We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Dei Castelli
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I booked our holiday through Railbookers, UK. What a beautiful hotel. Firstly, the staff are absolutely wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Although they speak English we are great believers in attempting the native language. Our effort was greeted with warmth and appreciation! We stayed in room 208 in the old Castle. It was spacious with our own terrace which was enormous. The cleanliness of the whole hotel was exemplary. We also dined in the restaurant twice. The meals were beautifully cooked and the views from the restaurant are wonderful. The walk around the grounds are breathtaking. There are panoramic views which are so romantic and unforgettable. Sestri Levante is a lovely town. The locals are extremely friendly and always greet you with a smile. Whilst we were staying in Sestri Levante, we also took a trip with Silent Bay Charter on the Catamaran. It was an amazing experience.

We fell in love with this hotel and we will be going back. The only downside was that we didn't stay long enough - 6 nights!! We didn't use the bathing facilities so we cannot comment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 381 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

It is an utterly unique chateau like hotel, set high on a small promontory and surrounded by parkland. You can walk in its own private park, check out the wireless tower where Marconi made his first transmissions and take an elevator down to your private pool in the Mediterranean. From the breakfast room you look north across a harbor and all the way to Portofino. Around to the east you look over the extraordinarily beautiful Bay of Silence. Just being there is an experience in itself made all the more pleasurable with an Aperol Spritz. My room which was deluxe from memory was huge, and the bathroom seemed ever larger. Everything functioned just great including WIFI. Ah for one night I was the Duke!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Sestri Levante is on the rail line, just north of Cinque Terre. CT is a popular tourist area, and although Sestri Levante lays outside of that technically, it is a short, manageable rail ride from the villages. It is, in other words, an excellent base for exploring Cinque Terre and for exploring it own merits. Sestri Levante is a charming seaside town, with some very lovely restaurants and a seaside promenade.

If you speak a tiny bit of Italian, it might be helpful, as it is not a primarily tourist town. But the Hotel and the railway speak enough English to compensate for a lack of Italian, so don't hesitate.

The Hotel is literally a castle, and it sits on the highest ground in the town, between two bodies of water. The Hotel looks over the town far below and the Baia del Silenzio, a most romantic view from the windows facing that direction. The windows have wooden shutters and the stone floors and deep windows of this authentic building take your imagination on a trip into the past.

There is a circular stone staircase, but an elevator as well. There is a restaurant on the premises which serves a very good meal, as well as breakfast. The bath facilities in the room are modern. The accomodations are very grand. The hotel will send a car to collect you from the rail station - I suggest that you accept this service, as the hike from the rail station to the hotel, while do-able, would be challenging with luggage. The hotel does have an interesting elevator on the grounds which goes down through the rock cliff to the seaside promenade. This feature adds romance, especially the walk through the latern lit , moist rock cave to the elevator which takes you up to the restaurant and hotel.

The grounds are marvelous, in a very natural way. Hiking trails for taking exercise and accessing addition views out over the sea. There are formal gardens, which, at the time we were there in late March (2011), had not yet been prepared for the season. THere is also a natural sea pool, which was closed for the season at the time we were there, much to my regret. A return trip would plan to take advantage of that feature as it would be most novel.

In all, a stunning property and one I would both recommend and include on subsequent trips, should my path go that way again.

Romance!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelleb613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Outstanding decor, spacious room with quality and tasty furniture, great bathroom, nice location, attentive service and concierge service. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed. The only downside was the breakfast which was not at the level you would expect from this kind of hotel: very limited choice of food, so so coffee. Overall will definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeTil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place did not feel like a hotel but rather a large villa. We adore the style, decor with modern amenities. The grounds are lush with a private park with a trail around the hillside adjacent to the coast. What outstanding views! and places to explore.
Food was just about the best we had in Italy again with views and endearing staff
Historical grounds
Easy access to Chinqa Terre.
So glad I found this glorious place.

Room Tip: Our room did not have a grand view like some but the room itself was beautiful with wood floors and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevHarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had splendid stay at this hotel a few years ago. Make sure you stay in the old part though. It is a great family hotel. The elevator to the village is very cool. Jump from the cliffs into the blue water. For kids there is also a very protected cove. Food is also very good, needless to say. We are looking forward to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flying_dutchman_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We booked through Travel Republic which happened to be well below other prices I got. I did expect to be put into some basement room with no view, but we had such a gorgeous view overlooking the Bay of Silence, spacious room in the new annexe. Absolutely no problems from the moment we arrived, I can't believe anyone could be disappointed with the place. There were 2 weddings during our stay, but didn't pose any problems for us. The town is lovely and we had great food every evening, although we didn't try the restaurant, it all looked great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be back.
We did think the charge for the pool was steep, but the public beach prices weren't much cheaper. You can pay for half day at their beach (which they don't tell you) or if you head up there about 4pm, it's lovely until about 7 and we did that a couple of days without charge but you'll need your own towels of course,

Room Tip: We had rooms 521 and 522, both fab views in the new annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkey206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 22 in Sestri Levante
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
#12 of 22 in Sestri Levante
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 22 in Sestri Levante
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#8 of 22 in Sestri Levante
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Dei Castelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Dei Castelli

Address: Via Peninsula 26, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sestri Levante
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range: $174 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Dei Castelli 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Dei Castelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sestri Levante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing