We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical ski trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
2 reviews
“Magical ski trip”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Shackleton Hotel for a week in the middle of January. To say it was an amazing holiday would be an understatement!
Firstly, the hotel far surpassed our expectations but the owners and staff were, by the end of our stay, like friends to us. The reception, the restaurant staff, Luigi the chef and Federica to name but a few were all brilliant and made our holiday perfect. The hotel food was outstanding and every whim was catered for. We sampled local dishes and delicious wine, grappa and Jenope.

We experienced a fabulous massage from Helena and Davide and his son took us on the most wonderful ski trip to France and back. Thoroughly reccomend.

The small touches to the entire service we received enhanced our entire experience.

The quality of the skiing was super and Sestiere as a ski town ticks all the boxes. We skied in a different place everyday. The hotel also put us in contact with a great ski hire and storage deal which was better than paying ski carriage.

We are already planning out return to this brilliant hotel in the magical Alpes.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JillAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    46
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
110
73
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Staff very kind and helpful, good position and free ski deposit next to the lifts. Davide and his wife will help out with anything you need. Good food , better than most restaurants of Sestriere. Breakfast could have had larger variety.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here for a week from 13 December. It is a very well-run family hotel, with the hosts - Davide and Flower, taking pains to ensure guests are comfortable and have their needs attended to.

The food was excellent (so we never ate dinner out), the advice on all our skiing and additional recreational needs was great. The location is good, near the center of Sestriere and a short 10 minute walk from the ski slopes and lifts (where you can store your ski gear - thanks to arrangements Shackleton has) If we go back to Sestriere, this is definitely the place we would stay again.

There is a public pool right next to the hotel, which can be accessed easily. It is heated (er... relatively speaking...).

The hotel made arrangements for us for ski rental/storage, for beginner ski lessons, for bookings of a husky sled ride, for swimming pool tickets...

For families with kids (ours are 8 and 10), this is an excellent base for your ski holiday!

Room Tip: We took one of the comfort rooms and it was adequate for our family of two adults and two kids (8 &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NairobiKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had a wonderful one week stay at Shackleton from 14-21 December. A very relaxing, warm and tranquil hotel. The owners and all the staff care for you like family. If you want a personal feeling with wonderful atmosphere all round this is the place for you. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent five days at the Shackleton hotel in Dec-13: very good experience overall, with the hotel's main strenghts being: a) the owner's warm & friendly but professional approach (+ the staff was really kind and helpful); b) the restaurant, well above expectations, with light but tasty recipes (with superb wines!); c) convenient location, not far from the ski areas and close to the town's swimming pool. Amongst the weaknesses, we would flag the rooms' style, unusual but debatable and the overall furniture, not top class. However, the pros do overwhelm the cons and we will definitely come back! Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aldo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The owners greeted us at the door and was very visible and service oriented. The room was interesting with enough space - three beds made up. Could not find any other than Italian stations on the TV, would expect BBC or equivalent. The gym was well equipped however need some TLC and organization. The dinner was OK - great wine list The breakfast was a la carte with some items included others not with a very limited buffet. Anyhow, the owners presence was remarkable and welcome.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SoloGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A fantastic hotel with the owners really adding to the experience. The room was wonderful and the beds amazing. We slept so well.

We were skiing for two days so had purposely booked the hotel for the hot tub and swimming pool which looked great in the photos. Unfortunately they are not part of the hotel and not only is there a charge to use them, you actually have to leave the hotel and walk outside to the local public pool. We both totally missed the hot tub which is just a few jets in the indoor pool and the water was freezing. We lasted 6 minutes before turning blue and leaving for a hot bath in the hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#8 of 21 in Sestriere
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
#4 of 21 in Sestriere
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chalet Edelweiss
Chalet Edelweiss
#18 of 21 in Sestriere
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lago Losetta
Hotel Lago Losetta
#10 of 21 in Sestriere
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort

Property: Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort
Address: Via Assietta 1/B, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sestriere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The suites, divided into four categories based on size, are based on the constellations that make up the Milky Way, named after the ski area Sestriere which is the center. All the suites have a common style, but each has a personal character, that makes it unique.Colors in furniture and antique furniture to make environments comfortable and technologically art (LCD TV, internetpc, Electronically controlled temperature). Most rooms have a whirlpool, and some of the sauna. The warmth of the fireplace in the room, the warmth of the welcome return from a day of skiing.We are proud to share with you the rich taste of flavors in our tradition. The delicious meat of the Piedmont the intense scents of the mountains, the authenticity of fresh produce in an atmosphere of carefree celebration Sunday. Breakfast for us is a "ritual".The beginning of a very exciting day, is the dawn of tastes and energy with which we pamper them. Theme nights at the hotel dedicated to specific specialties (such as cheese and salamiproduced by local artisans, to the wonderful regional food and wine evenings)Dinners organized in a circuit of small companies culinary particular levelset in old cabins or the like.Dinners with transportation by snowmobile or snow cat, in a cabin, and eventual descentnight-skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shackleton Mountain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing