We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but convenient hotel.”
Review of Hotel Celeste

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Celeste
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Basic but convenient hotel.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've just got home from a week in Sestri, staying at the Celeste as part of an organised walking group, for which the hotel seems very popular. It faces the sea, and is only a few minutes' walk from the town centre. We stayed on a half board basis. Breakfast is buffet style, with a good choice, but very little variety. The evening meal for groups has a choice of three starters and three main courses, with a set dessert. I found the main course a bit short on quantity, and the salad bar was the same every night, although the ingredients were fresh. One very favourable point was the house red wine at 5 Euros a bottle - very drinkable. One major drawback was my single room, which was very small, including a narrow single bed, and facing the courtyard, meaning there was little natural light. Other singles had double or twin rooms for the same price. My advice would be to ask to change rooms immediately if offered something below standard (which several guests did). However, the place was clean, and the staff friendly (though the owner could be a little grumpy). The private beach is stony, but convenient, being just across the road. Deckchairs are free, but sun loungers are 3 Euros a day. Bicycles may be borrowed free of charge.

Room Tip: Be prepared to ask to change!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flugelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    86
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
68
72
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The place is charming and welcoming. I would recommend it without any doubt. The staff is very nice, the location is great, although not exactly in the center but very close. Great view on the sea from the rooms. The hotel has its private beach included in the price, very well maintained and equipped. Rooms are clean and nice. A very good pick ! No doubts !

Room Tip: Ask the view on the beach, not expensive and definitely worth it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giov63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our walking group stayed here a couple of weeks ago and we were very impressed with the quality of rooms and food as well as the friendliness of the staff. Sestri Levante is a great place to stay when visiting the Cinque Terre. It is not packed with people as in the actual Cinque Terre towns and a short convenient train ride away from them. It is 5 minutes to the train station and right on the ocean with it's own private beach. The rooms were a good size and the shower was excellent. The food was lovely with a variety of choices every day (we were on half board). The bar on the ocean side was a great place to relax in the warm air before dinner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed as part of a group. Hotel was wonderful in all ways except for room 140. The lady allocated this room had paid a single supplement and for this a room better described as a cell and certainly not 3*. What a disappointment as I had persuaded her to join us.

Room Tip: Twin rooms facing the sea are excellent. Avoid single room 140 for which a supplement is charged - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEC935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at the hotel a few weeks ago with a group of 16 fellow walkers. I think everyone was more than satisfied with every aspect of the hotel and its friendly staff. The choice, preparation of the food (we were on half-board) and table service were very good. The menu was changed every day and there was always an option for vegetarians. The hotel is well situated with rooms at the back having sea views. Rooms were very clean and the sheets appeared to be changed every day. The hotel is only a few minutes walk to the station which was very convenient when we set off for walking in Cinque Terre and elsewhere. Sestri Levante is a good town in which to stay. It caters for those on holiday but it has an everyday life of its own which prevents it from being artificial.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are best. Ours was at the front on a busy road. it was very hot when we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JIm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We arrived in town with no place to stay & the 1st place we looked at was up 3 flights of stairs & a shrug of his shoulders when asked where to park. Left that place & was lucky enough to find Hotel Celeste. The owner gave us his parking space right in front of the door. He took us up to our room personally & then went back to bring our bags. He would not let us do anything. Our balcony looked out over the sea & was amazingly beautiful. Nice big room & the bed was really comfy. Nothing better then sleeping with your windows wide open listening to the sounds of the sea right there. Sure you hear some traffic too but come on, it's a little city. Nice beach & only cost if you want a chair or umbrellas. Swimming is free. Want to go back again. Would recommend this hotel. Great spot if goin to Cinque Terre

Room Tip: Ask for 1 facing the beach even if it costs more. Top floor is the best but most expensive. Totally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnefrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with a small group walking the beautiful Cinque Terra coast. This is an excellent family run hotel. The staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our large room, overlooking the bay was comfortable, modern and clean with a shower and en suite facilities. There was also a TV and a safe. The food was good and plentiful with lots of local specialties. The hotel also has its own private beach just across the road from the hotels with sun beds, umbrellas, shower and a bar. There is a small charge for this. The beach isn't fine sand, so you will need waterproof sandals.The town itself is small and attractive and definitely worth a few days stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the wonderful view over the seafront and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#6 of 22 in Sestri Levante
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#12 of 22 in Sestri Levante
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Albergo
Grande Albergo
#15 of 22 in Sestri Levante
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 22 in Sestri Levante
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celeste

Property: Hotel Celeste
Address: Lungomare Giovanni Descalzo 14, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Celeste 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Celeste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celeste Hotel Sestri Levante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing