We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Sestriere
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent a week at the Villaggio Olimpico during the summer off season. It is most definitely a ski town, but we found plenty to do! The town is beautiful and there is some excellent hiking around the hotel. The staff was friendly and engaging, making sure we were happy and involved despite the language barrier. Additionally, I loved the events - karaokee, casino night, even a cabaret!

The rooms were minimalist, but very comfortable for two people, especially as we were often out and about. The hallways could run a bit loud, but as there were very few people there, it was not a big problem. Additionally, the rooms were hot, which we solved by sleeping with the doors open. We were even able to cook a meal of pasta and homemade sauce one night with the utensils provided. The cafeteria style meals were ok... a bit expensive for what you got, but the pizza corner was great. I also got an Indian Massage at the beauty farm, which made me feel as relaxed as jelly for 24 hours!

Special thanks to Alice and Giovanna, who went above and beyond to make us feel welcome! We will be back!

Room Tip: Block A was fairly quiet. Higher floors would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakura430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    263
    144
    63
    47
See reviews for
305
120
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

i have just spent a fantastic week at the Villagio Olimpico on a half board basis. After reading the mixed reviews on here i was not sure what to expect, what i found was an honest straight forward hotel with decent food and reasonably spacious (for 2 in a double ) rooms. The best part is definately the location, just over the road from the main chairlift giving access to the largest of the two ski areas available,and opening up the next resort of Sauze douz.and even the option of a hard days ski into France (only if the snow allows).
if asked i would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel - the only 'fault' i found was the stuffy overheated rooms but that is being very picky as there is nothing worse than being cold in your room.

Room Tip: the rooms in block F are nearest to the slopes and avoid a long walk to the resturant. ski hire fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Mr Lan,
thank you very much for sharing with the web community your past experience with us and for the nice words .
My self and my team look forward to welcome you again at the Uptown Palace during your next visit to Sestriere.

My warmest regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just a day back from an excellent trip in Sestiere snowboarding. The snow and the runs were amazing! Soft powder with slight ice and large distance to board on with the 3 valleys.

HOWEVER!!!!!!! on the other side the apartments was a BIG no no! We traveled with 4, all male adults from Scotland. We arrived and were shown our rooms which were the typical basic apartments which was fine as we would hardly be spending time there. So, after our check in and getting out bags sorted we headed down to reception. We were told if we got this pre paid credit card we could use it in the whole resort in any bar or food place. We tried it and we were declined. We told them but they ignored what they said to tell us the 2nd time we could only use it in the bar in the place. They gave us out flase information just to take money from us. Their staff was VERY poor. For example, when asking then a question they would become less interested and giving out short answers like they didn't care less about us. They gave the local Italians priority over us Brits which annoyed me! The beds in the apartments were THE WORST bed (s) av ever slept in. All 4 of us had sore backs from day one, i woke up at least 3 times through the night each night we stayed. Woke up dry nosed, throat, crusty eyes with the humidifier. The food in the place was very basic and the pizzas, av seen more toppings on buttered loaf than the pizzas you get there. Also the prices were far too expensive. For a hotel that was "done up" for the Olympics in 2006, we all thought was very poor and basic! I, personally wouldn't come back to this hotel but I loved the boarding areas. Just a shame the Italians spoiled the holiday for me!!

Room Tip: Check you beds as they are as hard as concrete¬
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore vendite at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, May 14, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hemsptead
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

This was the second time for staying at these apartments and I am pleased to say they are even better than last year. we were 2 families travelling with children ranging from 4 to 15. I wrote a review before and not much has changed. The food is still Ok but the general arrangement of the dinning room means it is a bit of a free for all. We only went in the main resturant once and won't bother again. there are lovely italian places up in the town 5 - 10 min walk...gets quicker as the week goes on! yes i agree some areas could do with a bit of paint, but then again they do get clobbered with ski's. poles boots etc day in day out, there are always staff cleaning the public areas and these were spotless. The reception staff were very helpful and the bar area was lovely to relax in, the free hot chocolate when you returned of the slopes late afternoon was an extra bonus. People have commented on the long walk to the ski school but if you take the button lift up that is outside the entrance and turn left at the top you can ski very easily (blue run) all the way over to the other area where the Italian ski school start in the mornings. If not book the lessons with the ski school by the front desk and they start outside the door almost and are very good. We used the bar, pool gym and supermarket all spotless and well staffed ( don't forget your hats for swimming in Italy) all in all a really lovely holiday, we went there to Ski not sit in the apartment so didn't go round checking for peeling paint or cracks, the bathroom was spotless and adequate the views are amazing and there is a lovely bakers 2 mins from block A that is wonderful, go there join in try and speak the language and have fun

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wanderin_jue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
Dear Hemel,
it has been a great pleasure for us to host you during your last stay in Sestriere. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice words about our property, our staff and our services . We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Sestriere.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

The apartments are a little on the basic side but no different to most other self catering apartments in ski resorts. some of the paint and finishes are a little tatty and could do with a fresh lick of paint. However, for a self catering apartment in a ski resort it is relatively spacious. The living area is large with comfortable sofa bed. The main bedroom is large with a decent sized bed. There is plenty of wardrobe and drawer space.
The bathroom is small and if you are tall sitting on the toilet will mean your knees are pressed against the shower. No bath, unfortunately, but the shower is powerful and perfectly adequate.
There is also plenty to do on site. there is a small swimming pool, good for the kids. A decent sized gym. there is a supermarket on site handy for bits and pieces. The restaurant is average but reasonably priced and we got two nights free meals vouchers when checking in. There is also a small bar area with satellite TV and a Wine bar downstairs which was open most nights 17:00 to 21:00. Keep the receipt for your 100 Euro deposit. On leaving we got the deposit back without anyone checking the room.
It is just over the road from a chair lift and gondola but it is a bit of a walk uphill to the ski school but this is not that far a distance. There are plenty of rentable ski lockers near to the ski school.
I would definitely go back to the olympic apartments. As far as self catering ski apartments go the complex and apartment is the best i have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Dan,
it has been a great pleasure for us to host you during your last stay in Sestriere. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice words about our property, our staff and our services . We'll be delighted to serve you again for your future stays in Sestriere.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We are just back from sking trip to Sestriere , our first experience , the village and sking was great . The Olympic Village appartments were Ok , they are clean & basic , food in the place isn't great , the pizza's are good . However I want to warn anyone going, to check their room cards for any cracks etc BEFORE you leave reception area , we were given a cracked card for our door, it worked so we were not bothered however on checking out the very rude Reception guy at 6.30 am insisted that they would never issue out a broken card and that we must have broken it and therefore charged me 10 euros - I was raging and it spoiled my experience at Oylmpic Village . Also keep your receipt for 100 euro desposit you need it for check out . We had booked the housekeeper to check our rooms ( in order to receive your desposit back) but of course she didn't turn up and all was needed in the end was the receipt to get your money back . At check in, which is manic they will give you a card that you can put money on so you can buy drinks at the bar you will be told the min is 30 euros , wrong ! my husband was able to put 10 euros on it the next night. You will find the noise level high in the rooms but because we were so tired it didn't bother us , the safe was unreliable and kept going into error mode and therefore I had to get it opened up twice. Only for the Rude receptionist I would have given a better reveiw .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wparmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Mr
thank you very much for sharing with the web community your past experience with us and for the words about the property .
We are very very sorry for the inconvenience about the reception staff.
So far as your comment, we thank you for your opinion at the check/in-out that is going to improve our front desk services.
We do look forward to welcoming you again for your next white week holiday at the Sestriere Olympic village.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

Skied Sestriere for 2nd time. First stay at Olympic appartments. Yes fairly basic but clean and adequate if holiday is focused on the skiing. Useful small supermarket on site too. Stayed in F block so just across from piste. Good access to pistes and lifts. Sestriere and Milky way fantastic amounts of skiing too. Much better prices than France too.
Yes some noise from corridor as main bedroom along side but not late noise..
Recommend them as long as not looking for luxury.

Room Tip: F block nearer to acess to slopes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamandRachel_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlimpicoSestriere, Direttore at Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Dear Mr Rachel,
thank you very much for sharing with the web community your past experience with us and for the nice words about the property and the milk way .
My self and my team look forward to welcome you again at the Vilalggio Olimpico during your next visit to Sestriere - Italy- .

My warmest regards .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
#3 of 22 in Sestriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#6 of 22 in Sestriere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
#21 of 22 in Sestriere
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torre -Torre Rossa
Hotel Torre -Torre Rossa
#22 of 22 in Sestriere
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere

Property: Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
Address: Via Sauze 14, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Sestriere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
#1 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sestriere Olympic Village is a unique space built in order to remember that Sestriere has had an hystorical role as Olympic venue. Perfectly ensconced in the natural landscape that surrounds it, the Olympic Village overlooks the breathtaking scenery of Argentera Valley and Monti della Luna Mountains. The resort has been conceived in full respect of the surrounding territory and includes 7 different buildings named from A to F plus a last block named G, easy to identify because of its big window tunnel roof. Here, it is set the global polyfunctional area which overlooks the newly open sky slopes for beginners. THE SERVICES: The Sestriere Olympic Village guarantees fabulous vacations, whether you wish to practice sports or simply to relax in the summer as well as in the winter. A fully equipped health spa fitted out with saunas, steam bath, jacuzzi, massage area; a swimming pool (12 m x 6 m) and a gym is at disposal of the guests. Our little guests have a special children recreation area which includes a mini club and entertainment activities (3-12 years old) Security is guaranteed 24 hours a day thanks to the reception and surveillance service. Each apartment is provided with a reserved indoor parking place; Ski school, ski storage, rental and maintenance are available within the premises of the Village. The other services at disposal of our guests are located in a global multifunctional area: 2 bars, self service, restaurant, pizzeria, bar Risto Grill on the roof top, wine-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Olimpico Hotel Sestriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing