We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, easy to negotiate way around town.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Spoleto, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Joe I
Collie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, easy to negotiate way around town.”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Bella Due was our home for 7 And a half weeks. From there we visited various parts of Umbria and Tuscany, plus a couple of international trips (a week at a time).
Despite the 2 hour trip to Rome, we still found it convenient to get to most places and really loved the Spoleto lifestyle, eating out most nights and generally talking it very easy.
Laurie, who picked us up on arrival at Spoleto railway station, is the backbone of the business and was very, very accommodating.
Our biggest problem was the heat, which meant we had to keep doors and windows open at night, but this meant we were unable to sleep due to the music from the bar immediately below our unit, and other noises. Air con. Would have been a godsend.
We also found the couches uncomfortable. They probably need replacing as has happened with other units at the complex.
However, overall our stay was great and we would recommend Bella Due and other properties managed by Laurie and Norma.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No air con. And noise
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2014
Bella Due is at the front of one of the oldest palazzos in town, the Rocca Dei Perugini, built and occupied by the Perugini, when they invaded Spoleto at the turn of the century. Now, restored totally into beautiful self-catering apartments, some at the front, overlooking the streets and some at the back, overlooking allotments.

Our reviewer did not get his 1st choice of accommodation, Terrazza Bella, because it was already booked. Instead, our reviewer booked Bella Due, next door to Terrazza Bella, which is a budget apartment.

Bella Due is extremely popular, not only because of its highly competitive rate but also because it is spacious and both bedrooms have French doors that open onto a wide balcony overlooking the pedestrian, mediaeval streets of Spoleto.

Terrazza Bella, along with Casa Nobile, has triple glazing on all its windows and French windows, opening onto the balconies, overlooking the mediaeval, pedestrian streets. However, this facility would prove useless against unwanted sounds, if one does not shut the doors and windows. As for the heat that our reviewer referred to, keeping doors and windows open in hot weather, even at night, is tantamount to having a heater that is permanently switched on blowing hot air continuously into your apartment !

We do have air-con in some of our apartments. But, quite honestly, you do not need it, IF you keep the fans on (you can have one in each room, by request) and the windows and shutters closed. This is how "we" Italians have lived since time immemorial, when the weather is hot. Indeed, we do not have air-con in our own apartment in the Rocca Dei Perugini and when the temperatures outside are going on 40 degs C, I frequently have to step outside to warm up, our apartment becoming too cold for me at times. It is just a case of being sensible.

The Rocca Dei Perugini is in "il Borgo", the "village" of Spoleto. This area is the most vibrant part of Spoleto, teaming with shops, bars and restaurants but NO traffic. Very quiet at times, particularly between 1 pm and 4 pm, the hallowed lunch and siesta time. Coming alive at passeggiata times, when the Italians parade, pose and pout at each other. So, if you want to experience the mellow city buzz of Spoleto, where you do not need a car because absolutely everything you could need or want is within easy reach, then, the Rocca Dei Perugini is THE place to stay.
The train station is a mere 10 mins easy walk from Bella Due, along a tree-lined boulevard, also packed with shops, bars and restaurants. And, there is an open air escalator that takes you from the bottom to the top of the town, where you can cross the sensational Roman Aqueduct and step immediately into the Sacred Mountains, following in the footsteps of St Francis and Michaelangelo !

However, for those of you who wish for tranquility, while still experiencing the buzz of city life, we also offer central Spoleto apartments that are tucked away in quiet hamlets. You only have to ask. Our reviewer received full information about Bella Due. The context of all our apartments as well as their facilities are explained in detail in response to an enquiry. Perhaps our reviewer didn’t read all that I wrote. Admittedly, there is rather a lot to read !

The reviewer’s comment about the sofas is reasonable. Normally, in Bella Due, we plump up the cushions each week. But, because our reviewer was in Bella Due for 7 weeks, the sofas were not “refreshed” as usual. Nonetheless, the sofas are past their best. We have 2 beautiful, spanking brand new, bright red, really squashy and big sofas ready to go into Bella Due after Christmas. But, in order to retain the very low weekly rate of Bella Due, we were forced to use the current sofas for just one more season. This economy will enable us to retain the current low rate for next year too.

It is true that we have replaced the sofas etc in many of the other apartments in Rocca Dei Peugini. However, except for Nobile Due, another budget apartment, (can be used as an extension to Casa Nobile, next door – with triple glazing !), but, brand new to the market with beautiful soft furnishings and bleached white wood dining furniture, the other apartments in the Rocca Dei Perugini are not in the budget category and, therefore, warrant an increased expenditure at all times.

Of course, had our reviewer told us that the sofas were uncomfortable, we would have replaced them immediately with the new sofas currently in storage. We only want happy guests. But, there is nothing we can do about a problem, if the guest doesn't tell us about it !

While economy to retain a budget rate is important, far more important are the reasonable requirements of our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FleetTim
Fleet
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location in a really interesting town”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had an excellent holiday in this roomy and comfortable apartment. Its central location in the lively and interesting town of Spoleto in Umbria made it an ideal centre to explore the town, with its roman and medieval architecture and good range of shops. There are lots of very good and very good value restaurants within a few yards of the apartment. Norma and Lawrie were very helpful and friendly hosts.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spoleto- A Beautiful Town”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As a woman traveling alone I appreciated the TLC I received from Laurie & Norma. From meeting me at the train station, introducing me to my neighbors and responding to any request they were perfect hosts. Location is perfect, easy walking to the train station, good variety of restaurants and markets.
While the apartment is on the main pedestrian walk of the city and can be noisy it was a perfect spot for people watching and celebrating Halloween!
Don't miss a chance to see for yourself all the beauty this city has to offer!

Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona-Cha...
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Every bit as good, second time around”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was our second stay in one of Norma and Laurie's properties and our third trip to Umbria. Norma and Laurie work extremely hard to deliver a first class, personal service - they have the ability to make you feel like you are their only guest and yet clearly they have many guests staying at the various properties year round.

Our previous stay was at Norma and Laurie's property at San Mamiliano which was beautiful. That time we had a car which was needed as the tiny little hamlet is quite remote. This time we decided to take an apartment in Spoleto itself and we were not disappointed.

The apartment is just as the pictures show and was perfect for us and our daughter who joined us for a few days. The location is also perfect if you want to immerse yourself in Italian town life.

The lift to and from the train station was very welcome and it is indeed an extremely generous welcome pack to greet your arrival.

A few people have commented that the kitchen is small - it is but I loved that and thought that was part of the charm of the place. We cooked several meals during our stay.

What we enjoyed best about the apartment? Sitting outside on either of the balconies listening to Italian life and taking in the view.

What we least enjoyed about the apartment? Leaving !

I hope we get the chance to return again to Spoleto and would definitely book a property with Norma and Laurie again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balconies and that we were part of a residential building occupied by locals
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dolores Colorado USA
Reviewed June 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Reviewed May 26, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing