We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location - good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Luigi

Don Luigi
Ranked #126 of 166 Restaurants in Sestri Levante
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely location - good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I liked the pizza especially, not sure about the pasta - it was very much 'soaked' in sauce. The service was good and friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SomerscalesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    129
    107
    96
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Well below average food, expensive, and no service ...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Searching for a restaurant on our first night in sestri levante, we sat down at what a appeared to be a good looking menu and crowded place. W e expected that since it was crowded it would have good food, and as such were willing to wait a little bit extra. But we waited a whole lot extra, a staffer that claimed to speak English "well" but could barely understand what we were saying. The food on the other hand was very salty, lacked originality. The fish tased like an over-cooked pork steak ... It just didn't taste like fish. The muscle soup was interesting but the sheer volume of salt ensured that you could not taste anything else ...good or bad ... This was also the first time we ever left without leaving a tip - the next night we were more than willing to leave a 25% tip at la Cantina de Polpo where the food, service, and everything else were excellent. We also happened to pay the same amount of money the following night where the food was delicious as opposed to tasting like shoe leather.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flavius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very good prices for variety of typically Italian dishes
and excellent service. Very friendly waiter We sat outside and it seemed
to be the most popular restaurant on the promenade

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Terrible service food poor, fish appeared to be frozen and not fresh they only had a few staff serving and they appeared very disinterested and unfriendly, ordered king prawn from the menu and got six very expensive hard prawns.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First time so good, we ended up returning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Well visited location by travelers and locals with a wide selection of items to enjoy. We ended up waiting for a table the second time, however, it was worth it. Fun and family friendly.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank 1ARFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Luigi also viewed

Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
Sestri Levante, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Don Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing