We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dr”
other travelers have booked this property
Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Terrace
Terrace-garden
Living room
Double bedroom
Double Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Master Bedroom
'with shower'
Private Drive to Apartment
Swimming pool
Pool in privacy of the olive grove
Your Hosts, Ludovico & Francesca
Spoleto Duomo
The garden
Arriving at La Licina
Spoleto 'La Rocca '
Sunset at La Licina
view from the bedroom
Castelluccio di Norcia
La Licina panoramic view
One of the several wild orchids in the garden of La Licina
The Chapel in the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Spoleto, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Rupert T
1 review
“Dr”
Reviewed May 28, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Beautiful place to stay in superb rural setting. A great place to explore Spoleto and Umbria from. Hosts are just great .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2016
Thank you Rupert, we hope to see you again at La Licina.....there will be olives for you!
Arrivederci
Ludovico e Francesca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avi911
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Superb countryside vacation!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After a lot of thinking, we picked the Spoleto area as a base for a 6 days vacation in Umbria with our two children. It was a perfect selection. From that base we visited all the areas of Umbria easily.
The second decision we had to take was to choose our private hub for those six nights, hotel or a house, in the country or in town.
Since it's a lovely area, we desired to go for the country and didn't regret it.
We had the privilege to meet Ludoviko and Francesca, a wonderful couple, who owns the place. Ludoviko welcomed us warmly on our arrival and showed us the lovely mansion and their own house. After an our or so, Francesca came back from Rome, where she works as a guide, and invited us for a drink before we a planned dinner at the nearby hotel La Macchia. We set at the lovely terrace, watching the sunset over the Umbrian hills, drinking wine and tasting mozzarella buffalo and home made olives. When we had to go to the restaurant, Ludovico recommended, he took us through the field, where his donkey lives.
During our whole stay, whenever we saw them, they asked if we need anything or need any assistance. At the same time we enjoyed a full private with our own private yard.
The house has two rooms, one with two singles and one with a king size bed. The master room had an ensuite bathroom and a second bathroom is located in the corridor. It has a small living room with a dinning table and a kitchen. We cooked our dinner for times, buying the groceries from an excellent, nearby, Conad supermarket.
The house was spotlessly clean and not like other places we had in the past, it didn't have those uncomfortable smell. Our bed was very comfortable with a duvet and a clean, good smelling, duvet cover.
It is a perfect place to stay and very convenient base to visit all of Umbria's attractions. Together with lovely landlords, it makes a perfect vacation.
Thank you Ludovico and Francesca for having us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
Thank you Avi911 for choosing La Licina, it has been a pleasure for us to meet you and your family. Arrivederci a presto, Ludovico e Francesca.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poophiles
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spoleto is a comfortable, welcoming town, central to the most interesting sites in Umbria and less that two hours from Rome by car. It's near the train station. It's a short trip from here to the spirituality of Assisi, the glory of the cathedral in Orvieto, the beautiful ceramics of Deruta. The hillside towns of Todi, Trevi and Gubbio are equally fascinating and accessible.
A short excursion into Tuscany will bring you to the charm and vitality of Siena

La Licina--Ginestra overlooks a broad valley and is nestled in olive trees and rich in the aroma of oleander, rosemary,wild mint. lavender, figs and pomegranate. It's blessedly cool in September. You will want to be outside where you will share the slope with two personable donkeys

The architecture is a bit rustic, a bit pastoral and very warm with a stunning brick segmental arch--quintessentially Umbrian.

We were met by the owner's son, Eduardo, who was kind, helpful, intelligent--in short genteel. His father, Ludvico is super polite. Both are fluent in English. Ludviico sent us a very helpful map detailing the route to La Licina and directing us to the local Conad alimentari which is enroute to the rental. Both are easy to find.

The beds were comfortable and the kitchen quite functional.

If you are as sensitive to bug bites as we, you may want to stay in in the evening.

La Licina--Ginestra was a solid bargain. We would like to return.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica7...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Firstly, thank you to previous reviewers who gave us the confidence to book La Ginestra - a confidence that was entirely justified. Ludovico and Francesca gave us a warm welcome, met us at the station and ensured that we had a lovely stay.

We were concerned that, since we did not have a car, that La Ginestra might be inaccessible. However, it is not. It is a 20 minute walk to the local CONAD supermarket (where we did all our food shopping) and a further 10 minutes from CONAD into the centre of Spoleto lower town. The station is a further 5 minutes on from CONAD. From the station it is possible to visit many other attractions in the area. One suggestion, though - if you want to use the buses, make sure you travel on a school day when more services are available. We enjoyed our walks into town and to the station, and so didn't take up the offer of lifts from Ludovico.

The property itself was delightful and the photos on this site do it full justice - it was lovely flicking through them again to remind ourselves of our great stay. All was clean and comfortable and well-equipped. We appreciated and made good use of the wifi. The kitchen-dining room in La Ginestra faces out on to a lawn. A fence separates the lawn from the donkey field (be sure to feed the three donkeys). The lawn faces west, so the sun gradually comes around in the morning and by the evening you will experience wonderful sunsets behind the hills in the distance. It feels very private. We enjoyed the pool - it's just a few minutes behind La Ginestra, higher up the hill with lovely views. It was pretty cool in late September - but we are British and used to that! It was lovely to have a dip after a day's sightseeing. My partner had a little Italian tuition from Ludovico - excellent!

Spoleto is an excellent base for a week's holiday - not only is the town itself quite lovely (and we spent several days exploring it rather than just the two days we had anticipated!) but there are good road and rail connections to other attractions. Other reviewers have mentioned the local auberge, a few minutes walk through the fields, for good pizzas. We did not try this - mainly because we were very happy to source our food at CONAD and the excellent food shops in Spoleto, and sit and enjoy the view from La Ginestra. It was a truly delightful week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome, location and pool
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMummy
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Came as guests, left as friends”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We will be staying at La Licina this September for the second time. I really should have written a review when we returned from there in September of 2012 but just never got around to it. So here it is, better late than never, as they say. Our trip to Italy in 2012 was our fourth trip there together. The first week of the trip was at a small agritourismo (farm) in Tuscany. Although it was an interesting experience, it turned out to be not quite what we had expected. We had decided before we left the US that we also wanted to fit in a side trip, once we got to Spoleto, to the Abruzzo region to trace my husband's grandfather, who had been born there. However, that ended up never happening, not because of any problem though. The moment we arrived at La Licina and walked into the apartment called La Ginestra, we knew we couldn't leave it for a 2-4 day side trip. We scrapped all plans to go to Abruzzo and very happily spent 7 nights at La Licina. The views are beautiful and peaceful; the apartment is spacious and well-appointed; and the town has everything you need. What Spoleto doesn't have is too many tourists, so we were thrilled to be able to feel as if we were living in Italy for our week there and not like we were in the center of a mob of tourists. (To be fair, I know that there are many tourists there during their famous music festival, but in September, there weren't). We decided for the first time not to rent a car and were able to get by just fine without that expense. Ludovico met us at the train station upon arrival, and he or Francesca were happy to give us a lift occasionally if we asked. Sometimes they even showed up out of nowhere when it happened to be raining, even though we hadn't called them and they didn't know our schedule for the day. However, we were quite happy to walk into town to coffee shops, restaurants and shops and places of interest. We could also walk to a Conad (huge grocery/super store) where we could get anything we needed for cooking on our own in the apartment or just for breakfast. (We chose to only do breakfast). You can walk through the pasture to La Macchia, a small hotel with a wonderful restaurant, with a very friendly owner and staff. We walked to the train station in Spoleto and did day trips to other Umbrian towns like Assissi. Quite simply, it felt like we were in heaven. Our very favorite memories of our stay there are of the famous golden Umbrian skies in the early evening and of Francesca and Ludovico. We arrived as guests but by the time we left, we felt like we had gained two new friends--and we have. We can't wait to see them again in several months. Ok, now I'll admit the real reason why I didn't write this review sooner. It wasn't only that I "didn't get around to it," it was that I wanted to keep this special place a secret. But that's really not fair since reviews on Trip Advisor and information and reviews from Alastair Sawday's Special Places to Stay Italy helped us find it. Besides, Francesca and Ludovico deserve a wonderful review; and most importantly, we're already booked for this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners and the beautiful golden Umbrian skies in the evening
Liked least: There wasn't anything we didn't like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed May 6, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to town, but felt secluded.
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nancy B
Sechelt, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“La Licina - a winning combination of country charm and great hospitality”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

La Licina feels like a "home away from home". The colder than average weather this stay forced us to spend more time in doors. La Ginestra was a comfortable and cozy place to relax and take meals. The beauty of this corner of Umbria and the exceptional helpfulness of Ludovico and Francesca are a balm to any traveller's soul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and helpfulness of the owners, Francesca and Ludovico. The beautiful setting.
Liked least: I was fully satisfied with my stay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing