We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills home cooked food - good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IL POLPINO

IL POLPINO
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $19
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“No frills home cooked food - good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Il Polpino was one of our most unique dining experiences during our Italy trip. They have a fixed menu and for a price of 16 Euros you get a 5-course meal: It starts with pasta with parmigiano, olive oil and garlic. The next dish was pasta with a mushroom tomato sauce. They cook these dishes and then bring a large pot to the table to serve you so there is a bit of a home cooked feel to it. Then we got panigacci (pancakes that are more like thin flatbreads) with homemade pesto. The next course was more panigacci with an assortment of cold cuts (salami, prosciutto, gorgonzola) and finally, the dessert was panigacci with Nutella. We also got housewine and water which is included in the price. I wouldn't say this was the best food I ate on the trip - but it was a good, home cooked meal. The restaurant atmosphere is rustic and cozy. If you want a fine dining experience, this is definitely not the place to go but if you want some simple, tasty Genovese food, Il Polpino is a good choice!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abby82_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    324
    96
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value for money!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

Nice welcoming, being advised that it is a very basic restaurant with a single menu!!! Food was ok... But great value for money, 16 euros got us 2 pastas, 1 baked pasta, baked pasta with 4 different types of meat, baked pasta with nutella... Wine and water.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chimmy_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE WORST PLACE "EVER"!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

I cant understand how anyone can rate this restaurant anything other than terrible. If you want pasta and fried pasta and pasta with nutella for dessert then this is your place. Nothing but 5 courses of pasta with different disgusting sauces on it. Go to McDonald's and get a better meal.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank frisky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantinadelpolpo, Direttore at IL POLPINO, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
We’re sorry to read this review.

We would wish that every customer will be satisfied visiting our restaurant, but we’re not perfect and so we’re sorry for this, because we do our work with passion.



But we’d like to inform everyone that our set menu, on display just by the door of the restaurant, is a complete meal of typical and ancient ligurian food and wine.

We do not serve only pasta and we do not serve any kind of fried pasta, but Testaroli with oil and parmesan, Testaroli with Mushroom sauce, Testaieau with pesto, Panigacci with five kinds of salami, Panigacci with crescenza and Novara’s gorgonzola or with nutella for dessert at a very low price including water, wine and local liquers.



Best regards,



Daniele, Giulio, Antonio, Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"This is ridiculous" - strange start to a complimentary review !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

"This is ridiculous" - strange start to a complimentary review ! But that was my wife's comment as the waves of food came along.
Quite an experience. You need to know what you are getting. The staff did explain, in rapid and enthusiastic English, but I only partially cottoned-on to the details of the Testaroli and Panigacci. Best to read up on them first.
Not high-gourmet stuff, but enjoyable. You will remember it.
But suggest you avoid the option of a further litre of wine for 5 euros............

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank catisfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous - a truly unforgettable experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We are so lucky to have come across this jewel of a restaurant. It gave us the opportunity to taste the simple but authentic delights of Ligurian cuisine at a very reasonable price. A family run ostaria with warm and cosy atmosphere, great music, delicious food and a mine of information about the local area, folklore and events. Don't miss it!!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katmawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL POLPINO also viewed

Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 

Been to IL POLPINO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing