We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner was superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Sestriere
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
“Dinner was superb!”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Had really great holidays with perfect dinners! Rooms were clean however there wasn't much space for changing and there was lack of coat hooks. Really liked the blankets! Lots of TV channels (several russians). Unfortunately not many places for relaxing in sauna- people have to stand while drinking tea.
Special thanks for caring Galya at reception. She did so much for during our stay! Despite the language barrier as we do not know italian we managed to travel to nearby cities as Galya's hints were very helpful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kukaruka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    79
    37
    31
    28
See reviews for
55
72
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Absolute rubbish, abusive waiter, terrible service. Hole in bathroom ceiling, lioft jammed leaving passengers stuck. Fawlty Toweres but not so funny if you['re paying good money.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lostbysatnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sestriere hotels

London UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

OK, it isn't a four star hotel, but once you have come to terms with that it isn't that bad. We travelled with Inghams who said the hotel had been "completely renovated" but we felt it was still tatty (mini-bar cupboard door coming off hinges: this in the second week of the ski season, sockets broken etc).

Rooms are small but good storage. Too hot (no way of turning heating down). Service was good. Turn-down service with towel replacement in the evening (you don't get that at a 3-star). Meals were well cooked although not particularly to my taste. 4 course plus salad bar. Always a choice of all four courses. Restaurant did look a bit like a canteen - a shame as one night they dimmed the lights and it looked so much better.

Very friendly staff and helpful but didn't take initiative.

The hotel is much smaller than its photos suggest. The classic photos show the whole block - much of which is shops/apartments etc. The hotel is 10 mins walk to the ski slopes although they do run a ski bus.

Sauna/steam bath/jacuzzi were very clean and good. No kids in there! This was definitely 4-star quality (and free). But no pool (they have an outdoor one in the summer).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We have just returned from spending Christmas at this hotel - everything was going extremely well, good food, pleasant staff although that does not include the Manageress!! She was very rude. She should be sacked with immediate effect.
The snow was good, had a great time on the slopes, Christmas Eve was a lovely day. In the evening the dining room was set out beautifully, white table clothes, candlelit throughout, snowing outside, snow on the pine trees, real chocolate box stuff.
I went up to my room between 10.30 and 11pm only to find that the safe had been stolen off the wall with all my personal things in like, Passport, car keys, house/garage keys, credit cards, purse with GBP in it, Euros, jewellery, return tickets home, Insurance policy document! Receipts from the travel agent, car park ticket to get out of Gatwick and my new ski boot bag which we are assuming was used to put the safes in. My son also had his passport, house and car keys in there. My daughter also experienced the same thing, losing their four passports, watches and money. So, how safe is the hotel safe? There were no CCTV cameras anywhere in this hotel, anyone can wander in and out. I have stayed in many different countries including South America in hotels with no locks on the doors and no safe in the room and never had any trouble like this EVER.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiggy10065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We have stayed in 2 * hotels that offer better service, food and a better standard of room than this, and it is supposed to be 4*.
We had 3 days with no hot water, showering under a trickling luke warm tap after a full day on the slopes it is no joke. It was reported the first evening and we were told someone would take a look and I presume that is all they did .....'look', on the second day we mentioned it again to the hotel staff and also to the equity rep, but still no change.....at the end of skiing on day 3 we went back to the room to yes you've guessed it....... 'a trickle ', it was then we were offered another room, which was still as shabby and small only we did have HOT WATER!!!!!!!!!!!

After the 1st day skiing we went back to the hotel for coffee and cake, there was no coffee and the flasks of hot water for the tea didnt work, the staff then poured the water but it wasnt even half full it was a total waste of time , we didnt bother after that.

The bar prices were extortionate, one evening I was charged 5 euros for a coke until I questioned it and then I was given 1 euro change, we went in a huge group of 70 people and were all charged different prices at the bar there was no consistency.

The staff were'nt very friendly including the manageress just didnt want to know , we didnt feel welcome.
At dinner we were on a table of ten people and one evening we asked for coffee's and were told NO, and the waiter walked off without any explanation he was very rude, by this time I think we had all given up.

Apres ski one day we went to the Ducol which is situated closer to the slopes, the staff in there made us so welcome and the general atomoshphre was lovely and relaxing, we were offered complimentary coffee and cake!

If you have booked this hotel I would seriously recommend you ask your rep to re-locate you.
I can genuinely say it is the worst ski hotel we have stayed in!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank circeanbengals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed for a week at the Grand in late February - this was our second choice as the Du Col was sold out! This was also a very expensive second option and hugely disappointing.

Our first impression was generally good, the reception and communual areas were clean and well decorated. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived so we had an arrival coke and beer at the hotel bar which cost over 8 euros - that was the last drinks we ever bought at the bar!!

The room was really, really disappointing. It was small, tatty, old fashioned, dark, and faced the back of the hotel. The only single good point was our daughter had a real bed, not a converted sofa to sleep on, and our beds were quite comfortable. We asked at reception if we would get a balcony room, but was told it would cost an extra 20 euros per person, per night! We decided against that option and made do with our room, which received very little attention to cleanliness - indeed, we noticed several cut toe-nails on the floor in the bathroom which were still there when we left!?!

The food was generally very good however. Breakfast was a bit repetitive, but plentiful, we certainly never went hungry. The evening meal was a good 4 courses and was well presented. The only thing I would say is that we discovered later than halfway through our stay that our daughter could have a child's meal option if she liked. And this was only through observing certain Italian families in residence and seeing their meal choices. There was an extensive wine list, although we chose a house-red with our meal, and had to send it back one night as it was off! This was the first and only time we have ever had to do that - and not the best recommendation for a 16 euro bottle of wine.

The Hotel is situated away from the ski slopes and the hotel provides a "shuttle" service to and from the slopes. Unfortunately, the driver spoke very little English and only had a 7 seater vehicle, which meant quite a wait at busy times.

Generally, the skiing was superb and the snow excellent! We enjoyed skiing at Sansicario, Sauze D'Oulx and Claviere, all easily accessible with the various lifts. The restaurants were expensive, but what do you expect for eating halfway up a mountain!

All in all, an excellent skiing holiday - but the accommodation was a huge let-down. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone, unfortuantely.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkJaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2009

I spent 7 nights at Grand Hotel Sestriere and will NEVER stay there again! The food was dreadful both at breakfast and dinner, The dining facilities were more suitable to a works canteen than a hotel. Despite paying for half board we felt compelled to eat out every single night. Not an experience that I would like to repeat. The rooms were small and very basic. The shower did not work well and the balcony was filthy. It charges 4* prices but delivers 2* service. Drinks from the bar were OUTRAGEOUSLY expensive and really it wasn't enjoyable. Forgot to add there's a nightclub on the ground floor that bangs out drum 'n' bass all night! I will say though that the skiing was truly amazing and there were some nice bars around the resort.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrycon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.3 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
0.6 mi away
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
#4 of 21 in Sestriere
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#9 of 21 in Sestriere
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Biancaneve
Hotel Biancaneve
#7 of 21 in Sestriere
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#16 of 21 in Sestriere
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Sestriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sestriere

Property: Grand Hotel Sestriere
Address: Via Assietta 1, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
#8 Spa Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Sestriere 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to enjoy skiing, good food and relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Sestriere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sestriere Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing