortable. Our view overlooked the old Roman Theater. Ristorante Appolinare is right next door and it is wonderful. Service, food, ambiance--it has it all. They let us park in the hotel's one spot, but we were there in March so not much tourism then. There is a public lot very close by.
Free breakfast is good and everyone at the hotel are very nice and easy to talk with. Reasonably priced. If you are the kind of traveler who needs a pool, a workout room, a spa--not for you. Find a hilton. This is a real Italian experience. I can't really think of anything negative to say about this hotel--we love it and would definitely recommend it. A real Italian experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yu4ick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Definately the best priced place we stayed in. 60 Euro for the night including breakfast. The room was a little small, so I wouldn't suggest it for long stays, but not at all uncomfortable.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank 6pcs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

My wife and I stayed here recently and found it a great little hotel, ideally located in one of Spoleto's nice piazza's. Nice room and good staff. Reasonable tariff. Breakfast very nice.
Close to shops and restaurants also. Wonderful view from our bedroom window to the hills beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HJHKRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

This was one of the best value hotels I stayed in during a month travelling through Italy. It was right in the middle of the old city, very close to everything, really comfortable rooms and a really nice restaurant just underneath. Staff were also very friendly. I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEF_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#6 of 29 in Spoleto
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#2 of 29 in Spoleto
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Clitunno
Hotel Clitunno
#14 of 29 in Spoleto
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#1 of 29 in Spoleto
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Clarici
Hotel Clarici
#9 of 29 in Spoleto
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Apollinare 3, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Spoleto
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Aurora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing