We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't risk spoiling a good holiday by staying here”
Review of Hotel Biancaneve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Biancaneve
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in January 2013 after booking with Neilson who were great, but I really question their judgement when sending anyone to a hotel like this.

The only positive is that the Biancaneve was clean.

My first concern here is one of security. We had a small amount of cash and a hat stolen. There is nowhere to store items safely and there were reports of minor thefts from several of the guests there. Other guests had food and money stolen as well. To me, this was no coincidence. One guest reported this to the hotel management and they were told they were imagining it. Thieving staff is not a good advert for this hotel.

We arrived and checked in and later that day asked the rep if we could move, the room we were allocated was next to the main road and underneath the boot room. Consequently the noise was unbearable. In addition to this, the window could have been opened from the outside by a child, it was totally unsecure. We changed rooms and then we were informed they wanted a €20 fee to move us!

All rooms were always unbearably hot, the bathroom and shower in our room were the smallest I have ever seen, the satellite TV is all Italian (if you can get it to work), you have to pay extra for wifi (which is free everywhere else in the resort). Even after paying for wifi it was so unreliable it was next to useless. The bar was poorly stocked and expensive. The food was very mediocre and they accepted a vegetarian booking then informed us they did nothing other than omelette. For one dinner my wife was served a plate of plain boiled pasta!!!

If you plan to book there don't, there are plenty of other better hotels in Sestriere which really is a fab resort but the Biancaneve is the worst hotel I have stayed in. I have stayed in better bunkhouses than this.

In summary this is a very poor hotel with very questionable security. If I was offered a return trip for free i would decline. I have provided feedback to Neilson about this but I will be taking this further.

Room Tip: Good tip for choosing a good room is to choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickA1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 151 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

We travelled with Neilson; firstly Neilson were excellent as we booked Bardonecchia but the snow conditions were poor so we were offered a last minute change to Sestriere free of charge. The downside was the only hotel with availability was Biancaneve. The reception process was efficient and the room was available on our early arrival. When we opened the door we thought there must have been a mistake; the furniture was the sort of thing your grandparents would have thrown out 40 years ago. Mish mash wooden and unkempt looking - nothing matched in the room and the lighting was bulkhead fittings like those found on an industrial park. A noteable exception - no smoke detector in the room - not acceptable. We asked to be relocated but were told no other rooms were available as the hotel was fully booked (so they said?). The food was hit and miss with the need to make your choice a day in advance. The dining room had a leaking roof however; our chairs were rearranged round the table and a towel left on the floor to catch the drips rather than us being moved? Most wines seemed to be out of stock due to 'end of season' - I think the food was the same - out of season and limited!
The heating was off in our room but it was unbearably hot, especially at night - even if we opened the window!
The staff did their best but I guess a 4-month season had taken its toll and they were a little tired and miserable to be honest.
The hotel needs an urgent refit; plumbing needs sorting out; from arrival the drains were over powering! We bought an air freshener from a local supermarket.
Sestriere is a great little resort for families and people looking for a modest destination; food and drink was fairly cheap - pizza slice and small beer from 2 Euro each for a lunchtime snack - not bad.
A plus was the efficent minibus to take you up the hill to the town which was free.
There is also an indoor/outdoor swimming pool which was fantastic if a little expensive at 12 Euro for adults and swimming hats compulsory - that said, swimming in warm water in freezing air surrounded by the Alps was an experience not to be missed.
If you ar going to Sestriere give this hotel a miss; plenty of other hotels in town that must be better than Biancaneve.

Room Tip: If you do go to this hotel make sure it's a room at the front facing the mountain and a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 40somethingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Booked a holiday with Neilson through the singles ski and board and using the forum booked a late holiday to Sestriere. I stayed in the hotel Biancha neve the food was spot on plenty of choice and there is a happy 2hours with free nibbles from 4.30 till 6.30. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels we found the free ski bus a great bonus which shuttles round the resort every 15 mins in peak morning and afternoon lift times,the resort has a laid back feel with plenty of skiing throughout the resorts of the milky way with the olympico run in Sansicario being my top pick of the holiday

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was a good hotel with spacious rooms.
The food was abundant, you will never go hungry.
The bar offers snacks with the afternoon drinks which easily entices you to remain in the comfort of the hotel rather than go searching for alternative bars.
Location wise, the hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the centre which is all up hill. However, there is a courtesy bus that runs during the day which certainly removes any effort involved with ski gear.
There are available courtesy ski hire 'lockers' (just off the slopes) which is terrifically helpful.
If I was to be hyper critical, the radiators in the room weren't adjustable and the room was stiffling on occasions. However, this wasn't anything that couldn't be solved by keeping the balcony doors open. The views from the balcony are spectacular.
However, on a negative note, due to problems that the staff were occasionally facing
with the odd idiot customer (let's face it, no hotel is immune to them), it was necessary for the hotel to lock our corridor door at night time. This did concern me should the unlikely event of a fire arise (I know we have our balconies).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisatyrrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a great week skiing and this was a great value hotel with very friendly staff. We had half board and food was very good. Spacious room for 2 of us and the free nibbles and happy hour a definite hit. The shuttle bus to the slopes was very convenient, though the hotel is only a few minutes walk. We would definately recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We could not fault this place at all.The owners were the most helpful and accomodating people you could meet .There survice was impecable and as for the cleanliness it was pristine. We would recommend to anybody wanting a relaxing and welcoming time.The food was always home cooked and again to the highest quality with no shortage of helpings.Cant wait to return.One of the best overall sking holiday experiences ever.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevor r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

If it hadn't been for twenty - thirty drunken Danes it might have got a higher score. They were extremly noisy and occupied most of the hotels facilities. The Staff did nothing to stop them.

+ Friendly staff, free shuttle bus, saladsbuffet before dinner, free snacks in the bar, very good cleaning.
- Very, very noisy, no carpets in the corridors made the noise even worse and large gaps between the door and the wall. The beds were worn out. There was a new built concrete building just in front of the hotel so the view from the window was none. Breakfast and dinner were served in the basement with no windows at all. The breakfast/dinner room was very noisy and it was impossible to talk.

So if you want a good night's sleep and a relaxing vacation, do not book this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 719LOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestriere hotels
0.2 mi away
Villaggio Olimpico Sestriere - TH Resorts
0.4 mi away
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
Hotel Principi di Piemonte
#4 of 21 in Sestriere
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Sestriere
Grand Hotel Sestriere
#19 of 21 in Sestriere
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#9 of 21 in Sestriere
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Edelweiss
Chalet Edelweiss
#18 of 21 in Sestriere
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sestriere Residence Palace 1 & 2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biancaneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biancaneve

Address: Via Cesana 12, 10058 Sestriere, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > Sestriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Sestriere
Price Range: $100 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Biancaneve 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Biancaneve, placed in front of the splendid panorama of the Alps of Dauphiné, presents its visitors with the austerity of Lucerne stone and the strength of wood that form the outer covering, like a treasure chest that contains within it the simplicity and warmth of a classic alpine style. Only at 200 m. from the modern cable-Sestriere Fraiteve and to 400 m. from Sestriere center and the main ski lifts of Vialattea, Hotel Biancaneve is a historic landmark for lovers of skiing and sports in general. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Biancaneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing