We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgo della Marmotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borgo della Marmotta
Ranked #2 of 49 Spoleto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

A really wonderful place, we have just returned from a trip to Italy where the highlight was 6 nights in Borgo della Marmotta. None of the rest of our accommodation came close and we found ourselves wishing we had booked more time here.
Our room was a classic room on the ground floor of one of the converted barn buildings, it was decorated simply but everything was of a high quality and well finished.
The drawing room in the main building was beautifully furnished and was a lovely place to have an evening drink from the honesty bar.
The grounds and pool area are exceptionally well cared for and very beautiful.
Food was excellent, the breakfast was consistently good and was prepared and presented with real care and attention. We ate lunch there on our final day and it was excellent, the best lunch I ate on my two week trip.
On top of all this the people were wonderful. Fabio was a star, a real asset to the team there. Everyone we dealt with made huge efforts to help us, recommending trips and restaurants. I most appreciated that these recommendations were specific to us and were based on what we had enjoyed eating or visiting elsewhere.
The best word i could use to describe the people was sweet, all genuinely nice people who care for the place and visitors.
The place is charming and relaxed and the staff keep their distance unless asked for help.
I found the region excellent for half day trips to Trevi, Assisi, Bevagna, Montefalco and Spello. My wife likes a bit of relaxation, so this worked well. We could do some sites and be back at the pool for a few hours in the evening.
The Valle de Nere is a great day trip and easily accessible from Poreta. Spoleto is a great city, and we went there most evenings for the restaurants. As one of the guidebooks said, Spoleto takes it's food seriously and we found this to be the case. Good quality restaurants were not hard to find.
I would have no hesitation recommending Borgo della Marmotta and I do hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyJaffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    31
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
101
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Borgo della Marmotta for three nights, which is billed as a boutique 'farm resort'.

The hotel is to the north of Spoleto in a village called Poreta, and the hotel is signposted from the 'main' road through the village. There is an electronic gate opening into a chalky driveway, with parking on the righthand side under wooden awnings, allowing one's car not to get blisteringly hot. This is symptomatic of the high level of customer understanding the hotel management display. The awnings have solar panels on the roof, providing much of the electricity for the hotel.

We were met by a very enthusiastic member of staff (Fabio) who escorted us from the car to the reception area, in the centre of several newly-converted stone farm buildings. He provided us with much-needed drinks whilst he did all the paperwork and then took us on a tour of the facilities, including the beautiful T-shaped pool, the breakfast building (a converted sheep pen), the 24-hour communal area and finally our room, off a courtyard near the reception. He was utterly charming and laidback, yet incredibly professional. He was also incredibly kind to make us a sandwich at 3pm (lunch having finished).

The room itself was gorgeous, with an enormous bathroom with sunken bath and separate shower. There were many original features: exposed beams and wooden-slatted ceiling, lime plaster walls, shuttered windows etc. All the furniture was distressed and rustic and truly wonderful. Our room had tea/coffee making facilities and a minibar, and toiletries were all made from olive oils. Indeed, the family who own the hotel also own the local olive groves, and fantastic oils are on sale in the reception for €10-14 a bottle.

There is an honesty bar in the communal area - a fantastic living space with sofas and chairs - as well as a free Nespresso machine (although no milk). A bottle of very good Montefalco wine is only €7.50, and soft drinks and spirits are also available. There were also replenished free snacks on the tables.

The continental breakfast was very good, with many of the ingredients being delivered that morning by a lady in an estate. The very best items were the orange and dark chocolate croissants and a light-as-air egg flan. There were the usual things of prosciutto, juices, cheeses, fruit, pastries etc., and for a small amount one could supplement with eggs and bacon. Coffee orders were taken at the table by a charming Portuguese waitress.

Light lunches are available by request the day before, and cost €16 per head.

Two receptionists were both excellent in their advice of where to eat in and around the area, providing a comprehensive list of ristorante and osteria, even stating how many covers each place could cater for.

Borgo della Marmotta was the perfect base for exploring the beautiful town of Spoleto (15-20 mins away by car), just as it was for lounging by the pool and catching some sun. In the foothills of some mountains astride a wide valley, it caught the sun all day.

I wouldn't hesitate to return as it was utterly brilliant!

Room Tip: For a huge bathroom ask for room 7-1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed there for one small week after our wedding just to relax and Really liked this place, especially the swimming pool and breakfast area. We stayed in the orange appartment at the beginning, very nice even if they could have more decoration details. For the last night we had a beautiful room isolated from the rest of the buildings, there everything was decorated with taste. Breakfast was very good. Only negative comments are the staff not very helpful and the road close to the swimming pool. Not too much to do in this aera (Assise to visit) but great place to just relax in the sun by the pool. There are some delicious small restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leunamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
161 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed. Beautiful grounds, wonderful management, a fantastic room, comfortable common areas with great candle light to add to the atmosphere. I could not have asked for better service. The breakfast was wonderful. We walked here from Spoleto (probably a quick drive, but a full day of walking through back trails) and this was a fantastic place to rest at the end of the day. We were only sorry that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is the best place we have ever stayed at. This was our honeymoon and initially we booked in for 3 nights, extended to 5 when we arrived! The owner is fantasic, helpful and friendly, all the staff arevequally fantastic. If it sounds as if we arebover ebbing it, we are not - it's that good! The room was large, luxurious, spotless and stylish. The dogs are great, the pool amazing, the gardens beautiful and the whole place a heaven on earth. We went twice to a local restaurant, l'alchimista, also top notch... Separate review provided. Filippobthe owner also recommended a local joint, la casaline, which we had no expectations foepr, but which was also great food with amazing service.
The whole experience rendered even better and put in contact by our next stop in Montone (where I write this review) , a he'll hole at 10 euros per night more! In short, go to Il Bogo, thisnis the best. Thanksnto all there, you really made our honeymoon extra special. Matt and Hannah.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We live in Sydney but my wife's from Florence so we've been going back to visit every other year for the last 8 years. After visiting almost all of Italy's regions, this was our first trip to Umbria. We found out about this place via a friend of a friend.
We booked only two nights there but was so impressed we ended up staying there for five.
if you want a true italian experience - rustic landscapes, olive groves, fantastic food, wine, local towns to visit etc., it has it all. One of THE best open air pizza restaurants in the world only a short drive away.
We had planned on spending most of our time visiting local villages & towns(we did see a few) but the resort is so spectacular we spent alot of time there, by the pool - we have two small kids.
The staff were really friendly, it's about a 90min drive from Rome, I simply can't say a bad word about this place. We've booked another four nights next September.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekimssor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Highlights of the property included our cozy, and divinely outfitted room, with gravel patio to enjoy a glass of vino, or snooze in the sun, the delicious breakfast laid out each morning, the picturesque pool for sun bathing and swimming, and the gorgeous shared living room space for relaxing on the plush goose-down sofa, or pouring a drink from the honesty bar. Borgo della Marmotta is well-situated, a short drive from the town of Spoleto for exploring, shopping, dining or catching some theater if you time your visit to coincide with the Spoleto festival. Longer review and photos of Borgo della Marmotta can be found on my blog here: http://www.zangaristudio.com/zangari-studio/2011/01/under-the-umbrian-sun.html

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CiaoErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spoleto
5.6 mi away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
6.0 mi away
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Albornoz Palace Hotel
#4 of 30 in Spoleto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
5.7 mi away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castello di Poreta
Castello di Poreta
#21 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
20.0 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
5.8 mi away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 30 in Spoleto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo della Marmotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo della Marmotta

Property: Borgo della Marmotta
Address: Frazione Poreta di Spoleto 1, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Spoleto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo della Marmotta 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country resort near Spoleto settled on the hill of Poreta facing the valley. Part of the medieval hamlet Le Terre di Poreta, we have rooms and apartments to rent daily and weekly, breakfast room, swimming pool, gym and sauna. Organic farming production of olive oil, truffle and legumes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Borgo della Marmotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Della Marmotta Hotel Spoleto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing