We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Osteria del Trivio

Osteria del Trivio
Ranked #35 of 172 Restaurants in Spoleto
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: It's discussed by Tripadvisor members in the blogs section, but has not yet been reviewed. Great place for dinner in Spoleto, moderate prices, very popular with Italians. Tripadvisor readers should be aware of this place.
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

There are so many wonderful restaurants in Umbria, sometimes it comes down to the people and the atmosphere. We ended up here was before our reservation and opening time for the supper hour, and yet the owners invited us in to chat and drink wine while they finished their dinner. We had a delicious dinner of roast chicken and everything was perfect from appetizers to desserts.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MySharonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    138
    43
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A delightful taste of Umbria”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Umberto and Mirella are the proprietors of this very Italian osteria -- they even have red and white checked tablecloths -- in the heart of Spoleto. Mirella's talents in the kitchen are myriad, what with the vast array of antipasti served up on plate after plate after plate (the fiori di zucca and the warmed pecorino with just a dollop of aged balsamic vinegar are particularly memorable); the strangozzi with fava beans, pecorino and pancetta is a dish I've had a half dozen times and never been disappointed. Umberto serves as something of the entertainment for the evening, with his larger than life personality -- he recites the menu with gusto and verve (on our last visit, one of us asked for a menu, and Umberto paused, looked aghast, spread his arms wide ,and with a broad smile shouted, "I am the menu!"), and speaks a lot more English than he might let on. This is a fine place with good food, a good rosso di casa, and plenty of charm.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Felt like a local”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Found this place by accident off Corso Garibaldi while walking in the lower town. Atmosphere was like a little country, family run place. The owner recited the specials to us but was gracious when we requested a menu. I had the fresh ravioli with tomato sauce which was good but not out of the ordinary. For a second course, the carciofi ripieni (stuffed artichokes) were outstanding. 2 small artichokes stuffed will veal in a lemon, oil, wine sauce. Moist, tender, and a real dining treat. 1/2 liter of house red wine was plenty for 2 people at lunch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Original and warm-hearted”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Right off the main street of the upper town, Corso Garibaldi. Don't be put off by the overdone Umbrian country decor - this is a real, gourmet but family-style restaurant. We were there for lunch, and didn't want to eat meat. They went out of their way to prepare a scrumptious antipasti of bruschetta and cheeses, esthetically presented and unusual in taste. Excellent pasta as well, very attentive service. Not inexpensive, but worth the cost.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful, well-priced meal”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This restaurant was quite close to our hotel (the Cavaliere) and so we went the first evening we were in Spoleto. It is run by a husband and wife. The husband told us what he had fresh that evening and we were game - it was the right approach, as the food was wonderful. The house white wine was very good. We would definitely visit again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank americantravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Trivio also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Osteria del Trivio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing