We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Hotel Helvetia”
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After our long journey from South Africa we were warmly welcomed by Alex and Roberto and offered a complimentary drink on their patio in the beautiful garden overlooking the breathtaking Bay of Silence. The views are just stunning. We were immediately so thrilled with our choice of Hotel in Sestri Levante as it is just beautiful, immaculate and very clean. Our bags were taken up to our room for us by Roberto and he also showed us to our lovely room overlooking the bay with a balcony. The hotel is situated in the most beautiful setting overlooking the bay and the lounge and bar area is really beautifully decorated and amazing attention to detail. The infinity swimming pool is absolutely gorgeous set in a beautiful garden and it was heated to 32 degrees when we were there. It was just heaven swimming in the pool! The breakfast was a fine buffet where you helped yourself to fruit, cereals, ham, cheese, salami, eggs, Italian cakes and pastries and then sat on the patio in the garden overlooking the beautiful bay. Thanks to Alex for his helpful tips and also to Leonardo for his GTS"s (Gin and Tonic Specials) which were divine and which we used to enjoy every evening before going to dinner with some nibbles (snacks). The hotel also has a roof terrace as well with comfy loungers and amazing views. Sestri Levante is a wonderful area to make a base to visit Cinque Terra, Portofino, Santa Margarhita, Porto Venere and all of the wonderful places that there are to visit either by boat or by train or of course by car if you have a car. Sestri Levante is also a very beautiful town to explore with its cobbled streets and full of character and charm. We will most definitely be back to stay at this hotel and can highly recommend. Thank you to Alex, Roberto and Leonardo for your hospitality and for a most wonderful and memorable stay. Pam and Steve Lord, Cape Rose Cottage, Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunshine938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 321 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

An Italian friend of ours told us about Sestri Levante because we were considering a stay in Santa Margherita, near Portofino, which is a bit north of Sestri Levante. She insisted that Sestri... would be a more authentic Italian experience so we searched TripAdvisor for a hotel. The guest photos and reviews convinced us to book the Helvetia. It turned out to that it is beautifully situated on the Baia de Silencio (the Bay of Silence) with the charming town right outside its doors. We had a high floor room overlooking the Bay and the sea beyond. It was just magical. The waterfront buildings form an amphitheater of sorts with the beach all around it. The Helvetia is at one end. It was quiet and peaceful and perfect for a romantic get-away. The staff were very helpful. When we arrived, we weren't sure if we wanted a room or a suite and they showed us three options from which to choose. The room was nicely decorated, with plenty of light and a double balcony. It turned out to be one the best hotels we've stayed at in Italy. And, while there is no restaurant, you really don't need one in Sestri because there are so many great places to eat nearby. They do provide a complimentary expanded continental breakfast each morning, which you can enjoy on their outdoor patio above the Bay. It really is a magical small town, and this is the perfect place to stay while there.

Room Tip: Definitely book a bay view room on a high floor. Balcony rooms are limited, so book early to insure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieLSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel Helvetia made a beautiful town even more special. We arrived there after a 4 day stay in Monterosso, Cinque Terre.

We knew we were in a classy place as soon as we approached it. After taking our luggage, they had us go out on the terrace to have a complimentary drink while they got the room ready for us.

Location is perfect - on the Baia Del Silenzo with incredible views. We walked everywhere from there - even from the train station with luggage. An easy 20 minute walk. The staff were incredible - extremely friendly & accommodating. Only hotel on our trip that had evening turndown service. Everything is top notch. The breakfasts were delicious and bountiful which we ate on their terrace outside. The fresh pastries & cakes we had were amazing. Eggs, cheeses, hams, salami's, breads - so much to choose from. Your typical Italian spread - but everything was top of the line! Delicious coffee made any way you'd want it and all types of teas. You won't walk away hungry. We kept telling them you can't get food like this back home.

The hotel itself is beautiful, with amazing attention to detail - immaculate, friendly and worth every penny. We paid more than we would have liked to have spent, but glad we splurged. There were less expensive rooms with different views and no balconies, so one can have their budgetary needs met. We were glad we opted for the sea view room with balcony. You will probably need to book early for that type.

There is a roof top terrace with comfy lounge chairs with an incredible view. The rooms have huge towels for the beach or rooftop lounges and soft, fluffy robes for the pool. The pool changes color at night every couple of seconds. They really have thought of everything to make your stay pleasant and special. We had a top floor with 2 french doors leading on to a big balcony facing the sea, the town & part of the Baia delle Favole. The hotel is positioned in such a way that it has gorgeous sunset views.

From Sestri Levante, we took an easy day trip to Camogli and Santa Margherita. (From Santa Margherita there is a bus to Portofino - or you can get your exercise by walking there with gorgeous views along the way.)

You will always get an arrivederci and a wave when you leave, and a bon journo or a buona sera when you arrive.

Grazie ancora Hotel Helvetia per un soggiorno meraviglioso!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bklynguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We loved this hotel. It is beautiful outside and inside. A free continental Italian breakfast was served every morning in a bright and cheery room where you can also eat outside overlooking the bay. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. When you arrive they unload your car, take everything to your room, and serve you a complimentary drink and snacks. They then take your car and park it off site (no room there to park). There is no need for a car as long as you stay in Sestri Levante as it is a beautiful small town and you can walk everywhere. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was large. We were there for three days, but I would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: We chose a room that overlooked the garden to save a little money, but you can chose one that looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Helvetia for our honeymoon in October and absolutely loved it. The property is small which makes it very intimate. We loved the staff--Florence, Nicole, Leonardo, Oleg, and Christina. They really made our trip special. Our room was huge. We had two rooms and two bathrooms. The pool is beautiful. Sestri Levante was a good place to stay. We could walk to the train and go spend a day in one of the Cinque Terre towns. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Helvetia. From the beginning, the staff were overly friendly and accomodating. The location is fantastic, the beaches were wonderful, and the pool was spectacular. Our trip was definitely made even better because of the staff and the hotel. The rooms were beautiful, the sitting areas and terraces were fantastic, and the breakfast on the terrace was made even more special with the fantastic views. I would definitely stay here again, refer others to it, and think that Sestri Levante is a great central location for seeing the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in this wonderful place in June 2012 travelling as two couples (me and my husband, and my parents). We had two rooms one of which was a standard double and the other one was a suit. Needless to say that the suit was huge and splendid, nicely furnished and with a great view of the ocean. The double room was good too even though obviously smaller in size, but unfortunately our window was facing the terrace of the local café so we were lacking privacy as there was always someone on that terrace practically right by our window so we couldn’t just open it and enjoy the ocean staying in our room. It didn’t bother us too much though as the rest in this hotel was perfect. Everything is clean and polished, you have beach towels so you don’t need to bother and bring them with you.
Although I would say that breakfast definitely lacks some greens and fruits. After several days we really missed salads, vegetables and fruit for breakfast and there were nun served. Which seemed strange because there are so many wonderful fresh greens in every little shop around the corner in Sestri Levante. So we had to eat breakfast out several times just to get something nice and fresh.
And I would also advise to draw a very precise map of how to get to the hotel as you may have trouble finding it, our navigator made us go around the place several circles before we turned it off and just started looking at the other cars on the road to realize which way we should go. And the way to that hotel is very tricky.
Location is amazing, the hotel overlooks a small cozy beach and everything around breathes of tranquility. There is a huge long beach on the opposite side of Sestri Levante but we didn’t even care to check it out as it seemed too crowdy and noisy comparing to that little beach we had right underneath our windows.
The owners of the hotel are the sweetest people ever and even though they don’t speak English (not a word I mean) you shouldn’t be scared of it as they are so easy going that you will be able to communicate with them using gestures with no problem (if you don’t speak Italian). Ask Giovanni to advise you places to go and restaurants to eat in and you will not be disappointed by his choice.
I have to say that Sestri Levante is a very unusual place as it combines both tranquility and beauty of nature and young and fun life as well. I have never seen anything like it. If you are looking for a place to visit in Italy then you should definitely think of Sestri Levante and you will not find a better place to stay there then Helvetia Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on top floors. Ask for very precise driving directions as your navigator might fail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lailonniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.1 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 22 in Sestri Levante
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#12 of 22 in Sestri Levante
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
653 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#1 of 22 in Sestri Levante
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#8 of 22 in Sestri Levante
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Address: Via Cappuccini 43 | Baia Del Silenzio, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sestri Levante
#3 Family Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range: $232 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helvetia 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel, direct to the beach, private pool overlooking the sea, tranquil and romantic hotel, perfect for couples Wi-Fi and bicycle free of charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Sestri Levante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing