We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sestriere is good for skiers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Palace 2 in a 1 bed apartment which RCI kindly changed for me after I had read a bad review about the studios in Palace 1 (our original booking) so thumbs up to RCI for doing that for us. The apartments at Palace 2 were fine for a ski trip, but rather short on cooking facilities, ok for soups and pasta, but nothing more adventurous. Nice staff particularly the guy behind the bar who gave me increasingly large glasses of wine during the week, and an increasing number of 'apos' which by the end of the week almost negated the need to eat an evening meal. Thumbs up to on prices, 1euro 30centimes for a Mochioata Latte...yes really, and 3 euros for the wine, nice change from the stupidly expensive French resorts. Likewise the lift passes are reasonable in comparison to the rest of Europe. Sestriere itself is an ideal ski resort, fabulous long runs, all very well kept with constant snow canons, it hadn't snowed since 10th Dec when we were there mid Jan, and the pistes were good. Also good links over to Sauze and Montgenevre and various other smaller resorts. We are boarders and could see that if there had been a good dump of snow it would be a boarders heaven with plenty of easy access to off piste, and masses of large bowls over at Sauze. As experienced skiers/snowboarders we assessed this area as a good one and a nice change from France and Austria. Things to note, easy access from Turin by road, oh and we had a lovely meal 13 euros each and romantic stroll round the little known lake Larghi d'Avigliano just west of Turin on our way to a very weird close to airport hotel at Borgamo (yuck new Italian town) built a knats throw from what looked like Chernobel. Oh well that is the north of Italy for you.

Room Tip: Higher apartments away from the Italian entertainment area (very noisy until 11 pm) but I guess that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WendyWakeboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 240 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in Palace 2 in a nice apartment for snowboarding trip. Staff were great and very friendly and made a god effort with evening entertainment but not everybodies "cup of tea". Comedian thought the noisier it was the funnier it was, but all stopped at reasonable hour. Noise transferrence from above can be irritating but no worse than most places. Dedicated bus service 8 Euros for the week otherwise half mile walk to centre and chairlifts - won't kill you!
Wifi in bar and reception area, quite slow but free.
Did not use restaurant as we cooked in or ate out, so can't comment, but nice nibbles at bar for "appero" before 7.30.
Overall enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Beautiful views over the centre and up the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lester C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

It was ok but it took us half a hour just to check in. As soon as we went in to our room it was completely different to what it has on the Internet. The facilities were average but the bunk bed was on top of the double bed and the ladder was wobbly and it didn't feel safe so a friend had to sleep on the sofa. In the restaurant was way overpriced and at a low standard.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Excellent views of the mountain..thats it..period.no oven.no kettel.no toaster.no microwave and this is supposed to be self catering,just an electric four hob burner.
clean.staff are ok,mini market is poor unless you dine pringles and coke,cos you cant cook anything else!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fazerboy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Summer time at Sestriere is very relaxing, no stress, good temperature and many sport activities to be done.
Palace 2 residence is a very good location: it offers nice appartments and beautiful scenary view. Finally I apprciated a lot staff kindness.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavideG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

hotel near the beautiful slopes "via lattea" about 300 mt of distance from the first skilift ...the cost of the room is not expansive and the quality of the whole hotel is excellent, the room are clean and really nice, and the reception is very kindly, sure i will go back in residence palace the next holyday in sestriere!!! ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dered81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Despite very goog location and beautiful views the hotel rooms have very this walls so you cannot sleep. Your neighbours dont have to do make a party - it's enough if they're jst talking - you can hear it very well - that was very disturbing!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lukaszlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.4 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
0.5 mi away
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
#4 of 21 in Sestriere
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chalet Edelweiss
Chalet Edelweiss
#17 of 21 in Sestriere
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
#19 of 21 in Sestriere
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#7 of 21 in Sestriere
167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Sestriere
Grand Hotel Sestriere
#21 of 21 in Sestriere
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2

Address: Via Monterotto 18, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range: $88 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2 Hotel Sestriere
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 And 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing