We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend in july 2011.

Room was nice, with air-condition, and a decent looking bathroom.
This room had a sea view over the northern beach, which was very nice.

Service in the hotel was friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was nice, with fresh fruit, meat, cheeses, and decent coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gundy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 355 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

Beautiful building, but that's not where rooms are located. Room was nice, bathroom old, on first floor rooms, dinner and breakfast guests are just across the window, in the garden; noise and reduced privacy! Beach is disappointing, lot of dirty pigeons walking around.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingmalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel was very nice...located across the street from a nice beach spot...the service was great...the breakfast was great...would def go back, and im picky. i was most impressed by the fact that my teen son left his iphone and when we called the next day they informed me they had already emailed me of the finding and would mail it to us in Milan! Love it!! ;)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfam6-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I've been to Villa Balbi for four years and I must say it's a good hotel, though a bit overpriced (they usually are in Italy).
There are three different "areas" in this hotel: the old one, right bove the reception desk, with rooms facing the sea, is what most people imagine when booking here. The second one is the new building, past the restaurant, facing the garden, less charming but still good enough. The last one, are the rooms in this new building facing the backyard, they all have poor light and are less beautiful than the others.
However, most of the rooms are big, with a huge bathroom. The strange thing is, for the same price given, you may end up with a room with three windows and a huge bathroom or a normal sized one and a tiny little shower, not fit for fat people.

Breakfast was good, more Italian than others I experienced in other hotels: cheese, salumi, foccacie were available. Also, fruits, cakes, jam, cereals and bread. I must say I was surprised this kind of hotel didn't have natural orange juice (you can have it, as an extra!).

The reception desk is helpful finding restaurants, trains timetables, excursions or information about paths closed in Cinque Terre.
The bartender, Leonardo, speaks English and is very funny, everybody adores him.

The lunch and dinner buffet are amazing. You'll find different things everyday, Ligurian and others. I loved their Pressata di Polpo, all their Pasta, their Fagioli e tonno, their Vitello tonnato... All so so good!!

I must say I wasn't there for pleasure, but for a conference, and the ambiance in Villa Balbi made me feel like on holidays while working: good food, nice people, great location... That's the way business should be done all year round!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Villa Balbi located in suberb location. Historical looking facade with lovely public areas and great garden breakfast area. Our room for 3 nights was far off in a wing and very, very sparse, but however very clean as well. Shower was extremely small and once inside could not move or bend over. But with all the sightseeing we did, it was a place
( although a pricey one) to lay our heads at night with the windows OPENED! No Bugs in Italy? With just a little effort they could really make all rooms a little more special. Easy walk to train station and to lovely restuarants behind in narrow street. GREAT Gelato back there as well. If you can't stay in Cinque Terre, Sestri Levante is the place to stay. Just beautiful!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allioops03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

10 years coming to sestri for summer holidays and best forever is villa balbi, where history and modern comfort (wifi, food, decor) melt in one unique flavouring experience. Courtesy, charm and spirit of service are the passwords of the hotel workers, which can't resist in cocooning you all along your stay? Coming to sestri? Get yourself the best memories of your life in villa balbi

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariozappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The hotel is luxuriously appointed, spotlessly clean and the staff ver courteous, attentive and friendly. The interior design is beautiful and cleverly executed with many attractive features. The hotel is positioned within walking distance of shops, restaurans and historical center. The food of both of restaurants is absolutely superb! We shall certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zimmermann068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 21 in Sestri Levante
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#2 of 21 in Sestri Levante
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
#6 of 21 in Sestri Levante
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#1 of 21 in Sestri Levante
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#3 of 21 in Sestri Levante
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#7 of 21 in Sestri Levante
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Balbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Balbi

Address: Viale Rimembranza 1, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range: $200 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Villa Balbi 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi is an old aristocratic XVII century villa; it stands on the seafront of Sestri Levante, a few yards only from the beautiful sea of the Gulf of Tigullio, between Portofino and Cinqueterre. Converted in 1947 into an elegant Hotel, Villa Balbi has elegante and rich interiors, made precious by rare and valuable antique furnishings, tapestries, pictures, precious marble, beautiful parquet and finely finished ceilings. The Balbi palace, once the mansion of noble, aristocratic families, site of historical events and abode of famous men and women, still keeps all its charm today. A quiet and very comfortable Hotel, with careful and professional service. With its own pool, private beach, restaurant and parking area is the ideal location to spend a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Balbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Balbi
Grand Hotel Sestri Levante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing