We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Delizioso!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Barcaccia

La Barcaccia
Ranked #30 of 173 Restaurants in Spoleto
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply Delizioso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

While visiting Spoleto for several weeks, we have found lots of great restaurants. La Barcaccia riates as one of our top finds. We also almost missed it because of its set back location and some current construction. What makes this place special, along with the food, is the great setting and delightful server/owner. The rooms are decorated with posters from the music festival. My husband and I loved the strangozzi Spoletina, the wonderful beef with arugula and oil, the bruschetta with newly pressed, and so delicious, olive oil. We will go back for a third time before we leave this beautiful city. Reasonable prices for the quality and service. My only criticism is the too bright lighting. Make sure you go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucyVanPelt18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    104
    41
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We found the restaurant hidden away behind the clock tower in Piazza Del Mercato. Don't be put off by the building works, can't believe they are still going on. The food was delicious, we had tortellini with truffles and cream, una per due, one dish for two. We both had fillet steak and it was truly delicious, melt in the mouth. But our dessert...oh my god...chocolate tortellini. It was scrumptious, soft runny centre. Delicious. Great value and attentive waiter. Will definitely be returning, don't miss an opportunity to experience delicious food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedheadIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Hill, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We almost missed this restaurant but saw a sign leading up to a piazza that was under construction. What a lucky break that we followed the sign and overlooked the very temporary construction work in the piazza. At La Barcaccia we were treated to one of the best meals I have ever had. I highly recommend the penne norcina, but the tortellini was also excellent. The owner waited our table and was most enjoyable. This is Italian dining at its best: unpretentious, fresh, flavorful and simply remarkable. Don't miss this hidden gem. The cost of the meal scarcely reflected its quality -- a great value as well as a great meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rspcoswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level Contributor
242 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good food, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This really nice local restaurant is rather hidden behind some building works. The food is really good - fresh cooked vegetables, light delicious pasta....and really good value for money.
We had lunch there, but it would be equally good for dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Completely hidden by metro building works, but well worth looking for.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Sent across Piazza del Mercato by the owner of the Osteria del Matto which happened to be full, we enjoyed an excellent lunch in a relaxed atmosphere.We sat at a large table in the veranda and were made very welcome, being well-looked after by the owner who served us with a good light red house wine. Being Sunday, the metro building works which obscure this trattoria from view were thankfully silent, but it looked very pleasant inside too. Particularly high marks for the delicious bruschette, especially the ones made with very tasty tomatoes (it was the last weekend in September), but the other dishes were equally good. As usual in Umbria, salads are nothing special, while the emphasis is on meat, which was delicious, but there were plenty of excellent pasta and other dishes , including a selection of seasonal vegetables which was put together on request.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gat2nero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barcaccia also viewed

Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Barcaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing