We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is certainly worth it.”
Review of Hotel Celeste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Celeste
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
Pieterburen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is certainly worth it.”
Reviewed April 28, 2008

The hotel Celeste is a very nice hotel, perfect position to the coast with own private beach. The view on the bay is breathtaking. We found the staff pleasantly and very welcomingly. The hotel has 3 stars (very deserved) but the restaurant is so terrible good that it should gain an extra star. We have really enjoyed our holiday. It is certainly worth it.

  • Liked — The restaurant
  • Disliked — it was real nice
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hax4bubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    83
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
65
71
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights on our honeymoon and loved it! We did upgrade our room to an oceanview room with balcony which I highly recommend as the basic room was dark and had no view. You can walk easily everywhere in Sestri from here and the day we spent on the beach right in front of the hotel was so relaxing. Breakfast was good and was served on the patio.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank turboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in late March 2007 at this very nice hotel. I was surprised to find that no one reviewed this hotel since we stayed here. It was in an ideal location for us to explore the Italian Rivera. We walked a 100 m from the train station to the hotel but with the intervening buildings we never heard the trains. The hotel looks out over the harbor. We had a sea view room with a balcony which I would highly recommend.

The room was a good size and clean though not lavishly decorated. The bed was comfortable and we slept soundly. We rarely eat breakfast at hotels while travelling in Europe, but found the breakfast very enjoyable.

We enjoyed the town of Sestri Levante and had two wonderful dinners in town at restaurants Rick Steves had recommended. I particularly liked running around the harbors early one morning.

One of the best pictures I took on our 3 week trip was taken of a group of locals playing boule near the front of the hotel on the promenade. It is hanging in my office and it brings back great memories.

The pictures from the previous reviewer are very true and the reason I picked this hotel.

  • Liked — Location and sea view for a reasonable price
  • Disliked — Room could have been decorated a little more
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TriathleteTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2005

We stayed for a week at the Hotel Celeste - the hotel, the town, the food, are perfect for families. Rent an umbrella and chairs at one of the beach clubs for the week - and relax. Every restaurant is excellent from a salad or foccacia at the beach, to a 4 course dinner in an alleyway, to a gelati at a gelati stand. The whole town is geared toward kids and families -- but practice your italian - as no english speakers vacation here. Beautiful!

Helpful?
13 Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 22 in Sestri Levante
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#13 of 22 in Sestri Levante
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 22 in Sestri Levante
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo
Grande Albergo
#15 of 22 in Sestri Levante
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celeste

Property: Hotel Celeste
Address: Lungomare Giovanni Descalzo 14, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celeste 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Celeste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celeste Hotel Sestri Levante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing