We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful but noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful but noisy!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in February for ski-ing, the room was large with good storage space and a balcony overlooking the slopes, a bit of a trek in heavy snow up the hill to the bars and restaurants, which with a 4 yr old in tow was hard work! The main problem I had is the noise it is a run of corridors and poorly soundproofed, I was in c block and you could hear people walking and talking from near the reception. The buffet restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was nice. Had a great holiday but the noise and the walk up the hill for dinner would stop me going again especially with children

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Mrs Barbie,
thank a lots for write your opinion.
We are very sorry for the noisy outside the room.

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    312
    163
    70
    54
See reviews for
386
133
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked to stay here for a night. The apartments are large, clean and have cooking facilities in them too (which is a bonus), plus a nice balcony. Good location too, right next to chairlift and Gondola - 1 min walk, which is great in ski boots.

However, the price you pay for the room (we booked with Expedia) does not include the mandatory charge of 5euro's per person, per day made by the hotel. So you pay for your room and then you pay this charge for using the facilities in the hotel (which all other hotels provide as part of their room rate). When i questioned this with the manager, she openly screamed at me and said i must pay even if i dont want to use their services.

So..... nice room, but nasty management....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,
la ringrazio di aver scritto la sua opinione ma vorrei fare un chiarimento .
Sul portale Expedia è scritto chiaramente che i costo OBBLIGATORI da pagare all'ARRIVO sono di € 5 al giorno per persona ed incluedono piscina/palestra/animazione/garage/skiroom .
e tassa di soggiorno pari a €1 al giorno per persona.
Le è stato detto che sono dei costi obbligatori che nella sua prenotazione era scritto in modo chiaro e leggebile forse lei non ha letto bene, inoltre, lei è arrivato in macchina e ha usato la spiscina e la palestra quindi penso che € 10 per due persone è una somma ridicola, il fatto è che lei mi abbia comunicato che non aveva i soldi e cosi le ho omaggiato della tessera ma per la tassa non possiamo fare nulla essendo una tassa comunale.
Siamo veramente dispiaciuti nel leggere la sua recensione negativa sinceramente visto il suo trattamento pensavamo che scrivesse una bellssima recensione, invece delle volte l'apparenza inganna.

Cordialmente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We returned to these appartments a couple of weeks ago having stayed 3 years ago. Whilst the location is excellent, with balconies overlooking the slopes, the rooms are very tired. There had obviously been a problem in our bathroom and the mirror had been removed, together with part of the coving - however these had not been put back properly leaving gaps around the top of the mirror and the coving dangling...... The bathroom ceiling paint was peeling, part of the door architrave was missing and the sofa was extremely uncomfortable. The entry door frame had obviously warped as the door needed a very sharp push to open, upon which it then stuck against the floor in a half-open state. Kitchen facilities are barely adequate - why provide a microwave when the only cooking pots are metal? A bit of TLC could make such a huge difference. We did mention our findings to Crystals (with whom we travelled) but they only commented that we had one of the better rooms. Makes one wonder what the others are like! Real shame as the location and skiing are excellent - though I do agree that the piste map is one of the worst.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Mrs Janet
thank a lots for your opion and we are very for the problem in the please send me a letter with the room numebr .
For the Kitchen facilities for the next winter we think about the that.

the best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here in February 2012 and came back in April 2013 'cause we loved the place: very well located (practically ski-in ski-out), big enough rooms/mini-flats, and an excellent restaurant (even my mother-in-law was happy with the food!). On top of that, my kid liked a lot the evening entertainment organised by the staff. I will definitely go back to the Villaggio Olimpico again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morrisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mrs Morris
thank a lots for your opion!

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed for one week in february and we were very pleased!A lot of open space, very clean, very good meal-italian style, everyone is very kind, especially blond girl in restaurant who was serving hot wine after a long sking day!Due to heavy snow fall, the team was working a lot to clean the coridors and walking sides.Rooms are nice and basic equiped for skitrip and the local shop also helps a lot!Keep up the good work there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much !!
The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hemsptead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just returned from another wonderful holiday. This was our fourth time staying here and intend to re book for next year. Our first trip four years ago was with Crystal but since then we have booked direct with the Hotel and sorted our own flights and car hire. This worked best for us but also spoke to some very happy crystal customers whilst there.

We booked a two bedroomed apartment for 6 although there were only four of us but then saves using the sofa bed. The apartments are massive and very clean. We dont usually cook as we llike to try different resturants and there are some lovely ones in the town which is a ten minute walk up hill but it is bearable even when its snowing! however we do usually like to go down to breakfast, there is a very large selection in self service style but be warned if there are eggs and bacon available at the same time then you have timed it right! The bar area is great for a quick beer or two after skiing or before heading out they sell some very strong lager or carlesberg for 4euros for a large one (just under a pint.) they do have entertainment on and someone commented on butlin style... maybe it is a little but it is good fun if theres a group of you there were 12 of us made up of 3 families so we had a good laugh and were quite happy when we beat Team Italy in the mad quiz!!!! Go team London! They also lay on free wine and hot chocolate as you arrive back from the slopes. The ski lockers are worth using as make life easier but not for my lot who board as there is nowhere to keep boards. They are trying to enforce the no ski boots in the corridors but I did see a few people just ignoring this. I think the blocks that the Crystal customers go in are based on long corridors which is why you hear people walking past at night or in their ski boots, but if you book direct then the rooms are on the other side of reception and seem to go off in smaller corridors so you dont hear any noise hardly. Oh and the views are amazing! They have slightly changed the layout of the slopes opposite and have done away with the button lift so you now have a chairlift to do some lovely small blue runs to get you started! or go straight to the top for a good few reds!

The ski school that is based in the hotel is really good all of our children over that last four years have learned to ski with them and on the Friday morning they hold a race on the slope and then there is a presentation in the evening at 6 pm. all the children got a medal and a ski school back pack and a trophy was given out to the fasted three skiers in each group... how ever our older children have switched to snowboarding and wwe wanted to book some lessons, we couldnt bok with the ski school as they were waiting to see how many crystal people were going to book when they all arrived the following day and by the time we got back to them they had filled the lesson, however on hindsight we booked with the YES Snowboard school which is just on the left at the end of the town...they were amazing and I would highly recommend them for any snowboardin including in the park!

The resort suits us as it has everything for a children the skiing is good the hotel is good the people are lovely. When we first went ( we have been three feb half terms and one new year) we were also a little worried about the reviews we read, and possibly the first year it was a little hard work with some of the staff, however there has been a real marked improvement over the years, our trip this year was possible the best ever, the staff were so helpful and greeted you with a smile, their English was very good...much better than my Italian and if they couldnt understand you they found a collegue who could! I can only think the people that complained before were maybe not making an effort...your in their country try learning a few phrases of good morning and thank you....its not hard!

I think if you look at the cost of this hotel / apartments and yes it is massive, you shouldnt be expecting the Ritz, there are staff continually cleaning the communal areas and they are smiling and happy and always ready to greet you. the skiing is doorstep and there is a new nice little bar next to the Gondola oposite the hotel for a lunchtime snack at the end of ski school.

Go ... and I hope you enjoy it as much as we have!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wanderin_jue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
thank a lots!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed in the Olympic Village hotel in the middle of January. We arrived early in the morning, and were check straight in and thankfully our rooms were ready. We did have to pay an additional city tax of 7euros per person, which we were advised of at the time of booking. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room was spacious and well equipped, with a twin bedroom to the left with a separating sliding door. There was plenty of storage in the bedroom, enough space for all 4 of us to store clothes. The bathroom area included a separate sink, leading to a toilet and shower room (also with a bidet). There was an open plan living and kitchen area, which was really spacious. This included a twin sofa bed, dining table and kitchenette, which was very clean. There was a fridge, with a small freezer also. Unfortunately there was no oven or even grilling capability in the microwave, which was a shame. The twin bedroom had a window onto the corridor, the curtains were not great so let quite a bit of light in during the night, we didn't have a problem with noise in the corridor, but I can imagine at busier times there might be an issue. We also found that the bedroom wasn't as segregated as first thought, there was a gap above the door of both the living area and the bedroom, so if anyone wanted to go to bed earlier, they were still disturbed by the noise from the communal area of the apartment.

The ski lockers were great, but only space for 2 pairs of boots in the boot lockers. The hotel layout was difficult to navigate on the first few days, but we soon got used to it and found the quickest route to the ski lockers and reception.

We booked a package deal through crystal, which, to our surprise included 2 vouchers (one for pizza, one for the buffet) to the restaurant in the complex. The food was good, not sure I would have enjoyed it as much if we had opted for a full board deal, there didn’t seem to be a massive variety in the 2 days we spent there.

The gym was well equipped, although I personally didn’t use it. The pool was small with lots of children and families using at peak times. It was almost impossible to swim lengths without being disturbed. It was also compulsory to wear a swimming hat, which I wasn’t aware of before we arrived. They have a shop selling on site which sells them for 6-8euros, however, the shop was out of stock on the day we required them.

The slopes were a 1 minute walk away, which was great! Ski lessons were slightly further up the mountain, near to the centre of Sestriere so it was either a 10 minute walk up the road, or a ski lift and run down which was no problem. There was ski hire available in the complex, however the one included in our package deal was located in the centre, a 10 minute walk away. There was also a mini supermarket on site which didn’t seem to be too expensive and stocked everything we needed to cook for 4 nights of our stay. All in all, a great stay in the Olympic village, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mr Kim
thank a lot for white your opion.

The best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
#4 of 21 in Sestriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
#19 of 21 in Sestriere
3.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#7 of 21 in Sestriere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Edelweiss
Chalet Edelweiss
#17 of 21 in Sestriere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Property: Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
Address: Via Sauze 14, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sestriere Olympic Village is a unique space built in order to remember that Sestriere has had an hystorical role as Olympic venue. Perfectly ensconced in the natural landscape that surrounds it, the Olympic Village overlooks the breathtaking scenery of Argentera Valley and Monti della Luna Mountains. The resort has been conceived in full respect of the surrounding territory and includes 7 different buildings named from A to F plus a last block named G, easy to identify because of its big window tunnel roof. Here, it is set the global polyfunctional area which overlooks the newly open sky slopes for beginners. THE SERVICES: The Sestriere Olympic Village guarantees fabulous vacations, whether you wish to practice sports or simply to relax in the summer as well as in the winter. A fully equipped health spa fitted out with saunas, steam bath, jacuzzi, massage area; a swimming pool (12 m x 6 m) and a gym is at disposal of the guests. Our little guests have a special children recreation area which includes a mini club and entertainment activities (3-12 years old) Security is guaranteed 24 hours a day thanks to the reception and surveillance service. Each apartment is provided with a reserved indoor parking place; Ski school, ski storage, rental and maintenance are available within the premises of the Village. The other services at disposal of our guests are located in a global multifunctional area: 2 bars, self service, restaurant, pizzeria, bar Risto Grill on the roof top, wine-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Olimpico Hotel Sestriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing