We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality for standard menu”
Review of Il Mio Vinaio

Il Mio Vinaio
Reserve with
Il Mio Vinaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 173 Restaurants in Spoleto
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor quality for standard menu”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Unfortunately the food in poor quality. We ordered a pasta with truffles and it had no flavour at all. Be aware

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NonSoloTuristi-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    129
    74
    43
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
339 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“GREAT Owner”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I know I'm going to sound like a broken record by saying that we spent 2.5 weeks in Spoleto, but we did, and while we were there, we tried a number of restaurants. We enjoyed this one very much and didn't find the prices to be higher than others. Like a previous reviewer, we also were puzzled by negative reviews. The food was good, and the service was great. When we finished dinner, the owner/cook, Sandra, came out and talked to use for a bit.

Two things I want to note: They have a wine/cheese/meat special. If I remember, a glass of wine and cheese/meat plate cost 5 euro (Maybe 4?). It was well worth it.

Two mornings after we ate here, we were having coffee in a cafe in the piazza. Sandra walked by, saw us, and stopped to talk. When she left, the owner of the cafe told us she had paid our tab.

Grazie mille, Sandra.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena, Malta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

A great veal steak that was delicious with a lovely bottle of white wine that went down a treat on a hot June day. We were very amused by the owners young son who served us our dessert. At the tender age of 9 I am sure he has a great future in catering. Recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IanDeCesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I am puzzled by the negative reviews of this osteria/wine bar. We came across it by chance while looking in increasing desperation for somewhere for lunch and enjoyed it tremendously. The mama was very welcoming and friendly, there was an excellent wine list and we ate a really good pappardelle with wild boar ragu. The service was good and we left feeling rather smug at having discovered such a good place to eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
282 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Wish I'd consulted TA first”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My partner and I were looking in desperation for somewhere to eat and saw the busy terrace of this restaurant and took it to be a good sign, it wasn't !

We paid 55 euros for a bottle of water, wine, 2 coffees, wild boar (chingale) pappardelle, wild boar stew with potatoes and spinach and 2 panna cottas (pre bought and still served in the plastic carton). The food was mediocre and luke warm and there wasn't that much of it, it arrived at sporadic intervals too. The service wasn't anything special either.

I think the location makes this place popular, it's off a main square, it's certainly not the food !

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WitchyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Mio Vinaio also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Il Mio Vinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing