We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Genova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Genova
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week, perfect location, family run, very efficient, friendly, clean, modern. Busy streets and neighbors couldn't hear, nice to have a quiet room. Two blocks from train station, one block from the beach. A few train stops from Cingue Terre, great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    82
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
42
137
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Clean rooms with a nice common garden in a relatively quiet surrounding. A three star hotel in Italy that you can trust to have comfortable beds, clean rooms and bathrooms and a nice buffet breakfast. The staff is attentive and efficient. Dont expect a large room and a rock bottom price, but it's family run and near all the excitement in Sestri Levante. Free WiFi also.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bicimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Hotel Genova for four nights in April. The location of the hotel is very good, you can walk to the old town center in about 10 minutes and the beach is just one block away. In the morning the street outside the hotel can be a bit noisy, but the windows are very good.
Our room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very modern, had a window that you could actually open and was cleaned each day.
The staff at this hotel was extremely friendly, even though our Italian is not very good, we were able to communicate the basics.
Breakfast is for Italian standards amazing -- loved the coffee latte!
We can only recommend this hotel -- it's also very close to Cinque Terre (40 min by train) and Genova (80 min by train)!

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the hotel (facing the sea) are noisier, but offer a lot more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFtraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antakya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Everything was nice about this hotel, staff, food and location! The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. This hotel is ideal for couple or a family. Breakfast was very good. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay in Sestri Levante.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed six nights in mid September. The room and bathroom were clean, air-conditioned, elegantly modern, and the shower-pressure was nothing short of spectacular! Breakfast was good - a generous European-style buffet (bread, cheese, sliced meat, boiled eggs, fruit, and cereal) plus some local cakes and pastries. The coffee was excellent. Altogether, great value.

The hotel is located at the north-east end of Sestri Levante, about 200 m from the station, and one narrow block from the sea-front and promenade. The town is pretty small - everything is within an easy (flat) 15 minute walk. There's a nice, free beach about 50 m from the hotel, but we went to the further Baia di Silenzio each morning instead - a short walk through town, and plenty of nice places to stop for a coffee on the way back.

Sestri Levante turned out to be a great base for our Ligurian holiday: small and pretty, with plenty of character (and characters!); great swimming and snorkelling; less flashy than Portofino; and loads less hectic than the heaving masses of the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a room with sea view... we opted for the cheaper room - it was in no way basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We chose Hotel Genova for our 3 night stay in Sestri Levante, based in tripadvisor reviews and the location. The Hotel is within walking distance of train, old town and the beach.
We received a warm welcome from the manager's son, and were shown to our room number 37
The room and the hotel was very clean and looked recently redecorated. Servicing of the room was good.
Our accommodation included breakfast, which was very good. Fresh fruit was also provided.
We found the coffee to our taste. Great.
We didn't eat our evening meals at the hotel, as we wanted to try different restaurants in the area.
We discovered San Marco situated on the pier, where we had two meals. Best view in town.

We would recommend Hotel Genova, as an ideal stay for couples and families alike, as we found it to be excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzdianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

What a lovely hotel run by the Bertoni family, close to the beach clean and comfortable room beautiful breakfast, breakfast was in with the price when I booked but you can also have a evening meal at the hotel the food was beautiful at a very good price, the hotel is a few minutes walk from the beach railway station and town centre, although the hotel does not have many balconyed rooms but they do have a lovely roof terrace, free wifi, free parking outside the hotel or they give you a discount for the underground car park not far up the road that is very safe.

Myself and my wife would like to thank the Bertoni family and their staff for making our stay comfortable and trouble free, they could not have been more helpful showing me where to find a florest so that I could by my wife flowers for her birthday they also gave my wife a vase for the flowers and some birthday cake.

I would return to this hotel and recommend it to anyone else.








I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#3 of 22 in Sestri Levante
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#1 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#4 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#7 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 22 in Sestri Levante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genova

Property: Hotel Genova
Address: Viale Giuseppe Mazzini 126 - 130, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genova 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel, managed by the owners, is situated a few metres from the sea. Completely refurbished offers bedrooms with all comforts. The airy hall and welcoming lounge, looking out over the sea, provide a comfortable and friendly atmosphere all year round. Moreover, in the structure there is a lift to the floors, a living room and a wonderful sun terrace, from where you can enjoy a delightful sea view. All the hotel's rooms are equipped with bathroom (with shower), Led Flat-screen TV, air conditioning (from 15 May until 30 September), heating, satellite TV, Wi-Fi Internet (free), telephone, digital safe, hairdryer and minibar. All bedrooms are non smoking. The superior rooms are more comfortable and some have a balcony (garden view). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing