We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene setting close to Spoleto activities”

Istituto Bambin Gesu
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spoleto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Istituto Bambin Gesu
Ranked #36 of 47 Spoleto B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Serene setting close to Spoleto activities”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This B & B is part of and run by the Poor Clare Sisters. The room with bath is immaculate and comfortable with views of courtyard. Ours had a refrigerator. The breakfast is a very modest coffee, bread and jams/jellies. One's room key also unlocks the main door. Parking is available at least during this off season. Central Spoleto is a short, uphill walk.

Room Tip: Rooms are available as singles, doubles, and families of 3 or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bevchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My sister and I recently stayed with the sisters and loved it. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the stillness, the clean rooms and comfortable beds. The sisters were very welcoming and provided a simple breakfast each day (fresh fruit, bread with local jam and really great coffee). Highly recommend it for independent travellers who want some peace and quiet. The monastery is located at the top of the hill, in the old town. I see in the other reviews that people shared bathrooms etc but we had our own bathrooms (we each had a double room). The sisters showed us lovely renovated apartments which they also rent out. we paid about 60 euros per night for each room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewcastleClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Given that this is a convent, it is very basic. It is more like staying in a hostel. You don't have much privacy. In most rooms, you have to share a bathroom with another room. Our room of 3 had to share a bathroom with a room of 8, so if both rooms were full, it would've been miserable. The doors that lead to the courtyard areas lock, but the door between rooms don't so your belongings are not that secure. Our room had an attached shared kitchen with a fridge, deep sink, stove, two ovens, etc. This was nice because you could do your laundry in the sink and then hang it out to dry on the clothes line in the courtyard. The breakfast here is VERY basic. The only drinks are water and coffee. And you have a choice of a roll or a sweet croissant. The nice thing about the convent is that you can walk right out of the door and walk a couple of blocks and your in town. It also had a BEAUTIFUL view of the hills. Overall, it is very basic and is good if you're trying to save money and only staying one or two nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pa2093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Rooms are very basic. Linens are clean but somewhat worn. There is no air conditioning. Windows on the exterior wall have a piece of cut nylon netting to keep out the bugs, but it is very dirty. Windows on the interior wall do not have netting, so you can't open them to get cross ventilation in hot weather without letting in more mosquitos.

Breakfast consists of a thermos of coffee, pitcher of milk, flask of water, basket of plain white bread slices, butter and small packets of plum jelly, served at a communal table with benches. The charge was 50 euros for a matrimonial room and I would value it at about 30 euros. If you bring a rental car and pay the 1.00 per hour to park outside the city walls overnight, the cost runs up well over what you pay for a nicer hotel with parking included.

Good news is that there was not a curfew, so you can attend concerts that run later in the evening during the Spoleto festival.

It is in the lower town, so you get lots of exercise walking up and down the hill to historic sites, concert venues and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roomwithaview_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 18, 2004

The Convent is a wonderful place to stay while in Spoleto. With accomadations lacking in this umbrian paradise, the convent offers a nice median point between hostel and hotel. Clean, private rooms, great baths, with good pressure, and some wonderful ladies doing God's work.

Highly recommended!

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Clarici
Hotel Clarici
#9 of 30 in Spoleto
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#11 of 30 in Spoleto
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#5 of 30 in Spoleto
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istituto Bambin Gesu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istituto Bambin Gesu

Property: Istituto Bambin Gesu
Address: Via Francesco Angelo Amadio 4, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Spoleto
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing