We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice”
Review of Grande Albergo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grande Albergo
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Reviewed August 29, 2009

I went with my partners for a job in sestri and we stay at grande albergo. It was clean, cosy and the staff was fine. The restaurant was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimitas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2008

Not a four star hotel. Offered superior room which was on main street. changed room to a room over the garage entrance. Watch out for plenty of Mozeys as standing water near hotel. Room clean & functional.

Breakfast very disapointing poor selection and not replenished by staff. Transport cafe !

Good location for Cinque Terre and train (dont get taxi its 5mins away not worth 8euro).

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shadoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We paid £800 to stay for a week at this hotel on a B&B basis. This hotel was advertised as being 4* with its own "private" beach. When we arrived, we found out that the "private" beach was "private" and owned by another company. Of course, because it was owned by another company, we were then told we would have to pay £75 ($150) for the week to use the beach. I found this a bit of a cheek (to say the least), but when we then found out the hotel parking was a similar amount....The roof top pool which they advertise has a bar (but nobody tending it), so you're on your own up there and its five floors down in your bathers to get a drink (no phone either)

It was the beach thing that really made me annoyed. When we had the cheek to complain to the arrogent manageress, we were treated appallingly. We told her that it was unreasonable to advertise a 4* hotel as having its own private beach and then charge paying guests of the hotel to use it!!

The hotel restauarant menu was very limited and, like ALL the nice restaurants in Sestri, 90% of it was fish. This is fine if you want to have a starter and main course of fish every meal, but not so great if you don't.

So, we decided to leave. When we told them we wanted to cancel our stay, the manageress told us we'd have a 2 night penalty charge for the room and told us we had to get out in 30 minutes or we'd face a 3 night penalty charge! She told us the penalty charge was to compensate the hotel for not being able to let our room at such short notice. When we asked if we could stay that night (so as to give us time to find alternative accomodation for the week), we were told no, this despite the fact we were effectively paying for a further 2 nights!

So, if you like fish (a lot) and you don't mind being made to feel a mug (by being charged to use the hotels "own" beach and you like being treated like [--] by staff for having the cheek to complain, then by all means go to this hotel. Me? This has put me off ever visiting Italy again, I'm afraid to say.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank decompressing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We stayed in Sestri Levante for four days. This is a great place to relax after a place like Florence. the rooms were clean, bathrooms look like recently renovated. The hotel has its own beach across the road, but during a busy season like August it can get crowded. We rented a place at the beach ahead of time and it was definitely worth it. The weather was perfect all the time! There is also a pool and solarium on the hotel roof.

Breakfast at the hotel was quite good - the crossants were best I've tasted in years :-). Dinner as well was very good - ligurian seafood cuisine is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilyabass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

Our family of 4 stayed here in mid-July for 2 nights. After touring Rome and Florence it was a nice respite before heading onto Venice. I had requested a junior suite and that was perfect for our needs. The location of the hotel is directly across from the beach. However, since the beach was crowded we stayed at the rooftop pool which was very quiet and had a wonderful view of the coastline. The staff was extremely nice. While there we saw no other English speaking tourists but everyone made us feel very welcome. Overall, this is a great hotel for taking a relaxing break from the busy cities.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erjh3502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

The hotel was very pretty. our room was nice (small - no balcony) and very clean (the maid service is awesome). Bathroom was newer but strangely had no shower curtain so... it ended up very wet after a shower.

Breakfast was okay. they often would have no eggs or something.
Dinner at the restaurant was very good.

What I didn't like about this hotel is we were there the last week of May and their beach wasn't open. and their reaction was for us to just find another beach (which were all open already). I would have expected more assistance from them.

On the other hand - when we got there they had champagne in our room so that was very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherylwithans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2007

During our stay in Sestri it rained on most days. Whilst this had nothing to do with the hotel, there was little in the hotel to alleviate the problems that wet weather causes.
Our room supposedly a superior deluxe was small and cramped. We are a slim couple plus we had our baby in the cot.
The shower head wasn't fixed to the wall so had to be held all the time whilst you showered. A superior deluxe room was only a shower- this surprised us.
The room was cold (heating turned off after May 1st despite the unseasonally wet and cold weather). This meant we had no where to dry clothes and resorted to drying the baby's trousers with the hair dyer.

How about this one - As we needed to leave the hotel before 07.30 on our last day we requested room service tea, coffee and toast/croissants. We were told that nothing could be made availble until after 7.30. Surely this would be one of the prerequisites of a 4 star hotel.
Additionally this is the only 4 star ACTUALLY the only hotel I have ever stayed in which would not accomodate us with any food suitable for a baby except for giving us hot water to heat bottles in or warm a jar.

That said they did arrange for us to visit a nearby hotel to use their indoor pool to get us out of the rain which was very kind.
The hotel was clean and directly on the sea front but had no atmosphere as we stayed out of the main Italian holiday season

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemimacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 21 in Sestri Levante
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Sestri Levante
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#3 of 21 in Sestri Levante
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#7 of 21 in Sestri Levante
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#12 of 21 in Sestri Levante
355 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#1 of 21 in Sestri Levante
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 2, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range: $175 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grande Albergo 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Grand Albergo Hotel! Overlooking the sea promenade of Sestri Levante, The Grande Albergo is now a landmark in tourism and the Gulf of Tigullio. Completely renovated in 2003, this late '19th Century historic building, has 70 rooms including 4 junior suites, all equipped with modern amenities such as internet Wi-Fi. A great base to discover the most striking places of Liguria, such as the beautiful Cinque Terre and the timeless Portofino, The Grande Albergo offers the resources to spend a relaxing holiday, whether enjoying cocktails from the panoramic swimming pool, located on the roof of the building, or simply from the balcony of one's room. The different types of rooms, from sea view to overlooking the peaceful garden, will satisfy all types of requests and our staff will be only too happy to liase and organize all the extra activities available, such as cultural visits, excursions and sports. Don't hesitate to book your holiday now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Albergo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Sestri Levante Hotel Sestri Levante
Grande Albergo Hotel Sestri Levante
Sestri Levante Grande Albergo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing