We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveler rating
179
147
52
20
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
179
147
52
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach reception staff are great rail journeys swimming pool staff were exceptional room size organic breakfast old world style the air conditioning main building cinque terre people watching original building public rooms are stayed here for a week changing rooms bit dated
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 415 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

After a hiking holiday in the Dolomites it was time to sit on a beach and do very little for a couple of days, so Sestri Levante, whilst expensive, was perfect!

The hotel was on the beach and had its own area. The beach we were on was much quieter than the other side of the peninsula and having a private area helped even more with that.

The hotel itself could do with a little TLC, but the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and breakfast excellent with a lot of choice.

Staff were super friendly and helpful too.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sun_seeking_ginner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2018

The exterior building is beautiful and the inside looks like a museum. The swimming pool is very nice and they have a good breakfast but the rooms are terrible! Small, in poor condition and very badly maintained. Not enough space for the mini bar which is in the way with a small TV on top of it. (with electric cables ripped from the wall) To shower you need to be very thin to be able to fit in the stall and you will have to mop the leaks all around after you are done. To show that I don't exaggerate, I took pictures to send the management, but they never got back to me. This is the worst I have seen in a 4 star hotel and I would not recommend it. For that price you can find much better.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank heski3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Hotel Villa Balbi has nice grounds and looks good as you drive up. The suite our parents had in the older section of the hotel was so tired and musty they had to relocate to a very small regular room in the new part. Our elegance room ($240 euros/night) was adequate with limited closets and furniture. Very small shower. Definitely the worst room of the 4 on our Italy trip - all for similar amounts. Breakfast was okay but nothing special. A particular issue our family had was with the surly front desk staff. One simple request to the male attendant resulted in a response of "Not my Problem" when it clearly was his problem. The front desk person named Monica was very competent and helpful but she was only there for part of our stay. Look at hotels in Santa Margarita for a better town to stay in.

Room tip: Only stay in the new section.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bkn0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We stayed here for a week on a B&B basis. The hotel is made up of the original building (in which our room was located) and a more modern extension. The extension has been well disguised so that it didn't detract from the great surroundings.

The room was a reasonable size, the bed was comfy, bathroom was good with a walk in shower (no bath), lots of storage, a TV (we unplugged it and never used it) and free WiFi. The only negative was the tiny window and noisy air conditioning - which we were always switching off as it seemed to automatically come on when we left the room.

The public rooms are stunning with lots of seating.

Breakfast was good enough with fresh fruit, a cooked offering, a limited selection of cereal and a range of breads. They slightly over-do the "organic" claim.

We never ate in the restaurant for dinner, there are lots of options a very short walk from the front door. We did use the bar though for drinks, teas and people watching on the pavement.

All together a nice hotel, let down by the sound of a dog barking in the room next door, thankfully there was no evidence of dogs in the public areas.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlanandLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Built around a several hundred year old grand villa this hotel pretty much has it all. The location just across the street from the beach front and the back bordering the old town couldn't be better. The room was VERY nice and large. The bed great. The service and staff are fantastic. The breakfast is adequate with plenty of choice but never varying. The evening meals were good but the salad bar was very unimaginative. The bathroom could be improved with a shelf for placing toiletries upon but we lived without it. The bar excellent and they provide a good selection of snacks served with the drinks.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan_MarthaMildenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews