We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SEEK OTHER OPTIONS”
Review of Hotel Clitunno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Clitunno
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“SEEK OTHER OPTIONS”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights via a self-guided walking package. The room was adequate but the airconditioning was not working. back and forth we went interestingly when things go wrong stafff stop speaking your language. It was found that the maintenance staff had shut off the main air unit? also, the bathroom had a bath tub with a shower head but no curtain so everytime we took a shower there was a puddle! The place looks run down, does cater to groups( breakfast started at 7:30 am we got there but a group had already polished off buffet items and we had to ask for stuff. Overall, I would say it is a hotel for mass tourists. would seek other options next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    140
    92
    42
    48
See reviews for
76
151
5
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A really very good experience here the room was great the staff at reception were very helpful and the whole hotel I believe was the real Italy of old plenty of antiques on show and I leave the best till last the food was simply wonderful and I cant praise the chef enough

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank towbar178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of a walking tour. The hotel location is great and we were really pleased with the service. Our room was excellent and very spacious for 2 people. The breakfast was adequate. Highly recommend the restaurant - our evening meal was some of the best we tasted on our holiday - delicious! They also have a lovely outside seating area for relaxing after a hard day's walking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Whilst staying in Spoleto we were recommended to eat here, but time was limited so we could only fit in a quick lunch here. Fantastic, excellent service, food was a feast for the eyes and stomach, quite delicious. Just sorry we had not heard about it earlier in our stay. Would highly recommend and with such a helpful warm and welcoming receptionist in this stunning hotel I would be tempted to stay here as well on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie,
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel was great from day one. The front desk was very pleasant and welcoming. When I entered my room it was like a breath of fresh air. The room was very clean and the furniture/decor is very chic. The bathroom was spacious. The Front Desk was very helpful, assisting me with locating many of the historical tourist spots of the town.

The food is delicious. Every course that I had was amazing. I would definitely notice the hotel restaurant is the highlight. You can tell that everything that they serve is fresh and great effort is put so that the guest enjoy. And the waiting staff was very professional and attentive.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would strongly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We recently returned to stay at the Hotel Clitunno again (we stayed there 2 years ago) and found it sadly run-down from our last trip and quite changed.

The rooms were very run down, with holes in the wall with electric wires hanging out and every piece of furniture in our room was broken including chairs without arms and handles that fell of chests of draws when you tried to open them. The shower in our room was also completely dysfunctional (and I'm used to the eccentricities of Italian bathrooms!!).

The staff at the front desk have a brusque manner which unfortunately obscures a team that is actually extremely helpful and obliging and who went out of their way to help look after us when asked.

The worst part of this hotel though was the surly lady who ran the breakfast room whose attitude was openly hostile. The breakfast itself was basic in the extreme with stale bread and fruit that was past it's used by date. And good luck getting a coffee from the dragon lady!

I heard from some locals that the hotel owners put most of their energy into maintaining their restaurant (which was excellent) and the hotel is offering as a result. Such a pity as it was a lovely hotel 2 years ago.

We won't be returning again though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spoleto hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This hotel is okay overall. The room was good but the step out of the bath was quite high and the tv wasn't plugged into an arial with no sign of one to put it into. The staff said they would come and fix it but didn't. Breakfast food was not the best, fruit had seen better days and the choice was standard continental but not much of it. I can't comment on other meals as we didn't try them out. Room was clean though and very spacious with a nice feel about it with tiled floor and metal headboard which was very decorative. We stayed a couple of nights and it was enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#6 of 30 in Spoleto
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
0.4 mi away
Hotel Clarici
Hotel Clarici
#9 of 30 in Spoleto
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clitunno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clitunno

Property: Hotel Clitunno
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Sordini 6, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Clitunno 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Clitunno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing