We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location/ Amazing Hospitality”
Review of Hotel Du Col

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sestriere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Du Col
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned to the Du Col for Xmas week And can only applaud them here for their service and hospitality. It's not the plushest ski Hotel you will stay in but the rooms are clean and comfortable with very good and efficient housekeeping. What it lacks in luxury it makes up for in loads of charm. Micheale and his team go out of their way to make sure all needs are met, whether its special food requests or advice about the best Pizza in town,the staff here could not be more helpful. The food is superb and free wine during dinner is a fantastic bonus. Value for money this is by far the best ski Hotel we've ever stayed even compared to some of the posh up market Austrian and French Hotels. I cannot praise this Hotel enough and would highly recommend it to anyone. I would like to add that this Hotel also has one of the best bars in the village and Simo who runs the bars is a Legend.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leejohnlawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 319 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had stopped at this hotel two years ago and returned this year with my son and niece who is a beginner at skiing. The manager and many of the staff were still in attendance and I have to say they all worked really hard to ensure the holiday was a great success.
The food was more than plentiful and totally delicious. I don't eat meat but never felt I had to make any special requests as the salads and vegetable choices were excellent. The chef was always at hand to tell what ingredients he had used and whether they would be suitable options for me. I love fish and on Christmas night was treated to a massive platter of huge langoustines and prawns, almost the size of lobsters!
The entertainment was good in the evening; an Irish singer, a quiz, games and karaoke (!) I have to say I even enjoyed that. It was a little disappointing that the band did not appear on the penultimate evening, apparently they had missed the plane or something...
The skiing is good - many easy slopes and a good smattering of reds and blacks. The hotel was ski in, ski out, which saved on all the clumping around in those massive ski boots.
The local cafes were as cheap as England and certainly much, much cheaper than France.
I would certainly recommend the Hotel Du Col.
The slope facing rooms are the best, the opposite rooms overlook the street.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited the hotel as a group of 28 with Crystal Ski for a week in March 2012.

Firstly, if you’re browsing here trying to get a feel for the place don’t be mislead by the main photo on the listings page - at the time of writing it shows a traditional chalet style building - unfortunately this is the Soleil Boeuf Restaurant on the slopes at Sansicario! The Hotel du Col is a completely different looking place and for a truer impression see the posting by TA reporter Oatsy on 16 April 2007 which shows pictures of the actual front and back of the building. It hasn’t changed since then!

The hotel is within a long terraced building which also includes shops, bars, etc on the street level. The reception, a small lounge bar and a fairly big dining room occupy the ground floor area and in the basement level there is a larger bar (Pub du Col); a corridor leading to the ski and boot rooms; and the exit through the hotel garage to the ski slopes. There is a lift. The 70 bedrooms are all located on the first and second floors above the reception, lounge, dining room and stretching beyond these above the terrace of commercial premises. The rooms at the front of the hotel face the street and those at the back overlook a car park, the ski slopes and mountains.

The luck of the draw meant that we had a room on the second floor facing the street. At this level the ceiling is partially combed however this was offset by clever use of space behind the twin beds for a large storage shelf and cupboard with a fridge. There was plenty of other storage with a wardrobe, built-in drawers and bedside cabinets. The furnishings were dated and that, together with the partial wood panelled walls and poor lighting, made the room dark and old-fashioned. The beds were narrow (single) and not the most comfortable. The ensuite was brighter with w.c., bidet, washbasin and a shower over the bath. There was also a wall-mounted hairdryer which was reasonably effective. As has been mentioned by others the bath is very narrow, so much so that it was awkward to stand in it for a shower and you also got the impression of being wedged in it when having a bath. Provided your feet are naturally curled upwards at both toe and heel you will be fine when you turn around in the shower. (The small screen doesn’t really stop the water going onto the floor anyway so there’s little point in restricting your movements).

On the subject of screens - the television had a digi-box and two remote controls. We never really did master these but occasionally managed to get CNN news and the BBC World Service. The majority of channels were not surprisingly Italian.

The wardrobe had a small safe (free of charge) which was handy for valuables.

Because we were at the front of the hotel we were disturbed by late-night revellers on a couple of occasions and by the loud scraping of the road to clear it of snow a few times in the early hours of the morning. Had we been given the choice I would have been more inclined to put up with noise of the piste bashers at the back of the hotel to gain much preferable views of the mountain and slopes.

Meals were self serve buffet style and limited to strict hours which created a bit of traffic around the tables displaying food as everyone converged at the same time. For dinner there was usually a large spread of salad type dishes and soup for starters, a choice of a couple of hot dishes for mains (e.g. chicken or beef) with several vegetable options and fries. The salad table was cleared at “half-time” and replaced by a variety of desserts which the manager and chef would serve with gusto! You would seldom escape their enthusiasm without trying a least two separate sweets on your plate which saved the embarrassment for those who usually pile it high or for those who often return for seconds later. I usually found at least one of the choices I liked for each course and on the odd occasion when I didn’t I just tried something else. I asked for some cheese one evening and this was provided in vast amounts which I was able to share with our group! Complementary carafes of house wine were provided in generous amounts during dinner - I wasn’t mad about the white but the red was more drinkable.

Breakfast was served in the same room and again within a limited timeframe. Some hot options were available together with cereals, cold meats, cheese, etc. Overall the food was fairly good considering the package price and there appeared to be something to suit most tastes, most nights.

In our experience the staff were all very pleasant and mostly Italian. Many could speak at least some English - the reception staff obviously more so. On an occasion when one of our party was unwell midway through dinner and had fainted, we were able later, with the assistance of a rep, to overcome the language barrier and obtain some food outside the allotted time to take to their room.

The Bar du Col was usually manned by Simone - a very friendly guy who spoke good English and actually managed to remember many of us by name (perhaps a sign of too much time spent at the bar) and provided superb service with a smile. He is worthy of individual praise. The bar was the venue for afternoon tea/coffee and cake, a few Crystal events which were well attended, Six Nations rugby on the big screen and in the evening it was generally busy.

Apres ski for us revolved around our group. When it wasn’t in the Bar du Col, we enjoyed drinks outside the Stadium Bar (en route to the Ski room) - with views of the slopes; at Kandahar (a couple of doors down from the hotel) which had fantastic large wine glasses; or at Pinky’s (up at Piazza Fraiteve) where they provided assorted hot breads with the drinks and served meals if required. We tried a few other bars at night which attracted the Italians and tourists - La Caverna (down a winding stairway) - it was lively, hot and sold food; and Black Pepper, again lively but more upmarket with comfy settees to lounge in. A few of the group went on to the town’s nightclub on our final evening and despite some concern of entry fee arrangements which included compulsory drinks, they enjoyed themselves.

The purpose of the holiday of course was to ski and this was very good for our group which consisted of intermediate and expert skiers - I’ll post a separate report when I get TA to set up a listing for Sestriere or Vialattea - Sestriere. Incidentally the ski and boot rooms in the hotel basement were cold so we kept our boots in our room. Skis were secured to their stand by a padlock which could be obtained at reception for a deposit of 5 Euros and as the exit/entrance door to the locker room was not secured during the day it‘s was worth doing this. Outside it was a short slide and bit of polling to reach the nearest chairlifts - the practice slopes were closer.

Room Tip: Those at the back look directly onto the slopes, front rooms face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Fantastic location adjacent to the slpoes , food very good and plenty of it , great bar staff , rooms functional and comfortable without being outstanding , perfectly adequate , would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JUNe11232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The hotel Du Col is set in a great location, with, if your lucky, great views (if you have a piste side view) if you have a road side view it can be a pain, due to drunken idiots shouting at stupid o'clock in the morning, and if its snowing, expect the snow plough's to wake you up with what i can only describe as thunder when their buckets scrape the floor!
rooms were basic, and cleaned every day. food was ok, lots of choice, the red wine is better than white, and lemonade is defiantly your friend when it comes to improving the taste of the wine!!
Staff (italian guys) were great, really friendly and always made an effort. big shout out to the bar man simona! top fella. the crystal ski female rep was not as good (english)!
Sestriere in my opinion, is great for skiing, but total garbage for apres ski! if you like the night life as much as the skiing, dont go to sestriere! it is the worst resort for apres ski i have been to in 14 years of skiing! but for a few shandy;s.....
A cracking place just a few doors down from the hotel is the Kandahar cafe. the guys in there really cannot do enough for you, and accommodate your every need! they have loads of free anti pasti, lovely wines but really really c*rap toilets! one of those hole in the floor types. but dont let that put you off. Another nice bar was a little further down the road called bar sestriere, happy hour, and nice cocktails.

Room Tip: Piste side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Honestgone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We travelled in a large group of varied ages from 20 to 60. It was my second time at the Du Col so knew what to expect. Our rooms varied in size but all were fine. The food was fine and I was given a special plate every evening as I am a vegan. We were kept topped up with water and wine each evening. All the restaurant staff were very kind and helpful. The downstairs bar was always busy - too busy for us all to fit in so we enjoyed our apres ski drink in Pinkies or the Kandahar. Both supply great nibbles so who needs tea and cake! Despite the snow conditions we got around the area quite well , even in the poor visibility. Fortunately we had some snow mid-week and the sun came out.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fii59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We booked a Crystal ski holiday for 12 people some 14 months ago, staying here in the first week of April 2012. This is the last week for Crystal Ski holidays. The reception area is a little crowded when you all get off the coach to book in. Note that the Hotel keep your passports, so if you are a large group get them ready. We found the staff very helpful and polite, with a great friendly manager in Michael. The rooms facing the slopes are about twice the size of the rooms facing the street. The adults in our party had the latter. They are functional, warm and clean. However you have to accept that you cant control the radiator (other than by opening the window). To access the fridge you have to move the bed to one side, open the cupboard door (left hinge) then open fridge door (right hinge !!!!). We never did work out the TV. Some managed to get a few english channels, but we didnt and it was off most of the time even though it has sky. You can watch all the main sports events down in the bar on their giant screen. The bath is very narrow. It wont allow two size 9 feet to be flat on the bottom, so if you are a larger size take a shoe horn to get out :-).

I thought the food was excellent. There is a large buffet style arrangement, with lots of choice (soup, salads, hot/cold dishes and about three varying choices of main meal. Fruit, and their beautiful puddings, of which they are justifiably proud.

With the meal ie from 1930 till about 2100, you get unlimited passible wine and soft drinks. The wine and water are ready on the table. For Rose, coke, sparkling water etc you have to ask and its all OK. My opinion is that the red wine is best.

After a meal a lot of people went to the basement bar. There is a pool table and darts board, plus a far too big projector screen to see football games on. If it was a little smaller, then people moving around wouldnt obscure it. Bar prices Ok I guess (5euro)for a pint. Wine and other drinks a bit cheaper.

The crystal reps are Ok, though they spend too much time trying to persuade you to buy their trip to france (20 euro per person). What they should say is this
1) The lift company dont carry foot passengers. If you want to come down the mountain for any reason you have to ski or walk, or (and its free) they call out the man on the skidoo. I wasnt happy about this and discussed it with the lift company. They say it is a local regulation. However everywhere else ive skiied you can go down. I think its just a cost saving exercise and something crystal should make representations about. Its a learner resort and often a person needs a break and not an ambulance down the mountain. It is something they could improve customer service on.
2) You are supposed to leave your boots in the boot room. If youy do, turn them on their sides or upside down so you dont get melting snow in them from the boots in the locker above as they have wire floors ! You have been warned)

A good point for the hotel is that you get a refundable deposit for the key for the ski and boot lockers (5 euro each). If there was good snow cover you could ski down to the chair lift or nursery drag. But not this April. For you its a 100 m walk.

The slopes are quite good, and they are often easy reds or really a blue. The restaurants were quite good with hot wine 3.5 euro, beer 0.4L at 4.5 euro and most food about 4 euro. Recommend going up the gondola to Sauze D'oulx which has some great slopes (and people going down on the lifts). Overall I think this holiday cost just over £1.2K per person all in and I enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Slope facing on 2nd floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stoke17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.4 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#8 of 21 in Sestriere
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
#4 of 21 in Sestriere
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shackleton Mountain Resort
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
Grand Hotel Duchi d'Aosta
#19 of 21 in Sestriere
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Edelweiss
Chalet Edelweiss
#17 of 21 in Sestriere
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Col? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Col

Address: Via Pinerolo 12, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sestriere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sestriere
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Du Col 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Du Col Hotel
Du Col Sestriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing